Ratings based on 34 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Other
by Nora from California

McKinley Creekside Cabins

Posted Aug 27, 2013
Pros: The large room, the cafe on the premises, and the helpfulness of the staff.
Cons: Information about the second floor units and the non-daily cleaning policy.
Location: It was fairly close to Denali Park, and there were shops and restaurants in the area.
When we read the ads for the McKinley Creekside Cabins, we were led to believe that all the rooms were cabins - as in single story. Imagine our surprise to find we had been placed in a second story (no elevator) room. Both my friend and I are senior citizens. It would have been nice to know that some of the rooms were on the second story so we could request a lower level room. To the credit of the staff, they volunteered to carry our luggage up and down the stairs, which helped a lot. We also weren't told that room cleaning wasn't done every day so we were surprised to come back to our room to find that it hadn't been touched even though we were gone all day. That would have been acceptable if we had only known about it in advance. On the positive side, the staff helped us get tickets for a tour of the Denali Park, and the little cafe owned by the hotel was very pleasant. Our room was larger than expected, and nicely decorated - rustic, but pleasant. It was only seven miles from the park, which was fairly convenient, but the directions as to where to go after we drove the seven miles were sketchy. We muddled around for awhile before we found what we were looking for - a bus to the park.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Affordable comfortable cabins - cafe is worth it!!

Posted Aug 26, 2013
Pros: It has it's own Creekside Cafe restaurant and convenient to Denali, Husky Homestead (go see them!)
Location: It has it's own Creekside Cafe restaurant and convenient to Denali, Husky Homestead (go see them!)
This is an affordable set of comfortable cabins away from the hustle and bustle of the other McKinley Village Lodge just down the road. That place feels really touristy but has a nice view along the river. McKinley Creekside cabins are small with a table in the corner and two double beds along each wall. The bathroom door is in the middle of the beds and have a toilet, sink and stand-up shower. Nothing fancy at all but better than camping. The mosquitoes are vicious in Alaska and this place is no exception. Bring mosquito spray on your vacay and be quick moving in and out the door. The electricity went out one day and even the cafe next door didn't have power- guess it happens in the valley and everyone is out so don't be surprised if it happens in the area. This is a great location to Denali and it's totally worth staying here to eat at the Creekside Cafe which is where you check in. SOOOOOOO good and we tried to eat here every chance we got! Try the reindeer soup and the strawberry rhubarb croissant. I know I'm reviewing the cabins but the cafe is really what made this trip special.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Way fun

Posted Aug 22, 2013
McKinley Creekside Cabins was an awesome adventure in itself. The cabin was spacious, clean and comfortable. Staff was over the top kind and helpful. We loved being able to eat at the "on-property" restaurant (and by the way...the food was EXCELLENT) and also seal up the evening with a campfire along the creek. Beautiful setting close to all attractions. Thank you Holly and Tracy
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Clifton from Mississippi

Close to Denali

Posted Aug 21, 2013
Pros: location
Cons: maintenance. We were told that no maintence would be done until winter. No light bulb changes!
Location: Denali is 10 miles away. That is great.
I was enchanted by this place 5 years ago, and looked forward to returning. Supposedly it is bigger now, but it has lost some of its appeal. The interior was not as well kept. Boards were lose. LIght bulbs were out and not replaced even when I requested in writing. Not acceptable. Cleaning was poor. The bed was made, but nothing else was cleaned. Garbage left in the room. I was disappointed.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Nate

Great place to stay!

Posted Aug 15, 2013
Pros: Resonable price, proximity to the park, nice setting.
Location: The cabins are located next to a creek. Denali park is a 15 minute drive away.
It was blind luck that we found this place, but what a place! The cabin was cozy. It included a small refrigerator, coffee maker, plus real coffee (not pre measured packets). The on site restaurant was excellent, as well as the staff. Everyone was very friendly and helpful. The woman working the counter help get reservations to tour Denali Park, and helped us find additional accommodations. We ended our evening around a camp fire set next tithe creek. It was a perfect place to stay and experience Alaska.
3 out of 5
by R&B from FL

good and bad points

Posted Aug 4, 2013
Pros: cute, cozy, great restaurant, comfortable beds, nice gift shop, staff helpful in setting up tours
Cons: improve housekeeping and reception staff, upgrades in electrical systems, add soundproofing against road noise, better shades on windows
Location: park is 13 miles away, so location is not nearly as good as many others, and esoecially for the price. however some of the tours will come get you
first the good: beds were comfortable, cabins are cute and private, many of the staff were very helpful and professional, the onsite restaurant is excellent. now the bad: bathroom was very cramped, poor housekeeping, some staff were not good, only one electrical outlet in the whole room and even it was nowhere near the beds, which created a problem for our medical device. a large liquid spill from previous guest had not been cleaned so the carpet was wet our entire stay. road noise was very loud for sleeping. not convenient to the park.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Linda from Georgia

Clean cabins near Denali Natl Park

Posted Jul 22, 2013
Pros: Convenient to Denali Natl Park. A microwave and refrigerator and coffee maker. Also a small table and chairs. Cafe on property.
Cons: Better lighting over the shower. Small shower stall for a tall person. Bumped knees and elbows. Beds in ours were 2 Dbks so we slept separate.
Location: Touristy shops and restaurants 15 mins fm cabins. Not much in the area except the park.
Small, simple, no frills, reasonably priced cabins nestled in a wooded area beside a pretty creek. Clean and appear well maintained. We had no issues other than mosquitoes and they are everywhere so just plan on battling them coming and going. Located about 13 miles from Denali Natl Park entrance so very convenient for our two nights there. Cafe on property had good food. Staff was very pleasant and helpful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

McKinley Creekside Cabins / Very Nice

Posted Jul 17, 2013
We were very pleased with our room. Everything was clean and comfortable. All of the folks were very friendly and service was great. Would stay there again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

The cabin we stayed is newly renovated.Very clean.

Posted Jul 12, 2013
The room looks pretty new, the view is nice. The creek is very close. Room equipped with Microwave, coffee maker, ... Not far from Denali NP.
2 out of 5
by Lee from Moody,Al

Heat

Posted Jul 11, 2013
Heat in cabin didn't work told staff about it but never got fixed.