Ratings based on 11 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.6 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom shrewsbury

Great hotel!

Posted Jul 8, 2014
Pros: lovely old hotel with lots of character. I checked out all the rooms and they re were all good !
Cons: could have had hairdryers in the rooms !
held a family get together here and I can only praise the staff for being so friendly, helpful and accomodating. Had a good (and reasonable) evening meal and lovely breakfast all served as one large group. Trip to near by Ruthin festival then a look round denbigh castle finished it off nicely. highly recommend !
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 28, 2014 on Hotels.com
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

No hot water and unshuttable bathroom windows

Posted Jan 27, 2014
Pros: It's character
Cons: Hot water! Bathroom windows require fixing.
The room (The Castle) was comfortable and welcoming, however there was no hot water and both bathroom windows were broken and would not shut, which meant I could not take a shower on the folllowing morning.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Maps102from Norwich

Lumpy beds

Posted Sep 15, 2013 on Hotels.com
Poor service, no information given. Not much of a welcome, little interest in me or my needs. Hard bed, tired decor. Musty smell. Poorly cooked breakfast, no offer of toast and marmalade. Good location.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Vickyfrom North Wales

Lovely little hotel

Posted Sep 7, 2013 on Hotels.com
Lovely comfy bed, beautiful views from my window and a great breakfast.
1 out of 5
by Davidfrom Scotland, UK

A bed in a bath?

Posted Jun 29, 2013
Pros: The free wifi, biscuits, tea coffee and bottle of water. But more importantly leaving.
Cons: Everything about the room
Location: Well located in the centre of Denbigh.
This is by far the worst hotel I have ever stayed in, It started by me being asked to pay for my two night stay on arrival even though it was already on my credit card bill I was then shown to my single room with en suite facilities or so it was described, really it was en-suite facilities with a bed. The room had a bath, toilet and bed all as one. The only advantage I could see was you could watch the television while sitting on the loo. Unfortunately you could also see the bedding, which had a lovely brown stain across it. I complained and a member of staff said they would change it. A few minutes later they returned to say they had replaced the sheets. I went up to find no change. The food was OK but it was alarming to peel the menu of the table. Also the car parking leaves a lot to desire taking 20 minutes to extract myself thanks to indiscriminate parking. I don't expect to get an early breakfast 0730 at the earliest and the choice is to the stay limited. In summary is there anything good I can say about the Tavern yes the free wifi, coffee and biscuits in my bathroom (oops sorry my room). But will I return? No
4 out of 5
Recommended
by glynnemfrom S.Wales

Quirky

Posted May 26, 2013 on Hotels.com
A bit daunted on arrival as there were no apparent parking facilities and had to park in a public area down the road, checked in and the receptionist was very helpful informing me of a parking facility just around the corner, a bit of messing about but sorted in the end and I will know for next time and there will be a next time as the rest of the stay was fine, all the rooms have names and I was given 'Quirky' which was sooo different to the chain type hotels but brought a smile to my face once I got used to sleeping a couple of feet from the bath and washing in a sink on the window sill!, lots of character nice and clean though. Great beer nice evening meal and fantastic breakfast. Will use again if I am in the area.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 19, 2012 on Hotels.com
Quirky room very quirky - with bed, bath and loo all open plan .Biggest drawback was no desk to work from - essential when working away .Food good. Not much car parking - I was lucky. Would consider again - but would choose my romm carefully.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Bags of character

Posted Jun 26, 2012 on Hotels.com
When i arrived at this hotel, I was pleasantly suprized, although it was a tad hard to spot and parking spaces were in short supply. The hotel its self was well kept and stylish yet traditional and cozy, I was checked in and unfortunetly the room had not been clean since the last guest, when i raised this issue at reception the lady there upgraded my room, i was more than happy with this, the room was beautiful and the shower head was the size of a dinner plate!! dinner was ok service was good. would stay again without a doubt.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified travelerfrom Beverley

Lovely hotel

Posted Dec 17, 2011 on Hotels.com
Great food, room was called Quirky which just means small, no shower but lovely bath.