Ratings based on 53 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.5 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Shrigley Hall Hotel - Golf & Country Club

Posted Aug 27, 2014
Pros: Location & grounds were beautiful. Staff were friendly & helpful.
Cons: Room decor feels tired & in need of some tlc
Location: Set between the Cheshire Plain and the Peak District Shrigley Hall is in an ideal location for exploring both.
Stayed one night following a friends wedding. Hotel felt tired & dated. Beautiful location and grounds but lacked the grandeur expected.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Golf and spa hotel in great setting

Posted Aug 6, 2014
Very friendly staff, who immediately changed our room when we complained about the roaring vent right outside our window. Excellent food in the main restaurant, less impressive at lunchtime in the brasserie. Good spa/gym facilities. Decor is a bit tired and worn round the edges - the place could do with a revamp.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Somerset

Hotel was well appointed with excellent location.

Posted Jul 10, 2014
Pros: Comfortable and welcoming with superb location. Leisure facilities which were accessible and well staffed. Excellent food and staff.
Cons: Perhaps the rooms need updating, together with the bathroom facilities. Some of the decoration was looking a little jaded.
Location: Location was excellent with delightful views. Very close to the Peak District and lots of activities advertised, i.e. Blue John Cavern.
We were extremely pleased with the hotel, and made full use of the leisure facilities, including the steam room, sauna, Jacuzzi, swimming pool, which were all well maintained and clean. The Receptionist endeavoured to upgrade our room upon discovering that we were on honeymoon having married on the previous Saturday. Sadly the hotel was fully booked and she was unable to carry out the upgrade. The food was superb based on the set menu as part of the deal and waiting staff very efficient and helpful. We would not hesitate in recommending the hotel and would really love to stay there again, perhaps as an anniversary treat! Location was good in relation to the various popular Peak District towns, and Peak District activities.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Country manor and club

Posted Jun 7, 2014
Visually very pleasing , Hotel , Spa church and golf course looks very good . Would say that service is more in the 3 star region . Spa showers were cold and the bed was not compfy . The food in the restaurant was very nice but the service was a little slow . I would recommend the hotel as the overall experience was good
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by bennison

lovely hotel

Posted May 29, 2014 on Hotels.com
very nice hotel staff very friendly . the rooms were very nice and the breakfast very good
3 out of 5
Recommended
by Jo from Waddington

Great location, shabby hotel

Posted May 27, 2014 on Hotels.com
The first thing I will say is that the staff at the hotel were very friendly and helpful. Unfortunately the hotel itself lets them down. Our room was not ready on arrival, the pool was closed, there was a skip outside our bedroom window, the room itself was clean but small, drinks in the bar are expensive (nearly £10 for a G&T and pint of Tetley's), breakfast was not replenished at the speed it was being taken and the majority of the decor could do with updating. We used a free night for this trip but I would not have been happy if I had paid the full amount..
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by jazzys from s yorks

An enjoy stay but...

Posted May 19, 2014
Charming hotel with good facilities. All staff pleasant and courteous. Allocated room okay but nothing special. A bit worn and in need of upgrade. Wedding party also at hotel, really annoying noise /shouting in early hours with no respect for others. Restaurant was really worth the wait. A 3 course delight! Overall a wonderful weekend break, save the selfish other guests.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by James from London

Wedding Party

Posted May 9, 2014 on Hotels.com
Great stay. Wedding very well organised and I loved the location. Nothing bad to say about the place at all. I highly recommended it. I only wish I had the time to get a round of golf in!
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 4, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 31, 2013
fantastic location and great quality food. Facilities were good, we were the only ones in the luxury pool and Jacuzzi on Christmas day. Just a short drive to the peak district and Manchester. Lovely walks (up to 3 miles) around the golf course and woods. Very relaxing and peaceful stay. Highly recommend it to couples of all ages.