Ratings based on 82 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
99% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from west sussex

Beautiful pub

Posted Jul 14, 2015
Pros: almost everything
Cons: wifi.
Really very good hotel with an excellent breakfast, lovely room, comfy bed and great beer. Only complaint is wifi did not work in the bedroom, and dinner stopped serving at 7 on a sunday.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hotel in the Peak district.

Posted Jun 29, 2015
My wife and I had a very pleasant stay at the Stanley Arms. We were made to feel comfortable and even provided a glass of complimentary sherry. We would recommend a visit.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bristol

A wonderful location

Posted Jun 8, 2015
Pros: The views! The staff were very friendly and helpful and the food excellent.
Location: great walking
We enjoyed this splendidly sited base to explore the glorious valleys and high moorland west and south of Buxton.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Excellent little place in the countryside!

Posted May 5, 2015
Pros: Quiet area. Wood fire. AMAZING food. Friendly staff. Spacious, comfortable and high quality rooms.
Cons: Nothing!
Location: There are a couple of things to do nearby, e.g. Poole's Cavern. But ultimately this place is fairly isolated and you should prepare to enjoy the quiet
This is a great little getaway place. I doubt you could find a nicer place in the Peak District.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from London

Very nice location and helpful staff!

Posted Apr 10, 2015
Very nice stay. We forgot a small bag there and the staff posted it back immediately. Very nice experience there!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Bill and Hazel Clague from St. Margaret's at Cliffe Dover Kent.

Lovely Break.

Posted Apr 9, 2015 on Hotels
We met up with our daughter and her friend from Edinburgh for a get together and lovely walks. The food and drinks were excellent and all staff including Adrian and Carolyn were very friendly and efficient including the dog George and Adrian giving us a free lift to Maccesfield station.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 3, 2015
Pros: Good beer, good food, comfortable bed - what more can you ask.
Friendly and welcoming place to stay on a wet and windy night.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 30, 2015
Good experience friendly and welcoming Staff ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Alan from Hampshire

A gem

Posted Mar 2, 2015 on Hotels
This is a little gem. Peaceful in the country but not to far away from the town
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by adrian from luton

excellent place to stay

Posted Dec 30, 2014 on Hotels
Two piping hot coal fires in bars, a good home made chicken curry, choose your strength, plus at least three real ales and then a full English breakfast made to order. What more can one want?