Ratings based on 88 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from South Dakota

Very nice hotel that's gluten free friendly

Posted Jul 8, 2014
Location: The fish hatchery and Spearfish Canyon
Overall our stay was great. The hotel is in the middle of renovations but it didn't affect our stay. The room was clean except for some stains on the floor. The bed was super comfy and even though we stayed over the 4th of July weekend it was very quiet. The staff were so friendly and accommodating; at the hotel and restaurant. I have Celiac Disease and was very happy to see the menu offered gluten free options including bread and buns. If the wait staff wasn't sure about something they would go to the kitchen and ask. They have options for all three meals of the day; that isn't easy to find in South Dakota. We had good luck at the restaurant in Cadillac Jacks in Deadwood too. They make their own gf pizza crust and it's wonderful; try the Thai pizza. They also have gf bread, buns, cheesecake, and brownies. (O:
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Decent price

Posted Jun 14, 2014
Under renovation so all the furniture and carpet rolls took up most of the play area. Jets in hot tub were non existent. Pool table was a nice touch. I don't see those too often in hotels. Once they are done with remodeling, I will stay there again
3 out of 5
by Dan from Minneapolis, MN

Tired and busy

Posted Mar 31, 2014
Pros: Close to dining and right off the freeway
Cons: Update the decor
This hotel was adequate but it was very busy. There were several birthday parties going on so there were probably 30 or more kids in the pool with maybe 3 adults looking on? The pool area was loud and not relaxing. The hotel is also connected to a bar so it seems to be a popular place with the local singles crowd. The room was clean but dated and we slept well, there didn't seem to be a lot of noise after 9:00ish. (Maybe we were just exhausted from a day on the road.) It was one of the more expensive options that I found so I expected more. We'll find a different place next time.
2 out of 5
by GB Packers fan

An old hotel from a great Company

Posted Nov 25, 2013
Pros: The restaurant
Cons: It should need a general refurbishment
Location: The location is very nice, close to many tourist locations.
We arrived at the hotel and we riceive a cold reception. The carpet in the corridor is worn out. In front of the elevator water was dropping from ceiling. The room was very modest and the airconditioning noisy. The very good thing was the restaurant where we had a very good dinner at a reasonable price.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

An O.K. stay

Posted Nov 2, 2013
Pros: location
Cons: Cosmetics.
Location: Good location
Arrived and had to change rooms right away due to a terrible exhaust odor in the room. Dinner in the hotel pub took over 2 hours from start to finish and were ignored and not served as we returned to the bar for an after dinner drink.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Marie from Wisconsin

Would recommend

Posted Sep 30, 2013 on Hotels.com
We arrived tired after a long drive. We appreciated that there was a restaurant on site so we didn't have to leave the hotel once we arrived. The restaurant was good and the room clean and comfortable. We'd paid $5 more for a breakfast voucher that was good for $20 at breakfast. My only criticism would be that service at breakfast was slow. Otherwise a great stop for us!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by debbie from kansas city

Good location

Posted Sep 10, 2013
Pros: The swimming pool was really nice.
Cons: Can't think of anything
Location: Went to rapid city. To Mount Rushmore and also to Devils Tower. There were a lot places to choose from to eat.
We stayed there because of the location. It was perfect for what we wanted to do on our trip.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Bob from Spearfish, SD

Posted Sep 8, 2013 on Hotels.com
The hotel was very nice and worked well for us. We were right next to the ice machine and it was very loud and disturbing late at night.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 7, 2013 on Hotels.com
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 6, 2013 on Hotels.com
it was good