Ratings based on 69 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Tucson

Charming old B&B in good location

Posted Aug 22, 2014
Pros: The Victorian charm, the staff (Scott), the relaxed atmosphere and the location.
Location: Great location. We walked to the Botanical Gardens, Denver Museum of Nature and Science. Ate at mom and pop type restaurants with great food.
We selected the hotel because of the location, and were very pleased with our choice. The manager/caretaker Scott, who was the jack of all trades at the hotel, was full of great advice about how to enjoy our visit to Denver. He cooked us a wonderful breakfast and really made us feel welcomed. The hotel has been redecorated in Victorian style, lots of pink and roses. Underneath the new decorations, the facility is a bit old and careworn, creaky furniture and such, but that adds to its charm. The bed was very comfortable; our room spacious and the bathroom updated and modern. The downside is some homeless people hang around outside (this is Colfax street in downtown Denver and they are a fact of life) and that can be intimidating, but they were harmless and friendly.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hamburg, NY

Nice hotel.

Posted Jul 28, 2014
Pros: The victorian charm
Cons: The air conditioning in our room was not great.
Location: Went to the local brew pub at Vine and 17th street. It was very nice. we walked to the botanical gardens which were spectacular. Very nice neighbor
Colfax not a great street, but all side streets and areas around hotel were lovely.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Cute B&B

Posted May 22, 2014 on Hotels.com
We enjoyed our nights at this B&B; the "old" charm is definitely there. Don't expect perfection as the wallpaper is peeling and the amenities are dated. Nice location to downtown (walking), but know that you are in an "eclectic area" with noisy neighbors and colorful locals perusing the streets. Overall, we knew what we were coming into and enjoyed our time there!
1 out of 5
by Larry from California

Terrible Location

Posted May 20, 2014
This hotel faces a very busy and noisy street where traffic noises make any sort of quiet slumber impossible. Besides that the section of Cofax that it is on is home to derelicts and drunks that add further to the noise and make the place seem unsafe. One of the worst experiences I have had in many years of business travel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Al from California

Cool neighborhood, old charm.

Posted Mar 31, 2014
This is the type of place enjoyed by artsy people, laid back or budget travelers, hippies, and people who like history in the walls around them. If you are looking for something like this, then you'll like being here. It has old bathrooms, creaky floors, and Victorian "garden style" décor. That's fun to me, but it may not be for everyone. Also, Colfax has a lot of history and is filled with all kinds of people, culture, and vibes. However, again it may not be for everyone because this includes a homeless population, clubs and punk show theatres, record shops, etc. It's fun, not fancy.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Lisa from highlands Ranch, CO

Quick access to downtown.

Posted Mar 15, 2014
Pros: Loved the facility! They have so much old stuff there that match the period of the home. Wish we had jad more time to look around more!
Location: Kind of noisy, of course you can't move it off colfax! Perhaps some weather stripping around the doors would help, and new windows! Need cable.
Charming b&B! The staff was wonderful and attentive, especially Miss Charlie the golden doodle!
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Elizabeth from Chapel Hill, NC

get out of downtown

Posted Feb 16, 2014 on Hotels.com
Charming property in a transitional neighborhood. Room included a bedroom, bathroom and kitchen. Would be ideal for a lengthy stay. Staff friendly and helpful. Property is on the bus-line from downtown. Several blocks away from restaurants and shops.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by David from N.C.

lovely old Victorian B & B

Posted Feb 13, 2014
Pros: Location, décor, food, socializing with other guests at breakfast. Relaxing, homey atmosphere. Efforts to be "green".
Cons: Daily room cleaning. Heat control within each room. More efforts to be "green".
Location: It is located on a busy, noisy city street with lots of interesting shops and restaurants. It backs up to a lovely, quiet residential area and park.
We stayed here because of its location and its quirky, colorful character. It has good-sized rooms, eclectic antiques, and the feel of history throughout. Staff were responsive and friendly. Breakfast was made to order. Cookies were available upon arrival.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by A verified traveler

Like staying with Family

Posted Jan 23, 2014 on Hotels.com
We had the friendliest service, the staff treated us like family. The neighborhood was not what we pictured after reviewing the pictures on the internet. All in all well worth it!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

The Chalet was a "Holiday Chalet"

Posted Nov 27, 2013
My wife and I stayed here after the Michael Buble concert in November. The room turned out to be more of an efficiency studio! The bedroom, bath , and kitchen (YES - I said kitchen) were each in separate rooms, with hardwood and tile floors. The B&B is on Colfax, which while it may have some negative connotations, we found to be safe, and close to the local scene. We even ate a late snack at Pete's just a few blocks down, good gyros. The B&B was delightful, the owner was very friendly, and had a great story of the history of the B&B, too. The breakfast was served by Mark, who has a secret recipe for "Cowboy Pancakes." It was just one, but this apple and cinnamon cake, made in a pan, would have been plenty for the both of us. This pancake was about 2 inches thick, and 6-8 inches wide, covered with whipped cream. Hat's off to Mark! The rest of the breakfast spread was more than you could ask for - coffee, orange and pomegranate juice, milk, fruit, cookies, and on and on! The nice clean place to stay near downtown, 15 minutes from Pepsi Center, 5 from the 16th St Mall and Lodo, and just down from the Filmore and other venues, plus the value of Mark's breakfast can't be beat by the big hotel chains. This is no continental breakfast my friend. We highly recommend this B&B for a great change to the same old Hilton or Ramada rooms you have grown a custom to.