Ratings based on 112 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
99% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Melbourne, Australia

Nice hotel, exceptional owner!

Posted Feb 3, 2015
Location: Manuel's steakhouse is right next door and fantastic!
The hotel was clean and comfortable, and well located next to a great restaurant. But what makes this hotel special is the owner Bob and his family. They were warm, welcoming and did everything possible to make our stay memorable, from giving us toothpaste when we ran out, to inviting us to chat over a beer, to driving us to/from the Mexican border so we could experience a few hours in Mexico. Bob loves hospitality and this shows, in the way he runs his hotel to his interactions with his guests - some (like us) who are there for the night and others who stay regularly. He has led a fascinating life and we really enjoyed chatting to him and his wife, to the various visitors who stop by to say "hi" and the other guests. I cannot thank Bob enough for his generosity in driving my family to/from the border, while we left our car and luggage at the Motel. Going to Mexico was a highlight and something the kids will remember forever, and we were able to do this because of Bob.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by PATRICIAfrom San Antonio

Whispering Palms

Posted Jan 22, 2015 on Hotels.com
Room was comfortable and very clean. Bed was very comfortable. Good value for the money. Breakfast was so-so.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom england

Ok hotel, nice restaurant next door

Posted Jan 20, 2015
Room quickly changed as it smelled of smoke - no fuss. Room & bed comfortable, clean with everything one could need. Adequate breakfast. Coffee could improve, but didn't find any decent coffee in most of Texas and NM! Nice restaurant next door for evening meal, and supermarket in walking distance. Owners of hotel very nice.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent room for the price

Posted Jan 5, 2015
Like the other reviewers, i found the room remodeled, clean, free of smells, the wall heater unit was whisper quiet. The hit and miss breakfast was a total miss, never did open, but btw, ihop down the road was great. Lovely room, one small thing, in the shower, there is no shelf to put your stuff. For the price, it was great, and i was able to bring my dog in.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Houston

Talk to the owner

Posted Dec 30, 2014
Take a few minutes to visit with the owner. He has had an interesting life, from Africa to England to California to Texas.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 22, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Doloresfrom San Antonio, TX

Nice place at a nice price!

Posted Nov 26, 2014 on Hotels.com
We were in town for two nights for a collectible convention. Our room was clean and quiet and there was something cooking from a nearby restaurant that smelled absolutely divine. There was a good assortment of restaurants in both directions and large grocery store on the same road. The only tiny complaint was that the bed seemed a bit hard for my taste, but I'm used to my own fairly soft bed at home and usually have a hard time sleeping in any hotel bed anyway. All in all, it was a nice place to stay and the price just can't be beat!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Malissafrom Burleson

Little gem in the middle of nowhere

Posted Oct 3, 2014 on Hotels.com
It's a small hotel in not the greatest of Texas cities, but it was nice. The staff were very friendly, the rooms have all been redone and are nice. If we are ever here again we would stay at this place and I would recommend this place to others.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Melissafrom Colorado

Posted Sep 14, 2014 on Hotels.com
This place was great! They were unbelievably accommodating - if in Del Rio again we would definitely stay here!! Clean, good price and very welcoming.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by Katie Fosterfrom Apopka, FL

OK for an overnight

Posted Sep 6, 2014 on Hotels.com
This renovated 1950 style motel was fine for the price and for just an overnight on our way to Denver. Staff was very nice, room was clean...mattress wasn't great ... continental breakfast never appeared but no complaints as we were just passing though and Del Rio is not a thriving tourist area with 4 star resorts anyway.If we found we had to stop in Del Rio again we would stay here.