Ratings based on 28 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ankeny, IA

Not worth $92.00!!!!

Posted Jul 14, 2014
Air conditioning needs updating, didn't really cool room. Floor not very clean. Bedside lamp unplugged, found a piece of cake behind nightstand. A little mold in shower. Updates are minimal, instead of granite countertops, maybe new shower hardware, new trim around doors, updated locks, new carpeting in hallways.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 14, 2014
My only complaint was that the ice machine in our end of hotel was broken . The staff was professional and friendly . Room was clean and beds were comfy .
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not Pleasant!

Posted Jul 13, 2014
Pros: Not much
Cons: Update and train staff to be more empathetic
Location: ??????
We arrived late one evening and checked in. There was no elevator and we had many items to have to carry up to the second floor. Upon entering it seemed very dark going to our room. A man was sitting outside smoking and going into the hotel we saw that he had propped open the door. Anyone could have entered the hotel. Also, when we tried to shut the door to our room it would not stay shut unless the deadbolt and upper lock were secured. When we reported this to the front desk the next morning. Someone came with us to the room and she tried to shut it and it didn't stay shut. She tried a couple of times and finally slammed the door and it stayed shut. She said, "That's all you need to do." We were very unimpressed with her customer service attitude. As if we should know that's how you close the door! We had arrived very late and did not want to wake our neighbors by slamming the door even if we had known. Also, the room was very outdated and we had paid more than some other hotels we had stayed at during the week. They were very much better in cleanliness and room d├ęcor. We were very displeased with this hotel!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from iowa

Large family room with 3 queen beds

Posted Jul 13, 2014
Pros: Clean and comfortable
Cons: Internet service, needs repairs and security needs to be better
Location: Nice location, close to lots of stores and interstate
Could not get internet in the room. Desk clerk said it was because we were at the end of the hotel. Hotel was old and needed fixing up but was pretty clean and comfortable.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Punches above its weight

Posted Jun 17, 2014
Pros: Staff, location, food
Cons: Will need updating sometime but ok for now
This is an older hotel but as a result rooms are larger than average and I didn't feel like I was staying in a shoebox. The hotel is clean and everything worked properly. Location is very very convenient. On-site dinner is much better than expected. Staff of hotel are awesome-have rarely found such friendly helpful people, especially Leeja the overnight person. Will stay again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by JR from Freeport illinois

Close to Ames for school function

Posted Jun 2, 2014
Pros: It was right off the interstate and the hotel area was perfect for all the area eatery's
Cons: all ok
i enjoyed my overnight stay, i had no problems, the TV was great..... many many channels. The air conditioner seemed a little weak, but was ok. The bed was comfy and the radio alarm worked. Thank you for having a room open during this busy weekend. the price of the room was very good. thanks JR Perez
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jim from Minneapolis MN

An excellent property

Posted May 15, 2014
Pros: Facilities were excellent and comfortable. Staff was friendly and helpful. Breakfast in attached restaurant was tasty and healthy.
Cons: For the price and clientele you serve, nothing. Keep it like it is.
Location: we were there for graduation at Iowa State (Ames) so did not seek attractions. Other visits to Des Moines area have been for business.
One of, if not the best, Best Western motels I've stayed in and exceeded only by Marriott, Hilton and the other four star hotels.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by M from Ankeny, IA

Not bad.

Posted Apr 7, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: Front desk and pool area could use updating. The AC/heat unit was very loud.
Front desk clerk was very helpful and cheerful. Room is small. Hot tub barely worked, though temperature was nice. Free breakfast was above average.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 7, 2013
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jan from Illinois

Good stay.

Posted Sep 16, 2013
Location: It is close to all events in Ames for Iowa State, and close enough to drive to anything in the city of Des Moines. Good middle spot.
This hotel is a good value. It is clean and quiet. The staff was friendly and helpful. It is not fancy, but provides all you need in a clean friendly atmosphere. We would stay again - and have used this hotel several times.