Ratings based on 188 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Omaha, NE

Everything we needed

Posted Sep 7, 2014
Pros: Right off the interstate.
Location: Plenty of restaurants nearby.
We were only there for 10 hours but check in, check out and breakfast were just fine. We were able to call about 2 1/2 hours ahead of check in and reserve a roll away bed.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Iowa

Overnight stay

Posted Sep 2, 2014
Pros: The very comfortable bed and clean, spacious room.
Location: A big variety of restaurants and shopping nearby.
After traveling by car for 10 hours, my husband and I were tired and very ready for a comfortable room for an overnight stay before continuing home the next day. We were very pleased with this hotel room and the convenience to other facilities.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Iowa

Weekend Getaway

Posted Aug 28, 2014
My wife and I stayed at the Fairfield Inn for a short weekend getaway in Des Moines. Overall we had mixed emotions with our stay and would most likely try somewhere new next time. Pros The rate was very reasonable for the area and considering that we booked the room short notice. Our check-in was very easy and the woman who checked us in was very efficient and courteous. The room was nice and as-advertised. We had a very comfortable King sized bed; clean bathroom and the couch and sitting area was nice. It was also very convenient to have a mini fridge, microwave and coffee maker in the room. The exercise room was nice; there was a small selection of free weights, elliptical and treadmills. All of the equipment was well maintained, worked properly and the room was clean. Cons We had some very noisy neighbors and we waited until after 11pm to expect the noise to die down. Finally around midnight things calmed down with the noise and we were able to get to sleep. In my opinion, breakfast was very disappointing and not laid out very well. We made it to breakfast around 9am and there were not very many food options to choose from. The only hot items they had were sausages. The only other hot option as far as I could tell would have been waffles, but they didn’t have any more mix available. So basically the choices were limited to toast, cereal and fruit. In addition to the poor selection of food the way the area was set up could use some improvement. The plates and bowls were
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 2, 2014
Dear Mr Gies, Thank you for taking the time to complete our Guest Satisfaction Survey and sharing your experience with the Fairfield Inn & Suites Des Moines West. I apologize that your recent stay was not satisfactory and appreciate your feedback. You’re a valued customer; everything we do is aimed at providing you with an excellent hotel experience. Please be assured that we are taking immediate corrective steps to avoid such problems in the future. Once again, please accept my apology. We would like to regain your trust and we hope you will allow us an opportunity to provide you with an exceptional guest experience when your travels bring you back to this area. Sincerely, ABID TALIC General Manager
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice area

Posted Aug 16, 2014
Close by many things we were doing. The entire stay was great
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 11, 2014
Just a little Family getaway. Overall good experience with this facility. I would recommend to a friend or family.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Wouldn't recommend

Posted Aug 3, 2014
We arrived at 5pm - room hadn't been cleaned. When we got in the room it had an odor to it, asked for am extra blanket and we were told they were busy and didn't have one, staff was rude, and the hot tub was out of service.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 11, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to complete our Guest Satisfaction Survey and sharing your experience with the Fairfield Inn and Suites Des Moines West hotel. I apologize that your recent stay was not satisfactory and appreciate your feedback. You’re a valued customer; everything we do is aimed at providing you with an excellent hotel experience. Please be assured that we are taking immediate corrective steps to avoid such problems in the future. Once again, please accept my apology. We would like to regain your trust and we hope you will allow us an opportunity to provide you with an exceptional guest experience when your travels bring you back to this area. Sincerely, ABID TALIC General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cincinnati OH

Nice place to stop on our drive out west.

Posted Jul 22, 2014
Pros: It was clean and the beds were comfortable.
Cons: Hot tub would have been nice after driving 10hrs. But it was out of service.
Location: We did not stay long enough to know to much about the area. But there are plenty of place to eat.
This was a nice stop on our drive out west. The rooms were clean and comfortable. They have a nice pool, but the only downside was that the hot tub was out of service.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from c

Late and lies

Posted Jul 21, 2014
I went to the hotel for the hot tub And it was out of service they told me they had one but it was out of service. They didn't have enough staff and took until 7:00 PM to get a room. Since I booked online I had a nonrefundable guaranty. In short late into the room and no hot tub.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 24, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to complete and share your experience with the Fairfield Inn & Suites Des Moines West. I apologize that your recent stay was not satisfactory and appreciate your feedback. You’re a valued customer; everything we do is aimed at providing you with an excellent hotel experience. Please be assured that we are taking immediate corrective steps to avoid such problems in the future. Thanks again for your review and we hope to be of service to you again. Best Regards, Abid Talic General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 16, 2014 on Hotels.com
INTERSTATE TRAFFIC A LITTLE LOUD OTHERWISE GREAT TIME AND YOU GET USE TO THE SOUND
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 10, 2014 on Hotels.com