Ratings based on 331 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nightmare.

Posted Jan 24, 2015
Pros: Location on the skywalk was convenient and the view of the city was magnificent. Beds comfortable and rooms spacious and clean.
Cons: Management needs to monitor and respond accordingly to groups or individuals who take advantage of the facility. Elevators need to be staffed.
Location: Skywalk gives convenient access to multiple businesses, the Wells Fargo arena and the Convention Center.
Hotel booked a conference at same time as our stay, The attendees allegedly booked rooms for one or two people, but had 6 or more people in a room, which overloaded the elevators to the point where we (among many others on the top floors) were forced, after over an hour wait for an elevator that was not already jam packed with people, to take to the stairs to descend 27 floors WITH LUGGAGE. My husband and I are in our 60"s and we were sore for days afterwards. We met a very nicely dressed woman in heels on about the 18th floor who was going UP the stairs and was clearly extremely winded. No hot water due to the overload as well. Management should have been on top of this situation. No free internet, no contenental breakfast, and $21.00 per night for parkling. Totally unacceptable. As expensive as these rooms were, I would expect more. We stayed at a Sheraton the night before in West Des Moines and should have stayed there this night as well. So disappointed.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good location in Downtown

Posted Jan 16, 2015
Nice hotel but it was very very busy. Two employees were very rude when asked simple questions such as "can you tell me where the restaurant is."
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 20, 2015 by The Marriott Downtown, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback. Please know that we have taken your comments and have used them as a way to retrain our Hosts on the warm and welcoming way we should be greeting all of our guests. Thank you again for staying with us and we hope that should your travels bring you back to Des Moines you let us host you once again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 8, 2015
The bell men will shuttle you to any downtown restaurant for tips. And, when you are ready to come back, just call and they are right there to pick you up. What a great perk!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

professional

Posted Oct 28, 2014 on Hotels.com
Great area and hotel
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by A verified traveler

Relaxed and pampered

Posted Oct 21, 2014 on Hotels.com
Room and bedding were fresh and clean. All interactions with staff were effortless and responsive. Dinner in the mainfloor restaurant was relaxing and the food was excellent. Pool and jacuzzi were clean and inviting, but the pool was a little chilly for me. As hotel fitness rooms go, this one was pretty good! It has direct access to the extensive downtown Des Moines skywalk system. The hotel Starbucks was kind of a Starbucks lite with limited menu, but my mocha was familiar and comforting first thing in the morning. In short, I thoroughly enjoyed my evening at the Mariott before my running school the next morning.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 15, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Chrisfrom Peoria, Il

Awesome place to stay close to everything

Posted Oct 14, 2014 on Hotels.com
I had an amazing time at this hotel. The room was comfortable and offered a great view of parts of the city. The pool and hot tub were just right in order to get me nicely relaxed. The gym was a great offer but working out wasn't on my agenda. Everything was in walking distance including the parking garage next door which offers free parking on weekends - can't beat that for any city. The hotel is clean and staff are super friendly. Food and drinks was great. I will stay here again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 14, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 14, 2014 on Hotels.com
2 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Not happy

Posted Sep 30, 2014 on Hotels.com
I won't go back. We had the noisiest room. Drunks slamming doors all night and the most uncomfortable bed and tiniest bathroom I've ever seen in a Marriott. For the cost and location it wasn't a good value. This doesn't deserve the name. There are many nicer options downtown in DesMoines. The downtown in nice, but very small and limited. btw who else has to pay for internet at hotels anymore? The good: Valet parkers and shuttle services were prompt and friendly.