Ratings based on 61 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Cheshire

Cosy, comfy pub

Posted Oct 6, 2014
Pros: The friendliness of the owner & the peacefulness.
My husband & I enjoyed a really lovely couple of night's stay at the Hawk & Buckle in Llannefydd, Wales. The owner was very friendly & pleasant & made us feel at home. Our room had everything that we needed for a pleasant stay & the food was good.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Oxfordshire

Lovely quiet retreat with a twist

Posted Sep 16, 2014
Pros: The Siwan and Gareth made you feel welcome , and were extremely helpful. The views and comfy bed were pretty good too.
Cons: Nothing it was as near perfect as you could get.
Location: With guidance from Siwan (the owner) my husband visited a local real ale brewery just a couple of miles away which was not normally open to visitors.
The Hawk and Buckle Inn is in a lovely quiet area ( use your sat nav) but well worth the trip. The welcome is friendly and comfortable , with views over the surrounding countryside. This is a pub and as such does have the normal village pub life, but we liked that aspect as we live in a village. Even when the bar was full we could hear little from our room. The pub served among the normal alternatives Welsh real ale , much to my husband's joy. The area is relaxing, the welcome friendly, with all the wonderful area to visit with all of North Wales on your door step what more could you ask.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by AlisonBfrom Newark

Great trip - lovely countryside

Posted Aug 12, 2014 on Hotels.com
Would definitely recommend this inn. We received a very warm welcome from the owner who took great care to ensure that everything was fine. Room was comfortable and spotlessly clean; lovely view from the window. Food was simple and high qualify - had a really good lamb steak with superb chips! Very nice bar area - comfortable settees etc - lots of character and ambiance. Went for a walk in the hills behind the inn - superb views. All in all we thoroughly enjoyed our time here!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Cambridge

Gorgeous little getaway

Posted Aug 12, 2014
We stayed Saturday night, and arrived just as one of the locals' 50th birthday party was starting. Our room was very well soundproofed and we couldn't hear anything from the bar. We popped to the bar for a nightcap, and were not left alone for a minute - all the locals were so warm and friendly, wonderful atmosphere, lovely to see everyone out celebrating! Siwan was a polite, kind host, room was spacious, spotlessly clean and had a jacuzzi bath which was a nice surprise! The breakfast was served promptly and was absolutely superb! Looking forward to our next visit. Little single track roads to get here, had great fun driving to find this little gem.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by Wildmanfrom South Australia

Overall fantastic hotel

Posted Aug 10, 2014 on Hotels.com
We loved our stay here - a quaint historic pub in a lovely village - it is so quiet here. Nice room and the bathroom even had a spa. Friendly management and full breakfast - full marks!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by stevefrom kent

Posted Jul 17, 2014 on Hotels.com
Peaceful hideaway
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 23, 2014 on Hotels.com
A wonderful place to stay. Can't fault it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Stevefrom Sutton Coldfield

Business Overnight

Posted Jun 19, 2014
Pros: Excellent food and hospitality
My second stay, this is a real home from home hotel, in a lovely little village, but close enough to the main A55.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Quiet rural Inn with views.

Posted Jun 9, 2014
While in North Wales area to attend a wedding we booked two nights in this rural Inn.On arrival we were made welcome by the owner Siwan who was helpful and attentive throughout our stay.Our party of four ate in the dining room in the evening which has breathtaking views down to the coast.We all agreed that the food was of good quality and the choice of dishes varied.The young staff were attentive without being intrusive making our evening a pleasant experience.Breakfast was of a similar high standard and our large luxury room was a pleasant place to be.We hoped that this Inn would provide a quiet peaceful stay and that is exactly what was provided by Siwan and her staff.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by g&s whitefrom scotland

very comfy

Posted Jun 5, 2014 on Hotels.com
very friendly and helpful owners. ist class bedrooms