Ratings based on 134 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice rooms, avoid restaurant

Posted Aug 12, 2014
Pros: Room was generally good, some staff very good.
Cons: Restaurant sucked. Windows only opened a tiny amount so not much ventilation. Matress was really thin but not too bad.
Location: 50m from train. Not really walk to town. Few pubs nearby, average. Engine shed over road might be ok, trainee chefs, booking mandatory, we didnt
Room was clean and reasonably fresh (fittings a little dated but good condition). Evening staff and housekeeping were excellent - helpful and polite. Morning staff sadly let the side down, rude, disinterested and unhelpful. Restaurant and food disappointing, don't bother - think slightly weak chain pub with less lighting and not in a good way. Overall, I would definitely stay again just plan in advance to eat elsewhere.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by hotel_reviewer from East Anglia

Very, very average.

Posted Jul 15, 2014 on Hotels.com
Hotel is a re-incarnation of the old Midland Railway hotel. It has not improved with age. Room was too hot with no way of opening the windows beyond a few inches. Shower was not very good. Room phone the zero button did not work so no way to contact reception by phone.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Mo+Stephen from Doncaster

Nice hotel

Posted Jul 13, 2014 on Hotels.com
Stayed here before, like it very much for quality hotel and great location
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by A verified traveler

creaky floor

Posted Jul 10, 2014 on Hotels.com
Lovely hotel, didn't get to see much as arrived late and left early. Room was stylish but spoilt by very creaky floor. Very nice breakfast.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by JT

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 10, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Very nice hotel

Posted Jul 7, 2014 on Hotels.com
Great hotel, well located near train station with plenty of parking. Very clean and nice rooms. No air con in room (was fan) but would fully recommend
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Sheffstar from Sheff

Great Place to Stay Derby

Posted Jul 2, 2014 on Hotels.com
Great Hotel, Very Near to Station easy to get around from, friendly staff
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by JacobYoung from Ayr

A very dated hotel. Disappointed.

Posted Jun 10, 2014 on Hotels.com
We recently had a single night stay along with our friends (3 rooms in total.) After negotiating the very tight spaces in the carpark we entered the hotel and the reception was well decorated and as expected for the price. The receptionist was polite and helpful. We had booked an executive room however this is certainly not the description I would have given it. The decor was very dated, it was dimly lit and our bedspread had a large unprofessional patch sewn in the middle fixing a hole. The walls were flaking paint and the furniture was tired and worn. In the bathroom we only had one towel to share. The shower itself made a noise as if it was about to eat us every time we used it. We left the room intending on eating in the restaurant however the bar staff were very unhelpful and impolite, this led us to eat out instead. The other rooms were of a similar decor and condition and the twin room we booked was sporting a double bed. The biggest problem we encountered with the hotel was the heat in all three bedrooms, the temperature was making sleeping difficult as each room was a lot hotter inside than out. We did have a small tatty desk fan however there were no accessible plug points anywhere near the bed rendering the fan almost useless. It seemed as if the heat was coming from the floor below. If you are looking for a quick overnight stop next to the train station on a budget and do not mind the decor, noisy shower, single towel and extreme heat then this may well be the hotel for you. Otherwise stay in a premier inn or travel lodge.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by BRontour from London

Lovely hotel, excellent rooms, pleasant service

Posted May 20, 2014 on Hotels.com
Extremely good value for money. Our room was spacious and nicely furnished. The bed was enormous! Everywhere was very clean and appointed to a decent standard. Right next to the train station so very convenient and not at all noisy. Highly recommended.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Posted May 12, 2014 on Hotels.com
Good central location. Nice rooms. Comfy bed.