Ratings based on 16 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Causeway House Experience

Posted Apr 24, 2014
Pros: The owners are a lovely couple who make you feel very welcome.
Cons: The only down side is you can't access your room until 4 pm, but don't let that put you off!
Excellent guest house in a great location, rooms first class, breakfast top notch.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by MaryMontanez from Texas

Great stay

Posted Mar 5, 2014
The hotel owners were very pleasant...made for quite an enjoyable stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 3, 2013 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Travellers from Canada

YES! Definitely stay here again!

Posted Oct 11, 2013 on Hotels.com
Very comfortable room with en-suite. Decor was Very good and furnishings comfortable and more then adequate. Close to town, if not in the town, and minutes from shops, pubs and restaurants. Room was clean. Breakfast was one of the best I have had in a B&B with so many options.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by NSolney from Derby

Welcoming B&B in Dark Peak

Posted Jul 8, 2013 on Hotels.com
Lovely building and room, welcoming and friendly hosts. Would def stay here again however one minor point is you are next to a infant school and if its not school holidays, the kids were a little noisey at 8am. Otherewise a fantastic stay
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 24, 2013 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by A verified traveler from oldham

Fantastic hospitality!!

Posted Jun 14, 2013 on Hotels.com
Had a brilliant 3 days being looked after by Janet & Nick. I have no negative criticism at all & am looking forward to staying there again in a fortnight's time!!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Other
by Veronica from UK

Not sure if they're interested in single people...

Posted Jun 3, 2013
Pros: Well thought out accessories in the room. Excellent breakfast. The chef deserves an award for the care he gives to preparing each dish.
Cons: I did not feel as though the owners were going out of their way to put me at my ease.
Location: Castleton is a wonderful base for interesting walks. Enjoy the caves and the castle and include Chatsworth in your visit; it's not too far to drive.
You had described my room as being a "Twin Room - Two Single Beds..." but I was put in what was definitely just a single room with a bed that was only just big enough for me. There was definitely a sense of a danger of falling out, and anybody taller or wider than me would have had real problems. I did not confront the owner with this as she was rather intimidating, and it is really something you need to sort with your hotels generally, as I've come across this sort of discrepancy with hotel bookings made through Expedia before. I don't think there was any difference in price between the Twin Room and the Single Room I ended up in, but it basically was not as you described. House rules need to be established when there are "shared facilities". The first night was fine. The second, somebody else selfishly decided to take a bath within a half hour of the scheduled breakfast time which blocked all toilet facilities for other users at that crucial time in the morning. We weren't informed of any other possible facilities to use, which actually created a mild sense of panic! The cooked breakfast was excellent. I could have done with more general quiet then, whereas the hostess was intent on us each sitting exactly where it was more convenient for her to set the stage and act the raconteur. A bit more sensitivity required. The general layout in the accommodation is good, eg the hairdryer; ironing board; useful information sheets were all easy to find.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Ian from Bucks

Great little B&B - Fantastic Breakfast

Posted May 20, 2013 on Hotels.com
I stayed at this B&B in May 2013 with my wife and 5 month old daughter. The owners couldn't have been nicer or more helpful. We had the garden room which has direct access via the front of the property, which is very handy when you have a buggy. The breakfasts were better than I've had in some 4* hotels with nice thick bacon, proper fresh coffee and eggs cook however you prefer. Locationwise it's located in the middle of Castleton which is a lovely little village surrounded by the peaks of the national park and is not short of a pub or two all of which have extensive menus and a wide range of beers. In summary, Great B&B, Great location, we will be back.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

great for a quick walking break

Posted May 1, 2013
Pros: very delicious breakfast
Cons: noise
Location: absolutely beautiful, despite being on the road.
very small twin room indeed. no sound insulation between rooms or floors, so woken up by and could hear every word in the breakfast room !