Ratings based on 19 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.2 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
3.3 Room cleanliness
3.4 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by Hev from UK

Disappointing

Posted Jan 2, 2013
Pros: Location
Cons: Service
Location: Lovely location in a remote place but still accessible to local ammenities
everything seemed great on check in however when we got to our room there was no hot or cold water (which was not great as I needed to have a shower, get ready for a party!) When I an down to reception I was told the water to the whole hotel was cut off. I would expect to have been told this on check in and at least offered drinking water.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Phill

Posted Oct 24, 2012 on Hotels.com
I was taking the girlfriend away for our first getaway after the birth of our baby so wanted to treat her to a spa weekend for her to relax. Driving up to the hotel it looked perfect, a real country retreat with great views over the moorland but that was as good as it got. Our room wasn't quote ready which was our fault for turning up early so we settled in the bar for something to eat and a drink - The 'Moordie burger' was my choice but wasnt the greatest and certainly was homemade - probabl;y more a 'Birdseye' burger. We also went for a quick look at the pool and spa. The pool is more something you would see at a local leisure centre but not as clean or big, the jacuzzi wasn't open and the spa was more like two tiny rooms. With the girlfriend almost in tears + stating her bikini definately would be staying in her case for the full stay we went to check in. The room was small and not cleaned to the highest standard bnut we settled down. We then went for a shower in the very old looking bathroom suite, turned it on and it was cold so went to turn the temperature nozzle round and it came off in my hand - down to reception to be moved to a smaller room. which had marks all over the walls and a hole in the bathroom door where someone had obviously kicked it in frustration (maybe at the state of the room). The hotel is in perfect location for the peak district and all it has to offer but we spent as long away from the hotel as possible + i wouldn't recommend the hotel to anyone.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Hotel in the middle of the countryside.

Posted Oct 9, 2012
Pros: Spa / Pool / Breakfast
Cons: Only seemed to be one lift so sometimes had to wait a little bit.
Location: For those wanting to visit Lyme Park it is a brilliant location with a good walk to the part (40 mins to hour).
Wonderful location and a very extensive and good breakfast. The pool and spa area were great too, in fact the spa was completely empty so had the whole place to myself :o) Staff were friendly and although there was a wedding on the next day the hotel big enough not to notice. This is a less modern hotel and some of the walls a little thin so some noise but if you are bothered by this then ear plugs will do the trick! It did not bother me and my friend and I had a lovely stay.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 7, 2012 on Hotels.com
The hotel was in an excellent location but after that it went down hill. The food was adequate the rooms where poor in every way cleanliness condition and comfort.
2 out of 5
by Chaz from Manchester

Dissapointing

Posted Sep 23, 2012
Pros: Lovely surroundings and function room.
Cons: Not very clean in need of a re vamp.
Location: Lovely views, surrounded by the hills.
I visited this hotel as I was attending a wedding reception here. The function room was lovely and the hotel is in beautiful surroundings. Great view from my bedroom although unfortunately that's as far as the good points go. My bedroom and bathroom were disappointing. Definitely in need of re decorating and the cleaning left a lot to be desired. Dirt on carpet, hairs and bits in the bath and mold around the dated tiles. Hairdryer didn't work, toilet was hard to flush as crammed against a corner box so I couldn't get my hand around the flusher properly. The extractor fan wad also very noisy. There was also a hole in my bed sheet the size of a 20 pence piece which in my opinion could not have been missed by the person making the bed! There was a lovely view but it was spoilt by the smell of drains when zI opened the window. No air con or bottled water in the room. I asked for my pre paid continental breakfast to be brought to my room and they got the cereal order wrong. This could be a lovely hotel with a re-vamp and staff that pay attention to detail. Until then, I wouldn't recommend it. When I pointed out the issues on check out I wasn't offered any kind of compensation whatsoever.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Anne from Cambridgeshire

Lovely venue for a wedding reception!

Posted Sep 12, 2012
Pros: The moorside is in a lovely position, and the wedding reception we went to was wonderful! Rooms and beds are comfortable. Clean and tidy !
Cons: Lack of bar staff at various times creating queues of residents waiting around! Some furnishings in the rooms a bit tired and worn
Location: Great location ! Quiet with lovely views!
Hotel staff were good but there was hardly anyone manning the bar and the reception staff had to be asked to serve ( by the residents) when there was a queue!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Stay somewhere else.

Posted Sep 2, 2012
Pros: Pretty location in the hills near Stockport.
Cons: The room and the staff.
Location: The hotel is in a country location surrounded by rolling hills.
Our room was poorly maintained and must have been on top of the sauna. It was at least 95 degrees in the room on a very cool evening. The hotel was full, and we were not able to be moved. The staff's solution was a fan. The windows didn't open as we were on the ground floor. There was a hotel club next to the room that was very loud. The staff was average at best. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone.
2 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 30, 2012 on Hotels.com
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by John from London, UK

on the moors

Posted Aug 28, 2012
Pros: pool
Cons: small room
Location: on the moors
considerate receptionist located us suitable distance from wedding discos. nice warm (29C) 18 metre pool
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 13, 2012 on Hotels.com