Ratings based on 219 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.2 out of 5
65% of guests recommend
3.4 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
2.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Texas

3 our of 5 stars - don't believe it

Posted Aug 27, 2014
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Everything. Clean it up, educate the staff on how to properly leave a room intact for the customers.
Location: Adventure Land, Prairie Meadows Park and Casino
Room was not made up when we arrived at 4:30 pm. Housekeeping left the door ajar after making up the room, entire hotel was musty, carpets were dirty, no locks on exterior entrance at back. Glad to only have 2 nights there.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dallas, Texas

A true 2 star hotel

Posted Aug 20, 2014
I will never understand how smoking is still allowed in hotels in Iowa ! The smell is everywhere. Housekeeping was tipped well and kept my well worn room clean. My bedspread had cigarette burns in it. AC unit worked well for August but was filthy. Back door to second floor room was missing a lock entirely. Cigarette butts all over the parking lot. I was locked out of my room for no reason and the night supervisor freaked me out when her key didn't work. Maintenance was able to get me in. All in all....no fault of the workers but this place needs new ownership and a total overhaul. It's clear they aren't upkeeping the property.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Michigan

Need customer service training

Posted Aug 2, 2014
When I arrive I suppose to have a roll away bed in one of my rooms. The young man at the front desk said we don't do that. When I made my reservation I was that was available with a ten dollar charge . His response we have n't had those in years and asked me who made my reservation and tolld him made them online. He than say thats what I get for making it online. I found that to be very rude and unprofessional. He needs customer training.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 28, 2014
Clean room. Bed was comfortable. Would've preferred some sort of danish or donuts to be part of the breakfast.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Minnesota

Adequate

Posted Jul 20, 2014
Pros: This hotel offers smoking rooms, the television lineup is fairly large, the beds are comfortable, and the staff is very polite.
Cons: It seems that some parts of the property are showing signs of age, although this is not a detriment to a comfortable stay.
I stayed here for three days while visiting friends in the area. It was a decent hotel - exactly what I expected at this price point. The front desk staff were very polite and attentive. My room included a microwave and refrigerator, clock radio, and TV with a very good selection of channels. The bathroom was definitely showing signs of age and use - dripping faucet, crumbling wall, and yellowed tub surround, although the shower was very pleasant - full spray and pressure. The bed was quite comfortable. The room was also very clean in most areas, including the bed and the bathroom, but I did notice some cobwebs here and there, and the window could have used a good cleaning. In all, I would say a very adequate room with nothing remarkable to praise or complain about.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Stillwater, Ok

Not a nice hotel

Posted Jul 16, 2014
Pros: The food only
Cons: It could be cleaner and the personnel could be more pleasant and friendly.
Location: There are many shopping areas near by and good restaurants.
I am sorry not to be able to recommend this hotel. Its only redeeming quality is the food. This hotel provides an excellent breakfast. However, the entire hotel smells like smoke and does not seem to be very clean. Therefore it does not deserve a three star rating.
2 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 19, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Jillmarmadsmom from Lake in the Hills, IL

Don't let the exterior scare you.

Posted Jun 12, 2014 on Hotels.com
When I drove up to the hotel, it had a very unassuming entrance. I was not expecting much right then. When I went to the front desk, there were a lot of security monitors that scared me a bit because I was concerned as to security. However, when I went to my room, I was pleasantly surprised. The room and bathroom were clean. It was convenient to have a microwave and fridge in the room, even though we did not use it. I got a couple of really good nights sleep. The bed was very comfortable. Nice variety of television stations, also. The breakfast included in the price was very good. A step above continental. Very good orange juice and waffles.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Shopping
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 10, 2014 on Hotels.com
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Expedia gave us smoking room when we had

Posted Jun 8, 2014
Expedia gave us smoking room and it was awful...smelled and toilet was wobbly even with exposed shim attempt...blankets were threadbare and had holes in it