Ratings based on 83 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2.9 out of 5
52% of guests recommend
3.0 Room cleanliness
3.2 Service & staff
2.9 Room comfort
2.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Ken from Dickinson

Excellent stop on my business trips

Posted Dec 20, 2013 on Hotels.com
Thank you. The room was excellent and exceptionally clean.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bismarck, ND

Handy, clean, comfortable

Posted Nov 3, 2013
Pros: All the above.
Cons: Earlier breakfast, but that's a minor point.
Location: Handy two handy blocks off US85-Main St. Spearfish - the main route in this area. Jackson Blvd exit off I90 gets you there.
It's more than I expected at this price and in this market.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 24, 2013 on Hotels.com
The accommodations were more than adequate. I would recommend using this hotel especially for business travelers.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice, modest hotel

Posted Sep 23, 2013
Pros: price and proximity to town
Cons: Could be a little cleaner (shower head & bathroom for example)
This wasn't the fanciest place to stay, but as far as modestly priced hotels go, it was satisfactory.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Unsatisfied

Posted Sep 20, 2013
Pros: not much
Cons: everything
Old, not clean, asst. mgr. was unfriendly and not dressed well. Air conditioner rattled and was so noisey we were unable to sleep and it blew directly on to the bed. Bathroom was not clean.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Russell from Casper, WY

Free Breakfast

Posted Aug 15, 2013
Pros: The beds were probably the most comfortable beds I have encountered at any hotel
Cons: improve the breakfast offerings and have desk attendants that can communicate better.
Location: It was Sturgis Bike Rally week just 22 miles down the road. Very entertaining.
The free breakfast that was offered by this hotel was probably the worst I have ever encountered. There was a poor choice of sweet rolls/donuts and just white bread for making toast. only two choices of cereal and the bananas were still green and hard.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Smelled

Posted Jul 20, 2013 on Hotels.com
The rooms had old dingy carpet and smelled funky. Won't go again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by Geri from Spearfish

Dirty toilet

Posted Jul 20, 2013 on Hotels.com
The first room we checked into had poo stains on the back of the lid and under the seat. The floor was also sticky and dirty. The second room was better but was still not very clean. There was garbage on the floor and under the bed. There were stains on the bathroom door...don't know - or want to know what from. Amy at the front desk was awesome and the motel was not bad. Having a clean room would have made a huge difference.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Dave from Utah

Nice Motel

Posted Jul 2, 2013
Pros: Nice
Cons: Swimming Pool
Good stay. Staff was very nice and helpful. Would return.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Lacey from Sioux Falls, SD

Why the complaints?

Posted Oct 7, 2012
Pros: Ceiling of the room, friendly staff, quiet atmosphere
Cons: Bed was a little hard, no cups in the room.
Location: Spearfish is beautiful!!
I previously had a bad experience with a different Travelodge so I was nervous to book a room in another. To my surprise it was actually very nice. The staff was helpful and accommodating and the room was clean, had no bugs, and no weird smells. The ceiling was vaulted and had wood beams and a ceiling fan. That was a nice surprise! One thing I did notice was no cups and the bed was a little too hard for my taste which is why I gave it a 4 instead of 5. Overall, I'd stay there again.