Ratings based on 13 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.8 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Anne & Ross

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 31, 2013
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Anne & Ross from Munruben - Australia

Excellent accomodqation and most helpful staff

Posted Dec 24, 2013
Pros: It was clean tidy and the food was excellent
Cons: The room was a little hot despite the outside temperature, so the central heating could be toned down a little
Location: We found the location suitable for our venturing to regional churches and archive facilities on an ancester search
Our stay was two nights, but the staff were most helpful and polite, and they made us feel most welcome
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Nice staff

Posted Oct 23, 2013 on Hotels.com
Good pub quiz on a Sunday night in the bar. Cracking cooked breakfast to order. Very nice place.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Declan Butler from Dublin

Hidden Gem

Posted Oct 14, 2013 on Hotels.com
Decided to take a break from the usual sterile hotels and go off road to the Peak District. Beautiful old inn, pleasant staff and lovely location. I would recommend to any business travelers that want a break from the norm.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Mandy from Essex

Great room

Posted Sep 27, 2013 on Hotels.com
Really impressed with the room, spotlessly clean and nice touches like fresh ground coffee and coffee pot. Breakfast was quick and food piping hot. Lovely quiet location.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

friendly out of the way stay

Posted Jul 26, 2013
Pros: village setting, beer, food and friendly locals
Cons: leaving in the morning!!!
I was in the papermill pub over the road which looks like its just been renovated. Room was really comfortable, lovely showeroom which was spotlessly clean. Nice bed/pillows. I ate in the main pub which has a great selection of real ales and ciders, most of which I'd never heard of but was great to read about them in the drinks menu. Had a rib eye steak which was cooked to perfection and melted in my mouth. Breakfast was plentiful and tasty. I was only there for an afternoon and overnight but it did feel like a holiday be it ever so brief
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Fantastic

Posted Jul 14, 2013
I don't normally rate a hotel unless it is really bad or really good... The Old Hall was exceptional. Great beers, food and staff... You had the feeling they really take pride and enjoy what they do... Thank you!
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Lincolnshire

Wonderful break in every respect

Posted Jul 7, 2013 on Hotels.com
The total experience for our two night stay was first class. From the warmth of the staff on our arrival, to the comfort of our room and the excellent food which was available. The staff were always on hand to assist and no request was ignored. The visit was enhanced by the 'locals' who use the Inn as their 'Local' but were wonderfil company to the visitors! We were delighted with our visit, would strongly recommend 'The Old Hall Inn' We will cerainly be making another booking in the near future.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Brian from London

Lovely People and Location

Posted Feb 27, 2013
Pros: Staff
Cons: No coat hangers in the room ( unless in the wardrobe )
Location: Lovely
The location is wonderful for outings on the Peaks, staff though young, are pleasant and attentive. The building is wonderful ( book supper in the hall ) .Rooms are nothing out of this world but spotless. The food is very good and superb value for money. The ales are very well kept,as are the locals !
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by A verified traveler

A great pub

Posted Jun 15, 2012 on Hotels.com
The pub has a good atmosphere and meals in the bar and restaurant are good pub grub -not gastro pub, seem to serve frozen peas rather than fresh veg. but we only ate there 2 evenings. Rooms are clean but a bit dull, boring magnolia and only one picture in the room, looked a bit dated and tired and needed brightening up, refreshing and modernising in my view. The room we had was very small for a double and had some strange bedside lamps, so tall you could barely reach them to switch on/off when in bed! Towels not that great but were changed each day. A good base for walking in that area if you're not expecting too much in the way of a luxury room. The photo of the pub garden has been 'worked on' -it's actually the size of the average garden back garden. The pleasant bar and restaurant does compensate for the below average room and it's clearly a very popular place for meals. Although in the middle of the village it was quiet.