Ratings based on 17 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.8 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Penny from Nottingham

A lovely hotel/B&B tucked away in the Peak Forest!

Posted Jun 4, 2014
We booked in for a couple of nights (Fri/Sat) for a romantic weekend away to celebrate my birthday and we had a lovely time. After booking I received a very pleasant email from Dan, the landlord, asking if we'd like to book tables in the restaurant for our evening meal as the Inn gets very busy especially at weekends (he was quite right about this!) which we did. However whilst we had no problems on the Friday evening when we asked about the timing of our meal on the following day we were not listed. The staff assured my husband that this would not be a problem but we did end up eating in the bar that evening which was a little disappointing as this was my birthday meal. The food on both evenings was superb - the steak and ale puddings are well worth reserving and the steaks were sublime! We were in Room 4 which has the added bonus of having a balcony overlooking the beautiful walled garden where we were able to enjoy a final drink of the day. The staff were excellent - attentive but not intrusive. All in all the weekend lived up to expectations and we would recommend The Old Hall Inn.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by robert from west yorks

Nice hotel plenty of good walks

Posted May 30, 2014
Pros: How old the hall was nice surroundings
Cons: car parking but after saying that because it was a restraunt and the pub opposite i suppose it was hard to fit more spaces
Location: castleton six miles away was a lovely location plenty of good walks restraunts and pubs
Really liked the hotel situated in a good spot food served was exellent all staff members were helpful and friendly
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Rebecca from Norwich

Great hotel with great beer bible!

Posted May 13, 2014
Stayed here for our 10th wedding anniversary as a treat and it was absolutely lovely. Whole place had a lovely relaxed atmosphere. Breakfasts were beautifully cooked. Room was very clean with a really comfy bed. The bar had different beers on draught each night so we merrily worked our way through them. Staff were very open and approachable. Food was great. All in all, we'd love to come back if we could.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Mel H from Wales

Friendly Service

Posted Jan 26, 2014 on Hotels.com
Comfortable, warm and large room. Hotel is in centre of picturesque village and is old and characterful. Food served in bar area which is very popular with locals, always a good sign. Service overall was warm and friendly. The food was very good and reasonably priced. I will definitely stay again if in the area
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Anne & Ross

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 31, 2013
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Anne & Ross from Munruben - Australia

Excellent accomodqation and most helpful staff

Posted Dec 24, 2013
Pros: It was clean tidy and the food was excellent
Cons: The room was a little hot despite the outside temperature, so the central heating could be toned down a little
Location: We found the location suitable for our venturing to regional churches and archive facilities on an ancester search
Our stay was two nights, but the staff were most helpful and polite, and they made us feel most welcome
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Nice staff

Posted Oct 23, 2013 on Hotels.com
Good pub quiz on a Sunday night in the bar. Cracking cooked breakfast to order. Very nice place.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Declan Butler from Dublin

Hidden Gem

Posted Oct 14, 2013 on Hotels.com
Decided to take a break from the usual sterile hotels and go off road to the Peak District. Beautiful old inn, pleasant staff and lovely location. I would recommend to any business travelers that want a break from the norm.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Mandy from Essex

Great room

Posted Sep 27, 2013 on Hotels.com
Really impressed with the room, spotlessly clean and nice touches like fresh ground coffee and coffee pot. Breakfast was quick and food piping hot. Lovely quiet location.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

friendly out of the way stay

Posted Jul 26, 2013
Pros: village setting, beer, food and friendly locals
Cons: leaving in the morning!!!
I was in the papermill pub over the road which looks like its just been renovated. Room was really comfortable, lovely showeroom which was spotlessly clean. Nice bed/pillows. I ate in the main pub which has a great selection of real ales and ciders, most of which I'd never heard of but was great to read about them in the drinks menu. Had a rib eye steak which was cooked to perfection and melted in my mouth. Breakfast was plentiful and tasty. I was only there for an afternoon and overnight but it did feel like a holiday be it ever so brief