Ratings based on 302 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Iowa city

Nice and beautiful hotel,good restaurants around

Posted Sep 15, 2014
Good hotel,very clean and quiet being in town.Good gym pool warm and good staff always ready to assist.my family loved the hotel
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Des Moines

Great experience

Posted Aug 25, 2014
We were able to check in early which was awesome because we were dirty from a run we were in town for. The staff was friendly and helpful and the bar/restaurant was super good too. It was nice not having to leave to have a good beer and food. The rooms were clean and comfortable and it was quiet from the beginning of our stay to the end. I would definitely recommend it to anyone who asks.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from CO

Pleasure

Posted Aug 19, 2014
In town 3 days for the state fair. Staff was awesome and very accomodating and helpful. Hotel is a definite recommend.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Great stay.

Posted Aug 5, 2014
Staff, food, room, all great. We would recommend this hotel to our friends and family.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Bar Service

Posted Jul 15, 2014
Pros: Location and transportation service
Cons: Signs, we parked in the parking garage across the street and directions to get into the hotel were good, just no directions for the front desk
Everything about our stay was perfect. However, the one thing I think they could have improved on was having another person helping wait on tables the evening we were there. The poor waiter was doing his very best to keep up with everyone, just too many people for one person to pay close attention to. Super nice guy, I felt bad for him having been in that business myself....
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 7, 2014
The bed wasn't made perfectly. I noticed the lumpy comforter as soon as I walked in. The towels weren't folded uniformly. Two were different textures (perhaps in need of retirement) and were shoved into storage area. But the worst part was the opened mint wrapper beneath the nightstand. The rest of the hotel was great. I was surprised by the lack of attention to detail in the room.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 21, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 19, 2014 on Hotels.com
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Ruth H from Boulder, Co

poor customer service

Posted Jun 19, 2014 on Hotels.com
I specifically called ahead to the front desk to make sure they could park my car with attached Uhaul and they assured me they could valet it. When I got there, they told me there was no way that someone told me that. We had driven 11 hours and were confronted with nowhere to park. They said that maybe we could find parking on the street and were quite unhelpful.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 30, 2014 by The Marriott Downtown, Hotel Management
Ruth H., I apologize that we were not able to follow through with our initial response regarding your parking situation. I will make sure that for the future, all of our staff is consistent in our answers regarding trailors. I sincerely hope that the rest of your stay was enjoyable and that we will see you again on your next visit to Des Moines. Caitlin T. Guest Service Representative
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by A verified traveler

Great Location, Exactly as Advertised

Posted Jun 18, 2014 on Hotels.com
The location was perfect with great skywalk access. Close enough to walk to Wells Fargo for an event and close enough for easy access to Court Avenue for entertainment after.