Ratings based on 516 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.4 out of 5
78% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom ruby

Decent kind of old style enjoyed the hottub

Posted Jan 20, 2015
Kind of old style and smelt like old people but the indoor pool and hottub was nice shower head was great but water was hard to control either scolding hot or cold bed was hard pillows were hugs and fluffy overall was okay not complaining too much good priced
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Cloquet m

Expensive for location and room.

Posted Jan 18, 2015
Pros: Initially this price but had to pay an up charge to be in the wing with the pool.
Cons: Enclosed walk way between wings and update hallways. The walkway colors were dated and lighting was dim.
The room was okay. Had to pay more to be in the same wing as the pool. Motel is dated.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Puerto Rico

Cozy and friendly place

Posted Jan 14, 2015
Arrived on a snowy,windy and cold night. The staff was very kind and the room was really clean and cozy, although (in my opinion) it needed an update. Complimentary breakfast was well displayed and fresh. Location was perfect between the city of Des Moines and Ames I'll look forward to stay again in spring or summer
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 9, 2015
Nice weekend cold in halol way but nice stay will stay there again
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Coon Rapids, MN

Weekend trip.

Posted Jan 9, 2015
Cons: The door to the building was unlocked. I think for the safety of customers it should be locked and accessible with the keycard.
Location: Just off the freeway, easy access. Near a QT.
It was a very short trip. Close to the freeway and about 4 miles from Wells Fargo arena where we were headed. 14th street is a main drag. There is almost everything there. Restaurants, shopping, the Capital building, etc. the room was spacious and I liked that there was a small refrigerator and microwave in the room. We were there for Monster Jam.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom MI

NYE

Posted Jan 3, 2015
It was loud but also New Years eve. Breakfast was great!
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Des Moines, IA

ADA non compliance what a sham

Posted Dec 23, 2014
No heat in bathroom, someone went in to a substandard bathroom and added substandard grab bars. Making the bathroom unusable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Iowa

Posted Dec 10, 2014
The staff was very helpful to me and my family when stayed there. They gave directions to where we needed to go.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 25, 2014
Was a nice enough hotel. The breakfast was nice and so was the staff.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Vermont

Wow

Posted Nov 18, 2014
Pros: I enjoyed the night clerk, who sadly did not give me her name nor was she wearing a name tag. She was pleasant, knowledgeable, and sympathetic.
Cons: Everything.
Location: Besides the two strip clubs and truck stop... there is nothing in the immediate area. You have to travel to get to some greasy fast food places.
So the hotel website is misleading with grand pictures of a fantastic entry way and amenities like a heated indoor pool, spa, and fitness center. This property looks like it is stuck in the late 70's. Updates to decor were attempted but not done properly. My "wing" used to be a smoking wing but has since been converted (not very successfully) in to a non-smoking wing. The lighting was off, the cleanliness of the rooms were terrible, and maintenance issues were seriously neglected. In regards to maintenance, my window had a very large crack in it, the sink was clogged with paper, and there were exposed wires. Also, the property abuts a strip joint which is very loud and cause for late night hooting-hollering and the like. This is also a regular truck stop and while I mean no offense to truckers I did not enjoy the yelling, banging, and clanging at 4am because the rig was too cold to start. Which happened again with another rig at 6am and another at 7am. The fitness room was a mess and haphazardly thrown together but the pool was a nice place to relax... no one else was in there and was very quiet. All-in-all I had a very loud, obnoxious, and unpleasant stay. I will not be returning to this area of Des Moines on future travel nor will I recommend this site to my colleagues. This has also tainted my opinion of both Baymont and it's affiliates. You can be sure that I will be more diligent in my search, planning, and coordination of lodging for my group in the future.