Ratings based on 917 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Washington

Pretty Nice

Posted Aug 19, 2014
Pros: It was clean and nice for the cost.
Cons: Better bedding and better organization at the front desk.
Location: We spent most of our time in down town Denver. There was a grocery store a short drive away along with some other miscellaneous businesses.
The renovations seemed to be nearly completed when I was there. New Carpet, tile and wall finishes. They could due with some new bedding. One of my sheets had some small holes and the fitted sheet had a blanket under it without a mattress pad and the elastic was worn-out, so it tried to fall off a couple times. There were a few minor areas where wall finishes had not been installed, but it did not disrupt my stay. The staff was generally nice, but somewhat disorganized. I was all excited to get an upgrade due to lack of availability when I called in ahead of time, but then they put me back in my original reservation when I arrived for check in. The name of their Café seems to have changed. It was good food, and very friendly service but expensive and slow (especially since we were the only ones there for lunch). No refrigerator, microwave. The Hotel was generally comfortable and I didn't need it, but there was an AC unit in the room.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from s

No breakfast and no coffee, strange smell

Posted Aug 16, 2014
Besides inconvenient doors and parking, no coffee and no breakfas, the staff could have been friendlier. They didn't smile or greet you warmly nor did they warn you the bathroom smells like cats. To make matters worse, the hotel is in an odd location, nothing is close by.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 27, 2014 by Heath, Hotel Management
The experience you had with our team is extremely disappointing. We review every guest comment and address each of them with our staff and team leads. Our goal is to provide a comfortable stay to every guest and clearly we failed to do that during your stay. Please be assured that the issues you experienced with your bathroom conditions and staff friendliness will be looked into and addressed accordingly.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Keene NH

This hotel was ok. The lobby area looked shabby

Posted Aug 13, 2014
Pros: The Staff was very friendly.
Cons: Relace duct taped couches in lobby, fix wires around lobby eleveator so it looks safer, replace worn out carpets in hallways.
Location: Park close by but stores were about 1/2 mile away. We did not have a car with us. Light rail was close.
Red Lion was fine but they really need to work on the appearance of their lobby area.. Staff was friendly.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

construction

Posted Aug 4, 2014
Pros: The location for the Tri for the Cure is awesome. I would recommend it to all participants. The Sleep Number beds are so comfortable.
Cons: I hope the renovations are completed. The carpet is ragged and the woodwork needs attention.
Location: Cherry Creek State Park is right across the street - a convenient drive.
We stayed here last year and the hotel was under construction. It is still under construction and I don't see much progress. The ice machine was broken last year and this year. Makes me wonder if it has broken the entire year. The front desk staff was very friendly. The same clerk checked us in and out. She really represents this company well.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ca.

fine stay

Posted Aug 4, 2014
Pros: Restaurant staff and food were terrific. Our server, Roxanna was wonderful, friendly and courteous. William Jantzen was the best! So professional!
Cons: The Red Lion really needs new carpeting in the hallways. Very old and worn. The pool was freezing cold. ( In the summer)
The Red Lion and the Radisson are attached to each other. The Red Lion side could use some updating. Our dealings were with the Radisson staff. My review is based on that.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel. Very close to the Passport Agency!!!

Posted Jul 30, 2014
The hotel staff was very nice and helpful. Everything was great except that we didn't have a microwave or refrigerator in our room to put food in after we came back from going out to eat. We just put it on ice.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 27, 2014
Location: The light rail is just across the street which provides access to downtown Denver. Store within walking distance.
Nice hotel some remodeling in the halls but did not cause to much noise.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from LA

There were lots of problems

Posted Jul 24, 2014
Pros: Location was pretty good. Close to major roads so you can get anywhere in Denver/Aurora pretty quickly. Parking was free. Bed was comfortable.
Cons: Oh, gosh. See the first paragraph about my experience.
Check in took entirely too long; that should have been my first clue. The elevators looked new, so new in fact, the walls surrounding them were gone, literally. Clue #2. The only ice machine that worked was on the 12th floor, I was on the 5th. It took a while to finally discover it. Room service. They don't have menus. They insist you download an app to your phone, and find the menus, then place your order. Of course, when I did that the app replied that because I was at Red Lion rather than Radisson I could not place an order through the app. Okay. Then the pillows. They were so fluffy that when you put your head on them, you sink flat to the bed. We requested additional firmer pillows. Service was prompt, but the pillows were still horrible. Something very weird, the water in the toilet was HOT. Really. It was hot water flushing the toilet. So when you sit down, you get a hot tush really quickly. I thought that was weird. (And expensive) However, the bed was very comfortable. And really, that is what matters most. I think they will fix all these bad things eventually, but it sure made for a miserable 4 days. I probably won't stay here again, unless all the other choices near where we need to be are booked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 27, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jo from CA

convenient

Posted May 27, 2014
Pros: I have family that live in Aurora but don't wish to intrude so this hotel is near everyone.
Cons: Hallway could be cooler, too hot and stuffy.
This was my second stay at the Lion Hotel. I have family in Aurora and this hotel is centrally located to all members. There is easy access to the interstate and near stores and restaurants if you don't want to avail yourself of the hotel facilities. Once renovations are completed it should be great.