Ratings based on 221 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel with great service

Posted Nov 12, 2014
We had a great stay. The room was clean and service was great. The staff was very helpful and accommodating.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified travelerfrom Glasgow

Nice hotel, near downtown

Posted Oct 27, 2014
Pros: Pleasant, nice sized rooms. Courtesy transport
Cons: TV remote very difficult. Had to go through every channel to find what you wanted.
Location: State Capitol building very interesting and Science Museum.
Pleasant hotel. Easy access to city centre and interstate.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 30, 2014 by GretchenT81, Hotel Management
Dear Peter, Thank you for your kind review. We appreciate your business, and I hope that we have the privilege of having you as our guest again in the future.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom indiana

Next to hospital

Posted Oct 21, 2014
We arrived at 10:45 and the restaurant/bar was already closed. The location of the hotel does not allow easy access to any other restaurants.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 27, 2014 by GretchenT81, Hotel Management
Dear Traveler M, I want to thank you for reviewing your time at our hotel. I am sorry to hear that you were left frustrated in regards to food and beverage. Our kitchen does stop serving food at 10pm. However, our bar stays open until at least midnight. I appreciate you bringing the bar being closed to our attention so we may address this matter further internally. I am very sorry for any inconvenience you were caused.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 5, 2014
The bar/dining area is nice. Food was good. Nice hotel and would recommend.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 8, 2014 by GretchenT81, Hotel Management
Dear Traveler, Thank you for your kind review. I am very happy to hear that you were pleased with your experience at our hotel and specifically the restaurant and lounge. I hope we have the privilege of having you as our guest in the future. Thank you again for your review.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 1, 2014
I really liked the shuttle service the hotel provides to restaurants in the area. The hotel gives you a number to call when you need to be picked up. The service was fast and friendly. Walking distance to Mercy Hospital too.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 7, 2014 by GretchenT81, Hotel Management
Dear Lori, Thank you for reviewing your recent stay at our hotel. I appreciate the high marks you gave us, and I am very pleased that you were able to take advantage of our shuttle service and were pleased with that service. I hope we have the privilege of having you as our guest in the future. Thank you again for your review.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

convenient location

Posted Sep 19, 2014
Pros: very little
Cons: A major redo!
Location: Hotel is conveniently located in downtown. But most restaurants weren't walkable. Nor was the State Capitol Building.
We booked this hotel as a last minute deal. It was conveniently located. But the hotel is aging. There was a wait for the elevators. And while they offer free parking, the garage was full and there were very limited options for parking elsewhere. I was uncomfortable about parking on the street.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 23, 2014 by GretchenT81, Hotel Management
Dear Robert, Thank you for taking the time out of your day to review your stay at our hotel. I was happy to see that you were pleased with the location of our hotel. However, I am sorry to hear that you were not completely satisfied with your experience. Your input is very important to us, and I have passed your comments along to management for review. Thank you again for taking the time to review your stay.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Noise

Posted Sep 12, 2014
This hotel is fine. A little overpriced and the walls are a little thin. I couldn't turn off the AC so it froze me out overnight.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 16, 2014 by GretchenT81, Hotel Management
Dear Traveler, I want to thank you for reviewing your stay with us. Your input is appreciated as it helps us improve for future guests, which I hope will include your next stay. I have passed your comments along to management so we may address the AC issue you experienced. Thank you again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Business trip

Posted Sep 8, 2014
Pros: Right off of Interstate and free parking. Good rate.
Cons: WiFi
The hotel is conveniently located off the Interstate with free parking. Overall the rooms are clean. The only issue I had was the WiFi was extremely slow so it made it frustrating to work from the hotel room.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 19, 2014 by GretchenT81, Hotel Management
Dear Traveler, Thank you for reviewing your stay. I am very pleased to hear that you were happy with our location and cleanliness, and were able to take advantage of our free parking. However, I am sorry to hear about the issues with WiFi while you were here. I have shared your comments with our Facilities Manager so we may look into the issue. Thank you for bringing that to our attention. I hope we have the opportunity to offer you a five star experience in the future if your travels return you to Des Moines.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 16, 2014 by GretchenT81, Hotel Management
Dear traveler, I appreciate you taking the time to review your stay at our hotel. I am sorry to hear about the issues with our WiFi. I have shared your input with our Facilities Manager so we can ensure that this does not happen again in the future. Thank you for your review.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by V McKinleyfrom Colorado Springs

Comfortable and Enjoyable Stay

Posted Aug 22, 2014 on Hotels.com
Great location. Minutes to both Drake University and downtown. Hotel provided transportation to and from airport, to sites within a three mile radius schedule permitting a real plus. Very nice restaurants in the area. All of the staff encountered were very professional and accommodating. Rooms was quite comfortable. The breakfast buffet very nice. Will definitely be returning.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 1, 2014 by GretchenT81, Hotel Management
Dear V McKinley, I appreciate you offering such a kind, thorough, and candid review of your stay at our hotel. We enjoyed having you as a guest and truly hope to have the opportunity to accommodating you again in the future. Thank you again for your review.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by Joshfrom Dubuque, IA

Not as good as our last stay

Posted Aug 22, 2014 on Hotels.com
Overall it was a good experience and the hotel is great, we've always enjoyed staying here. However, this time we were put in an accessible room (the hotel was busy.) Normally this wouldn't matter, but the room had a double bed for my wife and I, making it crowded and a lousy night of sleep. Otherwise, we were happy with our stay. There's a great downtown scene nearby that I'd highly recommend.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 1, 2014 by GretchenT81, Hotel Management
Dear Josh, Thank you for reviewing your stay at our hotel. We enjoyed having you as a guest. I am happy to hear you had a pleasant experience even though you were not in your desired room type. I hope we have the opportunity to have you as a guest in the future and in the room type you desire. Thank you again for your review.