Ratings based on 44 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Cheltenham

Quality hotel with excellent food

Posted Jan 7, 2015
Pros: Comfortable room and excellent innovative menu plus attentive service.
Cons: There is some road noise only noticeable in the restaurant that might be more suppressed and a 'real' log fire would add a final touch.
Location: Located in the Derbyshire Peak District convenient for Chatsworth House and the Hope Valley.
The occasion was a sad family visit in the locality however the kindness of the Maitre'd and staff made this a memorable stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by robert

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 14, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Brisbane Australia

Peak District perfect

Posted Dec 13, 2014
Last minute change of plans delivered us to this gem of a hotel. Everything about it was top class, staff, room, public areas and the breakfast were all first class. A lovely area to visit with a number of historic properties nearby to be explored. If you like to go for walks you would also have plenty of options. All in all a lovely unexpected experience.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom London

Great little hotel

Posted Oct 23, 2014
Pros: Liked the modern bathroom and excellent breakfast.
Cons: Instead of a proper king bed it was two twins moved together and whilst the bedding was very nice, the mattresses could have used an upgrade.
Location: We chose this location for its proximity to walking and it did not disappoint. Walked directly from the hotel on a 9 mile circuit was amazing.
Had a great time at The George. Remarkably good breakfast included with room rate: full cooked breakfast menu with access to a buffet of cereals and fresh pastries provided. We were in a Superior Room which had a fantastic bathroom for a hotel of this standard. Room was large and it was very clean. Staff were friendly and helpful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Fantastic sereice

Posted Oct 8, 2014 on Hotels.com
I did find the cost of the room a little steep at £159/night but the rooms were comfy and clean and its in a great location. I also found the staff particularly friendly and helpful - even the owner of the hotel made a special effort to seek us out and make sure we were happy with our stay. The food for the evening meal was great and enjoyed a hearty breakfast.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by A verified traveler

Expensive but good

Posted Oct 7, 2014 on Hotels.com
Nice hotel in a lovely area, maybe a little expensive.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Margiefrom Scottish Borders

Wonderful stay!

Posted Oct 4, 2014 on Hotels.com
We stayed here on a short walking holiday and the location was perfect for setting out to hike up to Stanage Edge. We felt welcomed from the first moment we walked into the hotel and pampered in the comfortable and tasteful surroundings and by the attentive staff. Our rooms were clean, spacious, and well decorated. The bar/lounge was relaxing by the fire and the food in the dining room was excellent. Would definitely look forward to returning!
5 out of 5
Recommended
by chris D.from Northampton

Fantastic Friendly Service

Posted Sep 30, 2014 on Hotels.com
Excellent, staff could not do enough for you, very friendly.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom london

Perfect boutique hotel

Posted Sep 2, 2014
We stayed at the George for a friends wedding taking place nearby. Absolutely beautiful, quiet, spotless rooms with lots of space. Breakfast was superb with a huge selection from pancakes to full English. Whole hotel beautifully and sympathetically decorated. Better than most 4 star hotels we have stayed in. Highly recommend!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Nice place

Posted Aug 1, 2014 on Hotels.com
I had a cute single room #5 that overlooked the front street. It was warm that day but had a little window to open for fresh breeze. Shame the restaurant was booked for dinner (book ahead!) when I arrived because the breakfast the next day was absolutely lovely.