Ratings based on 54 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.2 out of 5
78% of guests recommend
3.4 Room cleanliness
3.3 Service & staff
3.0 Room comfort
3.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dallas TX

Posted Jul 11, 2014
Pros: Cabins were clean & beds were comfortable
Cons: Could use better window coverings
Location: It was maybe a 20 minute drive to Denali National Park but we preferred being in the quiet, wooded setting of The Perch property
Newly remodeled cabins were nice and they were clean! Pretty basic & on the small side - especially the shower stall but comfortable & adequate for our purposes. We would have liked to have had better window coverings - especially in the loft - as we had to place the decorative pillows in the windows to help block out the light. (eye shades would have been a good thing to bring to Alaska!) Breakfasts in The Perch restaurant were delicious & the view was wonderful! Owners were friendly & they were very helpful in booking excursions.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A cabin close to Denali

Posted Jul 8, 2014
Pros: Proximity to Denali.
Cons: Attention to detail.
Location: Tons of stuff to do in Denali. This was just a place to spend the night.
Both cabins we used had maintenance issues requiring correction before we could stay there. Also, the name is a bit misleading as I did not consider this to be a resort.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Francisco Ca

Convenient Stay

Posted Jul 3, 2014
Pros: Location, stuff
Cons: Shower head - horrible!!! Bigger bed...
Location: Denali National Park - must visit. 49th State Brewery in Haley (about 15 min away)
Pros: The place is very cute. The location is great - about 15 min away from Denali National Park entrance and 15 min away from Haley (from the other side). Overall we were happy with our stay - since we only got back to shower and nap for a few hours. The restaurant that belongs to this resort is very tasty (but pricey) and the stuff is very very nice!! Cons: The bed is very small (Double...) My boyfriends feet were hanging off of it... We also had issues with the Wi Fi... (My phone couldn't connect at all and his phone didn't connect 1 of the 3 nights). Also, the Shower Head SUCKS! I mean... A metal hose sticking out spraying water to different directions... With these nightly rates hotel management can invest in a nicer shower head from Walmart...
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

One with Nature

Posted Jul 3, 2014
Pros: Nothing but nature, exactly what we were looking for. Their restaurant is awesome. Friendly and helpful staff.
Cons: transportation to park
If you want to be one with nature, this is the place to be. The owners (2 brothers) are native to the area, very friendly and eager to offer information about the area. Their restaurant is "excellent".....seriously, you don't expect that kind of food in the middle of nowhere.....very nice. One thing to keep in mind is that you will need a car, the park entrance is a 20 minute drive and there is nothing in walking distance aside from their 2 restaurants and another one next door.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent value near Denali Park

Posted Jun 6, 2014
Nice (although minimalist) cabins with 3 restaurants/bar in walking distance. We tried their main restaurant for breakfast and dinner and it was excellent. The pub next to the road offered pizza that was not very good (the crust was too dry) but the service was great and the ambience nice and friendly. Will not hesitate to return.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by John from Albuquerque, NM

An Authentic Slice of Alaska

Posted Nov 16, 2013
Pros: This place is charming and authentic. The staff were very friendly and breakfast in the beautiful dining room was excellent.
Cons: If you're staying in high summer, the curtains in at least some rooms aren't blackout, so you might want to wear your eye shades.
Location: Excellent location near Denali National Park but just far enough away to feel rustic and secluded.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

One day at the Cabins in September.

Posted Sep 20, 2013
The setting where the cabins are is nice but the cabin are rather basic. There isn't any coofee/tea facilities and they didn't even put a couple of plastic glasses in the room. No TV. Restaurant expensive and portions small. Middle age couple from Vicenza - Italy.
1 out of 5
by Jamie from WY

Train Traveler's Beware

Posted Sep 20, 2013
I arrived in Denali by train. When I contacted the hotel about transportation, I found out they had no shuttle and my options were to get a cab or rent a car. The cab was not available and the car rental needed information I couldn't get at that time of day. Not knowing the surroundings (the motel is at least 3 miles from the train depot), I contacted another motel with a shuttle and made arrangements for my stay in Denail. I have since been in contact with the motel and they felt they did all they could for me. Giving me two phone numbers, but showing no concern when I couldn't reach the resorst was not enough. Because of my short cancellation and due to "offseason" they didn't occupy my room so now I am stuck for two nights of lodging I didn't use. I would take some of the responsiblity, but when I read other reviews that state how they were picked up at the train station and the owners were very helpful, I can't help but feel ripped off.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Bev from Alaska

Nice cabin close to Denali

Posted Sep 19, 2013
Pros: Individual cabins in the woods. They were roomy and comfortable
Location: It is located within 15 minutes to Denali National Park, white water rafting, helicopter tours and other adventures
Staff here are very pleasant and accomodating. Even at the end of there season they provide great service.
2 out of 5
Recommended
by from oz

the worst shower ever

Posted Sep 9, 2013 on Hotels.com
The lodge is quite cosy but the shower you either froze or burnt yourself. The only service was the bed being made - wet towels due to problems with shower were not taken away for the whole 4 days that we stayed. Not even tea or coffee available in room. Very disappointing stay.