Ratings based on 10 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 13, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by pink from birmingham

geat service

Posted May 10, 2014 on Hotels.com
great went to a wedding at the hotel it was wonderful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Richard from Kent

Convenient for Sheffield

Posted Mar 16, 2014
Pros: The hotel was easy to find and in a good location. The room was comfortable and the staff were very welcoming and helpful. The food was good.
Cons: We were unable to open the windows and there was no bottled water in the room. The spa closes at 6pm so didn't get to use it due to time constraints
Location: Handy for Sheffield
We were travelling to Sheffield for a football match and wanted a comfortable overnight stay. This hotel met the criteria. We enjoyed our evening meal and buffet breakfast. The walk around the grounds was relaxing. The only thing that spoilt the weekend was the football.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Leicestershire Couple from Leicester

Staff need customer service training + bring own

Posted Dec 16, 2013 on Hotels.com
First impressions , very nice old hall, deflated only when meeting the receptionist , asked if I can book a table for dinner and was greeted with, "well you'll have to go in .... room because weve got a wedding on" fair enough, "now heres your map to your room" room wasnt int the nice building but an out building about 150 yds down the drive so before we lugged the bags we went to the bar, we ordered some drinks and as we had just spent ages in the car we asked for some crisps and was greeted with a "we dont serve crisps in the bar" after some comments the guy said he would go to the kitchen and see if there were any snacks he came back with a bowl with enough crsips in for 2 mouth full we were in stitches, as it was a romantic night away from the kids I had a box of chocolates so we sat there and ate them half expecting the staff to tell us off for bringing our own food! We heard one of the staff talking to the bar man about dinner and heard her saying well they better not expect too much were busy tonight so we thought we'd save them extra stress of having to serve us dinner and cancelled the table and got a taxi into Chesterfield and had a great meal out in a japanese restuarant. Hotel has a lot of character, Room was great, breakfast the next day was great - the staff make a place and they sadly left us with a very bad impression, the attitude was dreadful and they clearly are "doing a job" and not "providing a service" and we wouldnt dream of going back.....
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by gojoe from North East

Value for money

Posted Oct 12, 2013 on Hotels.com
Hotel does show its age in certain areas but overall is decent value for money
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by whizzbangknits from Hampshire

Almost perfect

Posted Sep 2, 2013 on Hotels.com
Receptionist good, rooms a good size and well presented. Beds are a bit hard, but i'm quite light, i'm sure a good sized man would have no problem. If I was being really fussy, then i'd like to sheets to have a higher threadcount. The shower was pathetic, though it looked nice. Freeview reception died halfway through the evening. I ordered room service, which turned up uncovered, with my drink swimming around in the bottom of the tray. I ordered the Salmon, which was the special. It wasn't that special, and definitely overpriced considering it was a piece of salmon on a bed of lettuce, peppers and spring onions. Only other gripe is that maids should knock before they attempt to enter your room.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Spanners

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 18, 2013 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

wow

Posted Jul 26, 2013
Pros: old listed building
Cons: none
could not fault nice people gorgous hotel food excellent good value
3 out of 5
Recommended
by k599rag

An Enjoyable stay

Posted Jun 26, 2012 on Hotels.com
This is a nice hotel for weddings, but I wouldn't say its much more than that. It's a lovely location for photos but the hotel needs some work in terms of the food that they served and the quality of some of the serving & bar staff. This is suprising as the manager of the wedding day was 1st class and had all his staff shown the same level of professionalism I think I would have rated it as a 4* overall. Unfortunately these days wedding packages are very similar and Ringwood is just one of many hotels that do the same format in terms of packages. It's all very nice, but I would have expected better in terms of quality in the catering for the day. The food wasn't great and needs some work. One member of staff was quite rude and clearly wasn't looking to put the customer first. The others were OK, but hardly went that extra mile, which was a shame as they could improve the outlook for guests by looking like they are interested in them and taking some time to listen rather than gossiping in the corridors whilst customers wait. All in all the hotel was average. Not great, but not bad. If you had your wedding here you will have a good day as you probably won't notice the faults and the managers professionalism will gloss over the issues.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Denri from Staffordshire

First experience.

Posted May 2, 2012
Pros: Breakfast
Cons: Location of room not on main site
Location: Quiet
Having never stayed in a Hotel before, I was a bit apprehensive as not quite sure what to expect. However, the standard of both room and staff was very high and the breakfast enjoyed in the morning was very good and lots of choice. Would definitely return some day.