Ratings based on 54 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Springfield, IL

Nice Hotel

Posted Aug 4, 2014
The room was clean and spacious and the staff friendly and helpful. The breakfast had a nice variety and we had 2 little toddlers with us and everyone was taken care of.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Milwaukee, WI

Posted Jul 28, 2014
Cons: The breakfast hot food (egg "rounds" and sausage) did not look very appetizing.
The hotel was ok - nothing special. It looked a little rundown, like it had been several years since any upgrades were done.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 31, 2014 by Decatur Hawthorn, Hotel Management
Traveler, Thank you for taking the time to let us know your thoughts on your recent stay. Sorry the eggs and sausage did not appear to be appetizing. I hope you tried them and realized the are pretty good. I appreciate you sharing your thoughts on upgrades. I am pleased to inform you that upgrades are in motion. Hopefully you will give us another chance on your next visit to Decatur to see what we have done.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Just so-so.

Posted Jul 21, 2014
Hotel was clean and convenient to the location where my event was. Staff was less than impressive - front desk girl in wrinkled, unbuttoned shirt and flip flops, sitting in the lobby watching TV with her boyfriend for most of the night. Bed was comfortable but didn't seem any larger than a full sized bed - very small for the two of us to sleep in. Blow dryer provided in the room was out of date and barely worked, front desk staff told me they didn't have an alternative. The shuttle was also sitting right out front but I was told that it didn't work, and wasn't available for guests. (In that case, you should park it in the back of the parking lot, out of eye shot of each person walking in the door?) All in all, the hotel provided what we needed for the evening, but nothing extra.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 26, 2014 by Decatur Hawthorn, Hotel Management
Traveler, Thank you for taking the time to review us. I apologize that your stay was so so. Our goal is to do our best and exceed guests expectations and we clearly did not meet those standards in your case. I apologize for my staffs behavior but truly thank you for making me aware of what you encountered. I always hope when I leave the property my staff will maintain a maturity and professionalism and it is clear my staff did not in this case. I assure you this will be addressed immediately. I am pleased to hear that the room was clean but you felt the bed was small. Our bedding combination is pillow top queens and pillow top kings. In regards to our hairdryer I apologize as we have a couple a year that the heating element goes bad. I am sorry to hear that my staff was unable to assist you in replacing it as we do have extras at the front desk and feel the response you got was another poor decision made by the employee. I do not know what date you stayed but will let you know the alternator in our shuttle van when out a couple weeks ago on a Saturday night and was unable to be used until Monday evening once it was towed to the repair shop and picked back up. Other than that the shuttle has been working 7 days a week until 9pm for the past year. I apologize if your stay happened to fall during this repair. Once again I am truly sorry for your recent stay. The lack of service and professionalism you received from my staff was unacceptable and I apologize for that. It is clear this particular employee did not represent myself, the company, and the other hard working team members in a fitting manner. I hope if you ever find yourself back in Decatur you would give us an opportunity to redeem ourselves.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Posted May 21, 2014
I enjoyed staying at Hawthorn by Wyndham Decatur, Illinois. The room is surprisingly big with everything I need for the stay. The place is very clean. Hotel staff is very courteous and helpful. There are plenty of choices of food for the continental breakfast. The location is a bit far from the highway. The refrigerator is way too old for it makes so much noises that I had to unplug it so I could sleep. Overall, I had a pleasant stay.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 22, 2014 by Decatur Hawthorn, Hotel Management
Thank you for the positive feedback and the 4 star rating. I am aware of a few loud refrigerators and have recently started switching them out. Thank you again for the review and look forward to seeing you again soon.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Posted May 20, 2014 on Hotels.com
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 26, 2014 by Kevin Dandrea, Hotel Management
Thank you for the 4 star rating. I will be sure to share your rating with the staff. Thank you again and we will look forward to seeing you when you return to Decatur.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 16, 2014 on Hotels.com
Left a pair of good shoes and called back the next morning, but they could not be found. Went back to look through the room but they would not let us look. They said the shoes were not there. Very disappointed about that.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 28, 2014 by Kevin Dandrea, Hotel Management
I am sorry that you have misplaced your shoes during your recent stay with us. Not knowing when you attempted to check the room makes it difficult for a response but if the room was already occupied with another guest we would be unable to allow you to enter that room for safety reasons. I do have 3 pairs of shoes from this month in our lost and found if you would like to give me a call I would be more than happy to check if they are yours. Other than your shoes being misplaced I hope you had an enjoyable stay with us.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by BRENDA

Posted Apr 15, 2014 on Hotels.com
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 28, 2014 by Kevin Dandrea, Hotel Management
Brenda, Thank you for the 5 star rating. We are pleased you had an excellent stay with us and look forward to seeing you again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Mark N from Kansas

Okay for what it is

Posted Apr 8, 2014 on Hotels.com
Cheap overnight stay. Thin walls allow you to hear the neighboring rooms - their bathroom fans and water running. The hot water screeches. One of my water glasses was heavily water-spotted and it wasn't replaced even after I left it out. Refrigerator was so noisy I unplugged it at night. Smokers congregate close enough to the door that you can't get in or out without running a gauntlet, and the smoke smell wafts up to the upper floor rooms.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 21, 2014 by Kevin Dandrea, Hotel Management
Mark, Thank you for taking the time to let us know your thoughts on your recent stay. I apologize about the fan and have been replacing them as we find them. We have replaced majority but clearly we have a few to go. I would also like to apologize about the spotted glass you found in your room. We clean all of our glasses in a dishwasher and we must not have shined yours when we removed it. I am sorry you felt we neglected to switch out your glasses but as a stayover we do not touch certain items unless we are certain guests are done using them. I have recently noticed myself the congregating around the entrance and am in the process of creating a smoking area on the backside of the hotel. We are sorry that your stay was only OK as our goal is to exceed expectations but hope you are willing to give us another opportunity in the future.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice room, but too loud and smelled like smoke!

Posted Mar 26, 2014
Pros: The room size and decor.
Cons: The room needs to be soundproofed because of being so close to such a busy highway. Why are people smoking at this hotel??
Location: Very close to nice restaraunts and the movie theater. Unfortunately, too close to the highway to get a good night's rest.
The room was very spacious and nice. The bed was very comfortable, but it smelled like cigarette smoke. I didn't get any sleep because my room was so close to the highway and I heard constant traffic all night. The room needs better insulation or definitely request a room AWAY from the street side of the hotel. Not worth the money I paid considering I didn't get a wink of sleep. If you can't get a good nights' sleep, what's the poing of paying for a hotel room???? Could have slept in my car and saved the money.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 16, 2014 by Decatur Hawthorn, Hotel Management
Traveler, I first and foremost would like to apologize about the stay you had with us as we clearly did not meet your expectations. Being a nonsmoking hotel we trust our guests to abide by the rules but that does not always happen. We do our best to monitor items such as noise and smoking and do hope our guests are respectful of others but that also does not always happen. I thank you for the kind words about the spacious and nice rooms but agree that if you do not get any sleep that neither of those matters. Overall we did not meet your expectations and I truly apologize. I do hope you may be willing to give us another chance in the future as my staff and I would love the opportunity to make this wrong a right.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by MrCanDoit from Boston

Great place to stay.

Posted Mar 23, 2014 on Hotels.com
Very nice. I will stay here again when visiting my family in town. My wife and I loved having a kitchen with a full refrigerator! We stayed for almost a week so being able to cook many of our own meals was very nice and good on the budget too. The price was right.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 14, 2014 by Kevin Dandrea, Hotel Management
Mr. Can Do it, Thank you so much for the great review! We are happy to hear that and welcome you and your family back any time. Thanks again!