Ratings based on 47 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by clairefrom Birmingham

Just lovely

Posted Dec 22, 2014 on Hotels.com
Lovely warm welcome for us and our 2 year old - fantastic breakfast and dinner in the pub
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom London, UK

Wonderful place to break our journey!

Posted Dec 13, 2014
Pros: Everything! The room was lovely, comfortable and warm, the staff, the food and the beer were all terrific.
Cons: Window in the room didn't open.
Location: Only passing through so can't really comment on this!
Brief stop en-route to much further north. Booked in advance, just for B&B... when we arrived, late, tired and cold after driving for 5 hours, they'd reserved us a table by the fire. Brilliant!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Cheshire

Great pub with warm, friendly atmosphere

Posted Nov 11, 2014
Pros: Everything
Cons: We were happy with everything.
Location: Located in a nice village and within easy reach of Bakewell and Matlock. It is also in a great area for walking.
We had a warm welcome from the staff and shown to a comfortable room called the pig sty. This name referred to its origins not its condition! We had a drink and meal, both brilliant and were invited to join the pub quiz by landlady Sue and some of the locals. We had a great night. We had a good nights sleep and a fantastic full English breakfast cooked to order. Our only regret was that our stay was only one night.everything
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Maxfrom York

Amazo!

Posted Nov 1, 2014 on Hotels.com
Amazing stay, only for one night but recommend to any one - arrived on Pie night too, had the best hearty meal
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 22, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Austalia

Nice, spacious room in a little village

Posted Sep 1, 2014
Staff were quite friendly, room was a good size and quite nicely decorated. Easy access to Bakewell and Chatsworth. Parking plentiful. Food was ok.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by Simonfrom Lincolnshire

A real friendly country pub / hotel

Posted Aug 27, 2014 on Hotels.com
Much better than a big hotel where you are just a number. The room was fine, clean and the bed was very comfy. The food is excellent, on the night I stayed it was curry night and a lot of Indian restaurants would struggle to be as good. Not a huge choice, but the quality was really good. Others were eating the normal menu which also looked good. Breakfast was good but not early, so if you were after an early start you would need to check the arrangements - I was in no hurry and just took my time and enjoyed it. If in the area I would certainly stay there again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom west sussex

Lathkill Dale walk great food

Posted Aug 27, 2014
Pros: The staff and food.
Cons: The shower in our room could produce more water :-)
Location: A few miles outside Bakewell and close to the limestone way with many different length walks possible.
We arrived on Monday and explored Bakewell fir a while. However, it was the day of the weekly market so very full. Worth another look at though and some really good delis. Checked in at 5pm and booked a table fir dinner. Food was really good and the atmosphere very friendly, reflecting the owner's (Sue) attitude. Had a lovely walk the next day and had earned our dinner (at the inn again of course). Food just as good. We will be back.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Kevinfrom Bournemouth

Cowshed delight

Posted Aug 16, 2014 on Hotels.com
Well looked after, clean and tidy room, perfect location. Stayed On a Wednesday which was their pie night on the menu, highly recommended and ashamed that I managed to eat such a large portion.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 13, 2014 on Hotels.com