Ratings based on 155 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.6 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Palmer AK

Housekeeping

Posted May 22, 2015
Overall everything was good with exception of the housekeeping service. Cleaners NEED to be more experienced. The rooms were dirty Im an owner of my own cleaning business in Alaska. With over 30 yrs experience. I would not hire these young individuals. It is the most important impression is cleanliness!!
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Seattle WA

Expedia customers treated as second class

Posted May 19, 2015
Pros: The non-front desk staff was polite and courteous
Cons: Service
First poor review I have had to write. Definitley treated differently (poorly) as an expedia customer. Was given a poor room in comparison to what I had booked and paid for. The heat did not even work in the room. There idea of customer service is a coupon for a free coffee cup of coffee. I would not reccomend this hotel
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom BC Canada

An overnite stay

Posted Sep 25, 2014
Pros: It was close to everything in the small village
Cons: Better trained staff
Location: A few miles from the entrance to Denali park. A very beautiful pristine wilderness.
We arrived 15 mins early during a rain storm and they would not allow us to check in until the actual hour. We stood in the lobby like unwanted quests. It seemed that when they saw it was booked thru Expedia we were assigned a unit at the very far end of the complex.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 21, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Bloomington, Indiana

Seeing the Changes

Posted Sep 20, 2014
Pros: The service was wonderful and the food was excellent.
Cons: I suggested that they put information about the statue of Balto in the lobby so folks would know the story of that incredible.
Location: Great location near the Denali Park, the Nenana River for rafting tours. Good location for hikers as well.
After being away from Alaska for 25 years, we decided to check out some of the changes in the state. We found this hotel very accommodating. A good location for travel into Denali and near other tourist shops as well as dining places. They were quick to get us information and take suggestions. It was a great experience!
3 out of 5
Recommended
by cynthiafrom fairbanks alaska

nice

Posted Sep 20, 2014 on Hotels.com
nice but a little miss leading on the fact that your not overlooking the river; and can barely see the river because all the trees are in the way!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel close to Denali

Posted Sep 20, 2014
Very nice hotel and friendly staff! I Recommend the pizza place down the street within walking distance!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by KWfrom Anchorage

Beautiful scenery

Posted Sep 20, 2014 on Hotels.com
Nice, not too far from Denali park. The bar located in the hotel had good food and drinks. Rooms were nice and clean.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Eagle River, AK

A Day in the Park

Posted Sep 19, 2014
Pros: We liked everything about this place.
Cons: Provide at least Two (2) thinner pillows in every room!!!
Location: We visited the shops across the road and had a sandwich at Subway, just relaxed and enjoyed the scenery.
The Room was very nice, clean, well done with everything necessary for a few days stay; except ALL of the pillows on the bed were TOO thick, no options. I think every room should have Two thinner pillows. We stay at Hampton Inns in the Lower 48 and they have always had a couple of thinner pillows in every room. It took a bit of time to make a cup of tea as I could not find the basket to hold the teabag only to learn it is provided in the coffee package! The main building is beautiful, staff very nice, restaurant food is good and atmosphere welcoming. Shuttle buses make getting around quick and convenient for people who cannot walk around very well. We will recommend the McKinley Chalets to everyone.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by Carriefrom Alaska

Nice place

Posted Sep 19, 2014 on Hotels.com
I enjoyed my stay. Very friendly and helpful staff.