Ratings based on 133 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.9 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.9 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom mcg

A great break

Posted May 14, 2015
Nicely out of the way but close enough to lots. Set in an amazing town with brilliant wake A1
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Louisiana

Fantastic in every way!

Posted May 7, 2015
Pros: Everything
Cons: NADA
Rose and the staff were the best!!! Nothing was left undone, They made the stay a wonderful experience In every way!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Cosy, and a good nights sleep.

Posted May 7, 2015
Location: Situated on the western edge of the Peak district it offers scope for touring and walking Edale, LadyBower reservoir, and Hope valley area.
Nice reception given, and shown to room close to entrance to linked pub. Twin bed room was superbly presented without being ostentatious. Clearly not long since being refurbed. Had an excellent nights sleep. Warm and comfortable, well recommended. The food and beer in the pub was good too, with a reasonable choice on offer. Yep, go for it. A good spot for touring and walking Edale.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great find in the country

Posted Apr 21, 2015
We found this through Expedia as we were looking for a stop over in the Peak District. The good reviews were attractive and we were not dissapointed. Very pleasant and attentive staff, lovely modernised room which was spotless and included nice touches like a well stocked fruit bowl and a great selection of teas ond coffee. There is a lovely outdoor terrace at the rear which was lovely in the good weather we had. The evening meal was very good value and very tasty but it is a pub type menu. Also a great range of local ales in the bar. The breakfast was very good All in an excellent experience and fantastic value for £90 B&B
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom bournemouth

Nothing could have been improved

Posted Apr 19, 2015
Pros: Staff were excellent. Room spotless, large and comfortable. Restaurant and bar first class Lots of parking Viws
Cons: Nothing was obvious
Location: We went to Lyme park which has now become one of our favourite NT places
One of the best places we have stayed in especially in the UK. Great staff, very welcoming. Room, spacious and recently refurbished with a large en suite. Very well equipped with fruit bowl etc. Nothing too much trouble. Whole place had a first class ambience, restaurant very busy as the food so good. as was the beer. Wine and food sensibly priced with great choice. Views over the countryside.. Only problem was we were only there one night!!! Will definately return If
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom London, UK

Don't waste money on a "premier-lodge"

Posted Apr 19, 2015
Pros: Everything
Cons: Nothing at al
Location: Ideal for Peak District sight seeing
Why would you spend the same amount of money to stay in a well known roadside "Motel" chain and have breakfast in a "little Cook" when you can stay here. Fresh fruit in the room, tissues by the bedside, lovely setting, newly decorated at April 2015 shown to our room rather than given directions and left to our own devices and a decent breakfast all for the same price. The menu in the restaurant is wide ranging and plentiful and the ales on offer in the bar will keep you going for an evening. We only stayed for one night on our way further north for a wedding but if you need a base for peak district sight seeing or just a weekend away you won't go far wrong.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Colchester, Essex

Great location, lovely people, excellent standards

Posted Apr 14, 2015
We stayed for 3 nights and can only say everything was excellent. The location and view from the hotel was lovely, the staff helpful, and the hotel and bedrooms are an excellent standard. It is right by the road so be prepared for horses clip-clipping by in the morning. The restaurant catered for gluten free diet very well.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom West Midlands

Really nice hotel in the Country

Posted Mar 9, 2015
Pros: The staff were excellent food good.
Cons: Perhaps a small fridge in the room to keep water cool and the milk rather than a small flask.
Location: Just on the edge of New Mills in the Peak District view through the window was just fields with horses an sheep
Staff excellent, food lovely room really comfortable with everything you need couldn't wish for a better break.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Really nice people

Posted Feb 25, 2015 on Hotels
They were fantastically helpful and very friendly.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Cannock

5****** and Big Thank you !

Posted Feb 16, 2015
Pros: everything!
Location: This wonderful place located on the top of the village, it took us 30 minute easy walk from the train station.
Fantastic place, location, staff and even better as they recently re-decorated. I mean new deluxe windows, freshly done up bathroom, everything brand new and super clean! It was so clean that I didn't want to ruin it by staying there. LOL ;-) Its like a beautifully packaged present where the wrapping paper is so pretty you don't want to open it. The food is equally fantastic and home-made. They give you lovely soaps, baths/shower gel, lotion, shampoo, towels. cotton buds, hangers for your clothes. They serve fresh milk , hot chocy, coffee, Buxton water, bowl of fruit, These are all waiting for you in the room. Its is the perfect location for anyone anytime to stay. They ask around £90/ night per room but they could ask more. Last time I stayed in such a brilliant place I paid over £250. Staff were polite, kind and lovely people who work very hard. Food and real Ale is fantastic. Dinner was great and very fresh. We ate so much such lovely breakfast that we were not hungry all day. I'm a great cook and I could tell that it is all home-made! No tin openers here! If you would require anything above all this, please just ask them and they will serve you straight away! If I would have knows about this place I would have had my wedding here!