Ratings based on 185 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.6 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cincinnati Ohio

One of only two resorts at the entrance to Denali

Posted Jul 28, 2015
Pros: the nature trail and choice of restaurants - also the gift shops across the street within walking distance
Cons: ask for an updated room - I think they reserved those for the cruise lines because we had booked months in advance and still received an old room
Location: at the entrance to Denali Natl. Park - shuttle provided by hotel - many gift shops across the street. very tourist friendly
We were surprised to learn upon arrival that this resort is owned by Holland America Cruiselines and the other place in town is owned by Princess Cruises. Therefore, there are LOTS of busses bringing LOTS of tourists (mostly older couples) in to the place from the cruise ships. That being said, everyone was very nice, and there were lots of amenities like gift shops and several good restaurants, along with grounds to walk around on and a beautiful nature trail on the property that goes alongside the river. The tourist train can be seen going by up the mountainside several times a day. Quite scenic. We were in building Z which appeared to be much older than some of the others. Ask for a newer building when booking. It looked like an old national park lodge room inside our room, old but worn, but was adequate. Nice that the windows open to let in fresh mountain air.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 24, 2015
Rooms are very rustic and not very clean. Hotel has a "worn" feeling.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel, close to shops & restaurants.

Posted Jul 22, 2015
Nice hotel, but room didn't have the sleeper sofa as advertised. So we had to double up sleeping in the bed.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Honolulu

Posted Jul 21, 2015
Good location and good restaurant. The staffs are friendly overall. The parking is pretty bad, which is located quite far away from the room. In a cold and raining day, it's not a happy experience. The sound or noise from neighboring rooms is a bit louder than it should be, in my opinion. Anyway, the room is clean, the location is great and the food is good, so I would recommend this hotel with some reservation.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Houston, Texas

Fantastic views

Posted Jul 20, 2015
Pros: The views and facilities.
Cons: The staff at the tour desk could be more helpful and polite.
Location: Very central, walking distance to local shops
McKinley is a lovely hotel in beautiful surroundings and within walking distance of the local shops. The hotel has multiple restaurants and a great bar. Some of the staff at the tour desk were abrupt and not very helpful but the rest of the staff were much better. Our room was spacious, clean and had a very comfortable bed. I would recommend this hotel to friends and family.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 15, 2015
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Provide what a customer pays for
We booked a room with two queen size beds and we got one double one single and a pull out couch in the two day's we stayed there I killed three cockroaches, there was never enough towels and we had to call several times to get more.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Pretty backdrop, very loud mornings.

Posted Jul 14, 2015
The McKinley Chalet is clean, very pretty and well stocked with a nice restaurant, friendly staff, clean environment and convenient shuttle service. That's the upside. The downside was the double beds were old, the room was outdated (but clean) and it sounded like a herd of cattle walked past our room every morning. You see, the Hollsnd Ameruca cruise line tells their guests to have their suitcases outside their door at 6am. Then the cruise line staff roll hundreds of suitcases to the buses. Yep, right past our room. We heard every wheel roll over every wood plank and the staff talked to each other like it was 2pm. It lasted for what seemed like half an hour making it difficult to fall back asleep, Perhaps McKinley Chalet could find a different route for the suitcase herd? Or put non cruise line guests in a separate area of the park? I would love to recommend this place but don't want others to have that awful morning experience.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice Hotel

Posted Jul 13, 2015
Hotel area is big to access to the room. But room is nice and clean. The location is also good.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 13, 2015
We were miles from anything. I have a hard time walking and they knew this but nothing was done for me.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Amazing view and location

Posted Jul 8, 2015
Pros: View, the grounds, the staff
Cons: Needs a microwave and fridge in the room.
Location: Awesome location, more than enough things nearby to stay busy. Rafting, four wheeling, kayaking, flight seeing, hiking, camping.
Great place to stay for adults. Kids are fine but there just isn't anything for them to do. Check in was seamless and friendly. Rooms were ready 4 hours ahead of the check in time. Rooms themselves are good, but could use a microwave and mini fridge. Beds are comfortable. No a/c but it was in the 60s while we were there so not req'd. Grounds are nice and there's a shuttle to take you around them. Restaurants are great but expensive, however, every place we went was about the same on price no matter the menu or location. There are a lot of places to stay in this area and I would rate them as equal to each other. I would definitely stay here again.