Ratings based on 21 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.9 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 12, 2013 on Hotels.com
comfortable, followed up up with the Great Sand Dunes Park and Zappota Falls, great fun..
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Tom and Carol from Washngton, Michigan

Honeymoon

Posted Jul 17, 2013 on Hotels.com
Martin was an excellent host, friendly and very informative.We appreciated his recommendation to visit Zapata Falls.Loved ther kingsize bed and rerigerator outside of the room. Breakfast was delicious!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 16, 2013 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Sharon & Frank from Broomfield

Lovely Stay

Posted Jul 3, 2013 on Hotels.com
Mark and Judy were gracious hosts. We were on a Colorado "Tapas Tour", and wanted to experience a variety of accommodations. The Applewood Lodge was a lovely change of pace from hotel rooms, and breakfast was yum!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Anne from Albuquerque

Posted Jun 26, 2013 on Hotels.com
The owners are very kind and friendly. We arrived super late and they stayed up to welcome us without any hassle.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Tom72 from Brighton UK

A homely B&B

Posted Jun 20, 2013
Pros: Friendly and homely atmosphere.
Location: Quiet location on the outskirts of town, overlooking fields.
SmalL B&B run by the owners, a very friendly husband and wife team in quiet, peaceful surroundings on the outskirts of town. It was very nicely decorated and furnished, very homely. The Granny Smith Suite consisted of a bedroom with a separate, private bathroom. The owner recommended a good restaurant that the locals use and cooked us a hot breakfast inthe morning. WiFi was good and the room rates were extremely reasonable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jim from Colorado Springs

Relaxation At Its Finest

Posted Jun 17, 2013
Pros: We stayed in the Red Delicious room which has it's own jacuzzi and deck. The king size bed was very comfortable even for someone with a bad lower back
Cons: NOTHING!!!!!
Location: Talk to Mark about things to do, there is too many to list. But definitely head over to the Sand Dunes and Zapata Falls, you won't regret it.
I came down to the San Louis Valley to take my comps for my Master's Degree. It was a very stressful time but the minute you walk through the doors of the AppleLodge you know you are in for a very peaceful and pleasant stay. I was able to relax and unwind after a very stressful test. The owners, Mark and Judy were kind and gracious hosts and Mark's cooking is impeccable. The setting is very nice in the middle of the San Louis Valley with mountains all around. You are very close to the Rio Grande so if you like to fish, you are within walking distance or you can drive up and down it or go to the various lakes close by. Talk to Mark and he can give you a wealth of information about the fishing or anything else in the area. For me, the greatest thing was the calm peaceful ambiance of the home which made our mini vacation perfect.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by G.M. Shrubsall from Auckland New Zealand

Delightful couple and a welcome second to none!

Posted May 9, 2013 on Hotels.com
We only stayed one night, en route, but could have happily spent more time in such an interesting area. The welcome, the well appointed room and the amazing breakfast, and Hazel, were great. Thanks Mark and Judy.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Scottsdale, AZ

Recommend.

Posted Jan 4, 2013
First time at a bed and breakfast. Felt like staying with family. Room was comfortable, easy to find, buffalo outside window, great view, bath tub was nice, family was wonderful, good location.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jimbo from Uk

A nice surprise...

Posted Sep 19, 2012
Pros: So friendly and homely
Cons: None really....maybe breakfast choice...
Location: Just out of town...you need a car....just off main road but not noisy in any way
Initially when we saw the tired looking sign by the roadside we thought...oh dear! We were wrong...lovely homely place to stay with lovely hosts Mark and Judy who as a Brit, i would describe as middle American God fearing folk. The house was great....the room was great and the welcome was great....(not even phased by two heavily tattooed (but nice) Brits rolling up... The place is by a main road, but no issue or noise at night. We sat on the balcony and due to lack of light polution, you get an amazing view of the stars.. Breakfast was different...not my choice, but enough to eat...some fruit and toast would have made it for me..(i am sure if i had asked i could have probably had some) I would stay again....so much nicer than a corporate carbon copy hotel chain.