Ratings based on 93 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.0 out of 5
56% of guests recommend
3.1 Room cleanliness
3.3 Service & staff
3.0 Room comfort
2.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Coffee? Really?

Posted Sep 28, 2014
Pros: price
Cons: the coffee
Location: Location is a litttle off the beaten track, but with the web, it's doable.
For the price the motel was fine, but if you are going to provide coffee with your continental breakfast, it HAS to be good. It was so weak that it was almost undrinkable. PLEASE, upgrade the coffee. How much could it cost?
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good Hotel for the price, enjoyed the location and

Posted Sep 17, 2014
This hotel is the perfect location if you are visiting Mount Rushmore, Devils Tower and Crazy Horse. The scenic byway in Spearfish Canyon was awesome . We were really only at the Hotel to sleep.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Miles City Mt.

Very nice place to stay in Spearfish S.D.

Posted Sep 2, 2014
Pros: Quiet location & very comfortable!
Cons: all was good!
Location: Nice quiet location, easy to get downtown!
We normally stay in national chain motels. This was the only one available for the night we needed. Good thing other people had booked all the chain motels.. This was a surprise!! Awesome price and quiet location. The rooms were very clean and comfortable(we rented 2). Would have liked to stayed both nights that we were in the Hills. Will stay here again! I normally don't write reviews or read them! Everyone has their own opinions on how they think their experience should be! You will have to try this place if you can, because i'm recommending this place to everyone i know traveling to the Hills! They have real doughnuts for breakfast :) Top that national chain motels.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

It is just OK,,,

Posted Aug 31, 2014
Pros: not much!
Cons: Well old is old,, so some renovating is much needed!
Location: The whole area in South Dakota is right around, so I think I would sooner stay in the Keystone, Deadwood, Hill City or Rapid area.
Just ok I would say,, and that is about it. Overpriced for what you get,,, the chairs are so dirty not sure you want to sit on them really. However a towel does cover all. Our room smelled like it had been smoked in, but back in the day,, they all were, so kind of hard to get rid of that. Especially in an old place as this is. I would definitely look elsewhere to stay next time in the area. Like I said though,,,,,, just OK.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Malaysia

Very pleasant motel in a nice town

Posted Aug 11, 2014
Pros: The check-in clerk, Sunshine, was pleasant and made sure we were settled in well. The room was big, with frig, microwave, big screen TV, WiFi, ...
Location: Several nice shops, including a good antique store, and interesting old buildings with good explanations in front.
There's a lot to see and do in the Black Hills, and this is a good place to use as a base. The room was just renovated, and was large, well-equipped and comfortable, at a quite reasonable rate. Breakfast was good and filling. The town of Spearfish has an interesting history, which is described well in plaques around town. Do check to see what's playing at the Opera House -- a fun way to spend an evening.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

3 days week before stugis

Posted Aug 8, 2014
easy to arrange and staff was very good. breakfast was good with the low price motel. off the main street so pretty quiet. signs make it easy to find.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 1, 2014 on Hotels.com
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Dwight from Bismarck

Not Safe

Posted Mar 21, 2014 on Hotels.com
Expectations were not high with the very reasonable rate, but I was counting on using the room safe advertised. Unfortunately, routine maintenance had not been done and the old batteries leaked causing corrosion. To her credit, the owner/manager tried to repair but her call to the company to fix the safe went unanswered. Additionally, the room was quite small, and the entrance was from an outside wooden walkway.
2 out of 5
Recommended
by Rob from Rapid City

Review

Posted Mar 19, 2014 on Hotels.com
One hour we were checked in and settling into our room to relax, the front desk person unlocked the door and walked in on us. She must have forgotten we just checked in. I thought we were being robbed. We didn't feel comfortable the rest of our stay. I asked for a refund and was told a person from higher management would get in touch with me in the next few days, it is now 2 weeks later and I have not been contacted. Plus I was told since I went through Hotels.com that I wasn't eligible for a refund but they would sent me a coupon for a free nights stay there. I still haven't received that either. Very disappointed.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Amy

Great place for a great price

Posted Mar 18, 2014 on Hotels.com
Great place to stay for a reasonable rate. Breakfast was very good, beds were cozy. The room heater was slow so the room was chilly most of the time. Very clean, and getting a frig and microwave was a bonus:) Would stay here again in a heart beat!!!!