Ratings based on 26 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.7 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from N.E. England

Overnight stop

Posted Sep 13, 2014
Pros: Staff and overall ambience
Location: Imagine this is a great walking area although ours was just an overnight stop
Booked on basis of reviews and wasn't disappointed. Welcoming staff, small but pleasant room in Papermill. Good pub grub and a great breakfast.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Extremely comfortable and great food

Posted Aug 19, 2014
Pros: Everything. It is everything you could want and need from a B&B in the Peak District, and the rest of the UK.... Great staff too.
Cons: No - don't change a thing (maybe the mushrooms at breakfast, but that's really scraping the barrel)
Location: Peak District walking, Edale, Hope Valley, Chatsworth
The welcome was warm and genuine, the room was really comfortable, no airs and graces, but you can tell a lot of thought and care has been taken to ensure guests have everything that is needed. Very comfortable bed and pillows etc. We slept very soundly. Chinley is not a regular tourist trap, just a chilled village. The cooked breakfast was excellent and we got to choose exactly what went into it (so no wastage!). The coffee was excellent. We had a couple of meals in the Old Hall Inn during our stay. They surpassed expectations of pub food. The menu has nothing fancy on it, just excellent fresh ingredients. Steak was perfectly cooked. Fish and Chips included very fresh haddock and crisp and crunchy batter. Great selection of ale, great service.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from East Yorkshire

Not the best experience !!

Posted Aug 17, 2014
Old Hall might be better, but unfortunately we stayed in The Paper Mill. As it was mid week thought it might not be too noisy, how wrong can you be?? The opening hours were lunch till 11pm but the noise didn't stop till 12.30am. Room was classed as small double, but wouldn't even class it as a large single. On the plus side, the food was very good.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from South East Essex

Lovely stay at The Old Hall Inn.

Posted Aug 1, 2014
Pros: The appearance, outside areas as well as interior and the staff.
Cons: The chips offered with most meals on the main course menus. They are not always good in appearance.New, boiled or mashed potatoes were scarce.
Location: Peak District speaks for itself, walking, travelling, just taking in the scenery. Lovely area.
My wife and I had an excellent stay at The Old Hall Inn. Staff proved to be most helpful, polite and simply pleasant to chat with. Both The Old Hall and The Papermill have an very comprehensive range of cask ales and bottled beers which was nice for me. The English breakfast is not to be missed.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Nomad

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 16, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Penny from Nottingham

A lovely hotel/B&B tucked away in the Peak Forest!

Posted Jun 4, 2014
We booked in for a couple of nights (Fri/Sat) for a romantic weekend away to celebrate my birthday and we had a lovely time. After booking I received a very pleasant email from Dan, the landlord, asking if we'd like to book tables in the restaurant for our evening meal as the Inn gets very busy especially at weekends (he was quite right about this!) which we did. However whilst we had no problems on the Friday evening when we asked about the timing of our meal on the following day we were not listed. The staff assured my husband that this would not be a problem but we did end up eating in the bar that evening which was a little disappointing as this was my birthday meal. The food on both evenings was superb - the steak and ale puddings are well worth reserving and the steaks were sublime! We were in Room 4 which has the added bonus of having a balcony overlooking the beautiful walled garden where we were able to enjoy a final drink of the day. The staff were excellent - attentive but not intrusive. All in all the weekend lived up to expectations and we would recommend The Old Hall Inn.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by robert from west yorks

Nice hotel plenty of good walks

Posted May 30, 2014
Pros: How old the hall was nice surroundings
Cons: car parking but after saying that because it was a restraunt and the pub opposite i suppose it was hard to fit more spaces
Location: castleton six miles away was a lovely location plenty of good walks restraunts and pubs
Really liked the hotel situated in a good spot food served was exellent all staff members were helpful and friendly
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

the best in the area

Posted May 23, 2014 on Hotels.com
just grand!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Rebecca from Norwich

Great hotel with great beer bible!

Posted May 13, 2014
Stayed here for our 10th wedding anniversary as a treat and it was absolutely lovely. Whole place had a lovely relaxed atmosphere. Breakfasts were beautifully cooked. Room was very clean with a really comfy bed. The bar had different beers on draught each night so we merrily worked our way through them. Staff were very open and approachable. Food was great. All in all, we'd love to come back if we could.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Russell from Emerald

Good atmosphere and food

Posted Apr 16, 2014 on Hotels.com
Lots of History but not a lot of enthusiasm from staff to add to the stay