Ratings based on 37 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
78% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Phila., PA

Nice views and funny signs

Posted Jul 11, 2014
We arrived at the hotel late in the evening and an employee drove up to us and offered to help with our bags. We were immediately impressed. Check in was easy and the front desk was helpful. The outside seating at the restaurant had outstanding views. The room was ok. We were surprised there was no fridge in the room, especially for that price. The shuttle service was convenient and the staff was very pleasant.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

No Compassion

Posted Jul 10, 2014
Pros: Nothing
Cons: More compassion, and offer to refund a part of pre-paid purchase cost.
We had a medical emergency and had to return home to treat this problem. We called the hotel staff to tell them we could not keep our stay as planned. The staff lack any concern and had no compassion.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from chicago

Parking lot view

Posted Jul 5, 2014
I looked at the photo and thought the scenic vista would be beautiful. It is but unfortunately half the rooms face a parking lot without a view. Guess which one I got?
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 3, 2014
Location is unbelievable. Staff was great. You can't go wrong at this place. Worth every penny.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Texas

Great food! Nice view. Happy Texan!

Posted Jun 30, 2014
Pros: Food. View.
Location: White Water Rapids w/ Denali Outdoor Center. Canyon Paddle- u get 2 paddle also: more fun! If you want to sit & enjoy the scenery, do the Oar Raft.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Way too expensive for what you get.

Posted Jun 24, 2014
Very plain room and facilities. The shuttle service seems to be the main amenity, otherwise it's pretty bare-bones offerings. Scratchy towels; you have to request a non-slip bath mat, etc.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel with beautiful views. Good food

Posted Jun 12, 2014
Enjoyed our stay at the these hotel that is very close to Denali Park. The rooms were clean and comfortable and the restaurant provided good food. They also provided a lunch (at additional cost), for those taking the long park tour.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Worse hotel bed I've attempted to sleep on.

Posted Jun 6, 2014
Staff was helpful, way overpriced for what condition the hotel was in.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Linda from Marin Co., Calif.

Magnificent Views with a Sense of Humor

Posted Jun 5, 2014
Pros: The food and the views! The bar, dining room and patio all face Denali, with those gorgeous mountain views.
Cons: The gravel parking lot, while rustic, is difficult to negotiate with suitcases.
If you weren't in a good mood as you approach Grande Denali Lodge, you will be smiling as you reach the lodge entrance, thanks to a series of delightful "road signs" along the way. This spacious, traditional lodge is located just across the river from the entrance to Denali National Park and Preserve. If you've spent the day there, you won't have to give up viewing the magnificent mountains as the Lodge has a grand view towards the park. And if you are going to Denali the next day, the view from Grande Denali Lodge will serve as a preview. Services at the Lodge are thoughtful for Denali visitors, from the late (and excellent) dining to the early (5 a.m.!) breakfasts and even an espresso bar for those on the go. Box lunches to take to the park are available, too, a boon for tours and shuttle rides as no food is available beyond park HQ. The dinner menu would please any sophisticated and jaded urbanite, and the quality is excellent. Don't miss the salmon melt or the seafood bisque. We probably set a record for the shortest visit to Grande Denali Lodge (8 hours), so we couldn't enjoy the breakfast, although the menu was as varied and mouth-watering as the dinner. We hope to return for a longer visit, when we can linger over cocktails at the lovely bar or patio, dinner in the adjacent dining room and breakfast!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Amanda from Pennsylvania

One night stay on Honeymoon trip.

Posted Jun 3, 2014
We were only staying there for one night as we traveled through AK. Staff was helpful with activities we could do. They surprised us with a dessert plate in our room since we were on our honeymoon. Hotel also provides a free shuttle to/from the train station and to a few places around the town. Beautiful views.