Ratings based on 200 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Noise

Posted Sep 12, 2014
This hotel is fine. A little overpriced and the walls are a little thin. I couldn't turn off the AC so it froze me out overnight.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 16, 2014 by GretchenT81, Hotel Management
Dear Traveler, I want to thank you for reviewing your stay with us. Your input is appreciated as it helps us improve for future guests, which I hope will include your next stay. I have passed your comments along to management so we may address the AC issue you experienced. Thank you again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Business trip

Posted Sep 8, 2014
Pros: Right off of Interstate and free parking. Good rate.
Cons: WiFi
The hotel is conveniently located off the Interstate with free parking. Overall the rooms are clean. The only issue I had was the WiFi was extremely slow so it made it frustrating to work from the hotel room.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 16, 2014 by GretchenT81, Hotel Management
Dear traveler, I appreciate you taking the time to review your stay at our hotel. I am sorry to hear about the issues with our WiFi. I have shared your input with our Facilities Manager so we can ensure that this does not happen again in the future. Thank you for your review.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Manning, Iowa

Close to hospital. You can hear ever ambulance.

Posted Aug 12, 2014
Windows need to be replaced! No insulation from outside noises. Thin walls! Price was doubled because of state fair. The breakfast buffet is good.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 14, 2014 by GretchenT81, Hotel Management
Dear Linda, Thank you for choosing to stay at our hotel while you were in town. We appreciate your business and your taking the time to offer your input in regards to your time here. I am glad to hear you enjoyed our breakfast offerings, however I am sorry to hear that you found noise to be an issue. I have shared your comments with all management for consideration. Thank you again for your review.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from Chicago

first stay

Posted Aug 3, 2014
Pros: Without exception the staff was pleasant, the room very clean, and, amazingly, the parking was free.
Cons: A coffee bar, open all day and separate from the restaurant, would be a nice addition.
Location: The location is convenient to most everything downtown.
As a regular visitor to Des Moines I've stayed at many of the downtown hotels. This compares favorably.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 6, 2014 by GretchenT81, Hotel Management
Dear Harry, I appreciate you taking the time to offer a kind and candid review your stay at our hotel. We depend on every review, good and bad, to continue to improve for the future. I am very happy to know you found our staff to be pleasant, our hotel to be clean, and location to be convenient. I also appreciate your input in regards to a coffee bar. I have shared your comments with all management for consideration. I hope we get to have the pleasure of having you as a guest in the future. Thank you again for your review.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 28, 2014
Location: We went to Principal Park. It was convenient for us. We took the free shuttle there and walked back (only about 1.5 miles.
No problems with hotel, but did have a problem with the booking through expedia. We had selected a 2 queen bed room for slightly more money rather than 1 king, because it was my friend and me sharing a room. When we arrived, we were given a room with 1 queen and told that third party bookings get last priority on room selection. That is my only complaint - other than that, everything was fine.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 4, 2014 by GretchenT81, Hotel Management
Dear Traveler, I want to thank you for your business and for taking the time to review your stay at our hotel. I am very sorry to hear about the confusion in regards to your room type. I hope we have the opportunity to offer you a problem free experience in the future if your travels bring you back to Des Moines. Thank you again for your review.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from chicago suburbs

Great downtown location

Posted Jul 20, 2014
Pros: Staff and decent sized pool
Cons: Street noise
Location: Close to everything downtown
Staff was very helpful and friendly. The building itself is showing its age. We were there on July 3rd and were lucky enough to view the fireworks out of our 10th floor window. One drawback is the expressway noise later in the evening when we were sleeping. I'm deaf in one ear so I just rolled over onto my good ear and slept like a baby. My wife had some trouble sleeping. We also enjoyed the free shuttle they offer to some of the downtown restaurants. After driving all day it was nice to go out without having to drive. Overall a very pleasant experience.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 24, 2014 by GretchenT81, Hotel Management
Dear jim, I am so pleased to hear that you found our staff to be friendly and helpful. I am so happy you were able to see the fireworks, the 10th floor rooms have stunning views of the city. It is great to know that you were able to take advantage of our shuttle service. We would love to have you as a guest in the future. Thank you for reviewing your stay.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 14, 2014
There were numerous things that needed to be fixed in the room we stayed in. The entry door stuck when trying to enter. If you went in the bathroom and shut the door, you got locked in there. When I attempted to call down to the front desk, the telephone would not connect me so I ended up having to make a trip to the front desk. Hope they read my complaint card so they get these things fixed.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 23, 2014 by GretchenT81, Hotel Management
Dear Traveler, Thank you for staying with the Holiday Inn Downtown while you were in Des Moines. Thank you very much for offering a review of your experience. I assure you that all of management has read your comments, and our Facilities Manager is addressing the issues you pointed out to us. We depend on all reviews, so we may know where we are doing well and what areas need improvement. So thank you again for your review. I hope we have the privilege of accommodating you in the future.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from eastern iowa

Great hotel close to sons apartment.

Posted Jul 7, 2014
Quick check in and helpful staff. Wish I would have asked what brand of mattress and pillows they have because that was the best nights sleep I got in a long time. Room had a great view of the city and the fireworks that night. Only thing was the door to our room would drag when closing and opening so you had to make sure it latched. will stay here everytime we're in town.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 8, 2014 by GretchenT81, Hotel Management
Dear Jim, Thank you for offering a thorough review of your stay. We greatly value input from our guests. I am very happy check in was timely and that you had a great night's sleep. I am so pleased to hear that we will have the opportunity to accommodate you in the future.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Iowa

Great service.

Posted Jul 6, 2014
We were surprised by the exceptional staff, every one of them went above and beyond to help in every way.Food and service was excellent. Everything was clean and nice appearance.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 8, 2014 by GretchenT81, Hotel Management
Dear Jeff, I am delighted to her that you found your stay with us so pleasing. We strive to offer clean, comfortable accommodations and outstanding service. It sounds as though we achieved that goal during your stay. I hope your travels bring you to Des Moines and our hotel in the future, so we can have the privilege of accommodating you again. Thank you for your feedback.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Lori from Ayrshire

great location

Posted Jun 17, 2014 on Hotels.com
They were very friendly and nice and the stay was short of course but the location was perfect I was very happy with everything I wish I could have stayed longer but was just a overnight adventure to a great concert
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 17, 2014 by GretchenT81, Hotel Management
Dear Lori, Thank you for the five star review of your stay. I am happy to see that you were pleased with our location and enjoyed your stay overall. I hope we have the privilege of having you as a guest in the future if your travels bring you to Des Moines.