Ratings based on 252 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom california

Posted May 3, 2015
Overnight here on my road trip.... Nice place but not quite downtown...10 min drive or they have a shuttle.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 21, 2015
Pros: The staff were very nice! The hotel is close enough to downtown.
Travelers need to be made aware that this is a very LOUD hotel. There are three hospitals in the area, one that is only a block away. We needed to be up early each morning we were there (four). It was difficult to get a good nights sleep with ambulance/police sirens and MediVac helicopter flying out and back until late in the night. Saturday night the hotel hosted a high school prom with loud music until 11:00, followed by yelling as they were leaving.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 27, 2015 by GretchenT81, Hotel Management
Dear Anonymous, Thank you for your review. I am sorry that you found noise to be an issue while you were with us. I have shared your input with our Facilities Manager so we may look into the issue and take necessary action to prevent this from happening again. Thank you for choosing our hotel while you were in Des Moines and thank you again for your review.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Overnight stay for a Technology Conference

Posted Apr 10, 2015
Pros: Convenience, Courtesy, Shuttle to the Iowa Events Center.
The only bad thing I can say is I ate in the Resteraunt and my food was burnt. The Service was excellant. Staff very friendly.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 14, 2015 by GretchenT81, Hotel Management
Dear Anonymous, Thank you for the five star review. I am sorry however that you were not pleased with your food from the restaurant. I hope we were able to ratify the situation and that you allow us another opportunity to serve you in the future. Thank you again for your review.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 16, 2015
Room was dirty and was still dirty after asking to have it cleaned again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by CHERYLfrom Hong Kong

Good place to stay

Posted Feb 3, 2015 on Hotels.com
Good price with this quality. Swimming pool and gym available, comfy beds, spacious room. Would be better if shuttle bus to downtown area can be provided.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 18, 2015 by GretchenT81, Hotel Management
Dear Cheryl, Thank you for providing insight regarding your stay. I am especially glad that you were pleased with your guest room and our fitness amenities. We actually do offer shuttle service to the downtown area, and I am very sorry that that was not communicated. We would be more than happy to shuttle you to and from downtown on your return visit. Thank you again for your business and your review.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Jamesfrom Fort Dodge

Nice Place

Posted Jan 30, 2015 on Hotels.com
Vice place to. Staff was wonderful
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 11, 2015 by GretchenT81, Hotel Management
Dear James, Thank you for the great review. I am glad our staff made you feel welcome. We look forward to hopefully hosting you again in the future.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 15, 2015 on Hotels.com
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 25, 2015 by GretchenT81, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by john thomasfrom Cambridge

Great stay for AAU Track and Field Championship

Posted Jan 12, 2015 on Hotels.com
Great stay! A lot to do near the downtown area!
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 25, 2015 by GretchenT81, Hotel Management
Dear john thomas, Thank you for your wonderful review. I hope we get to have you as our guest again in the future.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by A verified travelerfrom Iowa

NYE in Des Moines

Posted Jan 7, 2015
Pros: Shuttle. Cool staff.
Cons: This place needs a hot tub! And our room didn't have a fridge! That's the only thing that kept me from giving 5 stars.
Needed somewhere close to downtown. The hotel had a shuttle that was amazing.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 10, 2015 by GretchenT81, Hotel Management
Dear Drake, I am so happy that we were a part of your New Year's Eve celebration. It is nice to know that you were able to take advantage of our shuttle service as well. Thank you for choosing the Holiday Inn. We hope to have as our guest again in the future.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Decent hotel for the money!

Posted Jan 5, 2015
Some of the staff was real snoody, no exhaust vent in our bathroom that worked, did not offer any convenience items to purchase such as ibuprofen, toothpaste etc. we had to drive to a 24 hr. Pharmacy at 2am for ibuprofen. Other than that the rooms were nice for the money!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 9, 2015 by GretchenT81, Hotel Management
Dear Traveler, Thank you for choosing to stay with us while you were in Des Moines. I am glad to know you were pleased with your guest room. We do offer complimentary items such as toothpaste if the need arises for guests. We do not offer medication for sale, and I am sorry that inconvenienced you. I can understand your frustration. I hope we have another opportunity in the future to offer you a problem free, enjoyable stay.