Ratings based on 149 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.6 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom BC Canada

An overnite stay

Posted Sep 25, 2014
Pros: It was close to everything in the small village
Cons: Better trained staff
Location: A few miles from the entrance to Denali park. A very beautiful pristine wilderness.
We arrived 15 mins early during a rain storm and they would not allow us to check in until the actual hour. We stood in the lobby like unwanted quests. It seemed that when they saw it was booked thru Expedia we were assigned a unit at the very far end of the complex.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 21, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Bloomington, Indiana

Seeing the Changes

Posted Sep 20, 2014
Pros: The service was wonderful and the food was excellent.
Cons: I suggested that they put information about the statue of Balto in the lobby so folks would know the story of that incredible.
Location: Great location near the Denali Park, the Nenana River for rafting tours. Good location for hikers as well.
After being away from Alaska for 25 years, we decided to check out some of the changes in the state. We found this hotel very accommodating. A good location for travel into Denali and near other tourist shops as well as dining places. They were quick to get us information and take suggestions. It was a great experience!
3 out of 5
Recommended
by cynthiafrom fairbanks alaska

nice

Posted Sep 20, 2014 on Hotels.com
nice but a little miss leading on the fact that your not overlooking the river; and can barely see the river because all the trees are in the way!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel close to Denali

Posted Sep 20, 2014
Very nice hotel and friendly staff! I Recommend the pizza place down the street within walking distance!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by KWfrom Anchorage

Beautiful scenery

Posted Sep 20, 2014 on Hotels.com
Nice, not too far from Denali park. The bar located in the hotel had good food and drinks. Rooms were nice and clean.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Eagle River, AK

A Day in the Park

Posted Sep 19, 2014
Pros: We liked everything about this place.
Cons: Provide at least Two (2) thinner pillows in every room!!!
Location: We visited the shops across the road and had a sandwich at Subway, just relaxed and enjoyed the scenery.
The Room was very nice, clean, well done with everything necessary for a few days stay; except ALL of the pillows on the bed were TOO thick, no options. I think every room should have Two thinner pillows. We stay at Hampton Inns in the Lower 48 and they have always had a couple of thinner pillows in every room. It took a bit of time to make a cup of tea as I could not find the basket to hold the teabag only to learn it is provided in the coffee package! The main building is beautiful, staff very nice, restaurant food is good and atmosphere welcoming. Shuttle buses make getting around quick and convenient for people who cannot walk around very well. We will recommend the McKinley Chalets to everyone.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by Carriefrom Alaska

Nice place

Posted Sep 19, 2014 on Hotels.com
I enjoyed my stay. Very friendly and helpful staff.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Anchorage, AK

Posted Sep 18, 2014
I would request a quieter room when I stay again. Everything else was great. We were over the entrance and heard traffic coming to our building. I am just too sensitive Was an overall great experience. We wanted to stay another night but you were booked up. Our fault for not booking earlier. But - the front desk helped us find another hotel in the area. That was very nice. We came back the next night and ate in your restaurant and got our coffee from you in am.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Davidfrom Anchorage, AK

Romantic Getaway

Posted Sep 18, 2014 on Hotels.com
We have a saying in our family - " If momma ain't happy ain't nobody happy" I had one happy momma on my hands after our stay at McKinley Chalets. The room was very clean and quiet. I did have trouble turning down the heat, but that was my only issue. The bed was very comfortable. I appreciated the extra sitting room in the layout.