Ratings based on 63 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Horrible Customer Service and they could care less

Posted Aug 4, 2014
Pros: Newer construction
Cons: Terminate or retrain employees
The room itself was okay and the hotel is near Adventureland and the casino (4-5 miles.) The main problem is the management of the facility. Upon checking out of the hotel room I purchased a few beverages from the road and paid for them with my debit card (the total of the beverages was 6 dollars and this is the ONLY time I used my debit card) Without my authorization the front desk charged my account for an additional $513.00 for a room which I pre paid on Expedia before I arrived. It has been 36 hours and they still cannot tell me what the charge was for. My wife has also called to speak with the manager 5 times concerning the charge and he is avoiding our phone call and refuses to return our call. As a result I am still out 513.00 and I am entering day 2 without so much as a phone call back to explain what is going on and whether or not it will be fixed. My next step will be the BBB in hopes to get this resolved. I would definitely recommend finding a more capable desk staff in the Altoona/Ankeny area.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 7, 2014
Good stay, Nice Hotel Standard Hampton Inn. Nice and clean. Comfy stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Tom from Bellevue NE

clean and comfortable

Posted May 30, 2014 on Hotels.com
The room and the hotel as a whole was clean and the front desk personnel were very friendly and helpful. The only mark down is the location. There is literally nothing around the hotel, well except the DMV office. One more exit north on the freeway and all the restaurants, shops and other hotels are there, but at this exit, nothing.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

overnight stay

Posted May 19, 2014
The hotel staff was excellent. The rooms were clean and they serve a very nice and big breakfast.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Nola from eastern Iowa

Graduation room

Posted May 13, 2014 on Hotels.com
We were too late to get a room in Ames for our daughter's college graduation. We didn't mind staying in Ankeny, though, as we ate at Jethro's and enjoyed that immensely. However, I feel the cost of the room was jacked up for graduation. Nearly $200 even with aarp discount is abit steep. Also would've been nice for the pool to be open til 11:00pm.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Pam from St. Charles, MO

Great hotel

Posted May 7, 2014 on Hotels.com
I stayed here with 3 other girls and we thoroughly enjoyed the hotel. The breakfast was very good. The rooms were clean and the service was good. The pool temperature was just right, as was the hot tub. I would recommend this hotel to anyone staying in the Ankeny / Des Moines, IA area.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Shawn

First Class

Posted Apr 20, 2014
My wife and I went to Des Moines to see the George Strait concert. The hotel was great. Clean room, good breakfast, great staff and only a short drive to downtown Des Moines.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by tim from littleton

Tim in IA

Posted Jan 20, 2014 on Hotels.com
good location. i would stay there again
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by famw/3kids from tulsa ok

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 1, 2014
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by LTK from Ankeny, Iowa

Highway View

Posted Dec 23, 2013 on Hotels.com
We were not at the hotel that much. People appeared to be having fun at the pool. The room was very comfortable. The Highway View was not so great, but you couldn't hear the traffic noise because the fan on the heater was so loud. You could feel the pounding of children's feet running in the hallway, but it wasn't loud, either. The one thing I would change is that feeling of invisibility I get when standing at the reception desk remaining unacknowledged because the reception person is on the phone. A simple nod of the head, smile, or a pause in the conversation to say: "Welcome, I'll be with you in a minute." would be nice. Breakfast was wonderful.