Ratings based on 367 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sioux City, IA

Very nice hotel right in Downtown area.

Posted Jul 6, 2015
Pros: Beautiful hotel with comfortable rooms.
Cons: All was well.
Location: I was in Downtown Des Moines, Iowa with plenty of nightlife.
It was a very pleasant experience. Stayed there for a wedding that was just a block away, with everything in walking distance.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Iowa

First time staying in DesMoines

Posted May 26, 2015
Pros: The valet The shuttle The room was very nice I liked the shampoo, body wash and lotion. It smelled so refreshing.
Cons: Our room was by the ice machine which caused quite a bit of noise. The front desk staff need to make a good first impression on guests.
Location: We stayed at the Marriott in downtown DesMoines. Close to most attractions. The Asian Festival and the Farmer's Market were great.
We were in DesMoines to help our daughter move. When we checked in, the women at the front desk was not very friendly, which made a bad first impression. *All other hotel personnel were very helpful and friendly. We plan on staying at the Marriott again when we return to DesMoines.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Iowa

snotty staff

Posted May 24, 2015
Pros: beautiful hotel
Cons: staff behavior
Location: decent location, near Drake stadium which is why I stayed there
The hotel is pleasing to the eye. However, much of the staff is snotty. I felt like I was not a priority. Will not stay again and will make sure everyone I know, that considers staying there, know of my experience.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 28, 2015 by Amanda, Room Operations Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Annette, Please accept my apologies for the frustrations you had during your recent stay with us. We pride ourselves on the service we provide and it seems we did not deliver this time. Please know that all of our guests are important to us and I am truly sorry that you did not feel that way. I have already shared your feedback with the appropriate people to ensure this does not happen again. I certainly hope, should your travels bring you back to Des Moines, you allow us to host you again. Thank you,
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dubuque Ia

Posted May 24, 2015
Pros: The friendly staff
Location: The Civic Center and amazing Saturday morning Farmers Market are literally a 10 minute walk from the hotel. If the weather is bad, sky walks r there.
The food at the hotel restaurant was great as was our waitress. The room was clean and comfortable. Staff was knowledgeable about things to do and how to get there.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Over priced

Posted May 11, 2015
Pros: Lobby was nice and the staff was very friendly.
Cons: Better beds and better finishings in the room.
Bed was hard, valet was over priced even while it was under construction, details on the room finishings were not that well done. I thought the room looked cheap.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 28, 2015 by Amanda, Room Operations Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Anonymous, I am sorry to hear that you did not like our rooms. We will be undergoing a rooms renovation project in 2016 that we are very excited about! I hope that you will not let your last experience deter you from staying with us again. I hope to see you again soon!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from Columbus, OH

Beautiful and clean hotel, same as downtown area!

Posted May 11, 2015
Pros: Cleanliness and friendliness of the staff.
Cons: Internet access in the rooms & continental breakfast options
Location: The downtown area and location of the hotel were amazingly clean. The hotel staff offered to provide options for eating locally as they live downtown.
The hotel was very clean and well kept. For the price of the nightly cost, I would expect a few amenities be provided at no cost: in room internet access and simple breakfast. Free internet access was available but only when sitting in specific 'public' areas on just a couple floors. Overall, the experience was very good, I could easily give a higher rating if these two specific areas were improved.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 28, 2015 by Amanda, Room Operations Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Nationwider, Please know that our Marriott Rewards members do receive complimentary internet access in their rooms! If you are not already a member, you can sign up during your next stay with us. While we do not offer a complimentary breakfast, we do have weekly rates that include the buffet breakfast or we have affordable grab and go options in our lobby gift shop. Should your travels bring you back to Des Moines, I hope you let us host you again!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good location

Posted Apr 6, 2015
Great place , very comfortable Breakfast was a disappointment.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 6, 2015
Staff very welcoming and friendly! They always took the time to make sure we were happy with our accomendations and to see if there was anything else they could do for us.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Maryland

Very Nice Downtown Hotel

Posted Apr 3, 2015
This hotel could easily be considered among the best downtown hotels.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Kayla from Carroll, IA

Disappointed

Posted Mar 24, 2015 on Hotels
The hotel was confusing, there were not enough signs so we got lost a lot. Also one of the higher priced hotels in town and the room were so small. Very disappointing since we told them we had 5 people in one room. Also, bathrooms were small. Had to pay for wifi which seems ridiculous. Not worth the money.