Ratings based on 296 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Des Moines

Great experience

Posted Aug 25, 2014
We were able to check in early which was awesome because we were dirty from a run we were in town for. The staff was friendly and helpful and the bar/restaurant was super good too. It was nice not having to leave to have a good beer and food. The rooms were clean and comfortable and it was quiet from the beginning of our stay to the end. I would definitely recommend it to anyone who asks.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from CO

Pleasure

Posted Aug 19, 2014
In town 3 days for the state fair. Staff was awesome and very accomodating and helpful. Hotel is a definite recommend.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Great stay.

Posted Aug 5, 2014
Staff, food, room, all great. We would recommend this hotel to our friends and family.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Bar Service

Posted Jul 15, 2014
Pros: Location and transportation service
Cons: Signs, we parked in the parking garage across the street and directions to get into the hotel were good, just no directions for the front desk
Everything about our stay was perfect. However, the one thing I think they could have improved on was having another person helping wait on tables the evening we were there. The poor waiter was doing his very best to keep up with everyone, just too many people for one person to pay close attention to. Super nice guy, I felt bad for him having been in that business myself....
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 7, 2014
The bed wasn't made perfectly. I noticed the lumpy comforter as soon as I walked in. The towels weren't folded uniformly. Two were different textures (perhaps in need of retirement) and were shoved into storage area. But the worst part was the opened mint wrapper beneath the nightstand. The rest of the hotel was great. I was surprised by the lack of attention to detail in the room.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Wheels from Cedar Rapids

For a wonderful night in Des Moines

Posted May 21, 2014 on Hotels.com
This was a wonderful choice of hotel. Rates were good for the quality of the service provided. Parking was convenient (across the street via an enclosed skywalk) and reasonable ($4.50 for one night) for the heart of a downtown district. The "Continental Breakfast" was restaurant "I'd pay for this" worthy, there's an in-house Starbucks, the beds were perfect, and the accommodations were pristinely clean. I'd have liked the room to be a bit larger, but if you're staying downtown in a capitol city, who's going to spend a lot of time in a hotel room?
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 16, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Marie from Albuquerque, NM

This hotel has a great vibe!

Posted May 12, 2014
I'd never visited Des Moines before and chose this hotel strictly based on # of stars. It turned out to be much better than I expected. The staff are amazing! When you walk in to the lobby there is a swanky bar and the cocktails do not disappoint. The room was very clean and updated and even the lotions/soaps, etc. were of a higher quality. The maid service was great. Gym was better than any hotel gym I have been to. The ONLY thing I would mention is that while the room SERVICE is fantastic and fast, the food is in dire need of help. I ordered breakfast two out of three days and ordered a snack on the other day. The toast was absolutely drenched in butter / grease. I could actually squeeze the toast and the grease would run out - not drip but run. Gross. The pastries are clearly just boxed junk that they warm. It is a little misleading because all over the hotel there are advertisements about the food and onsite restaurant. Definitely stay here but avoid room service food!
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Mike from Iowa City

Nice Hotel Good Location

Posted May 6, 2014 on Hotels.com
Very good location in downtown Des Moines. The hotel is very well maintained and the services are good. The only negative is that you have to park in a garage a block or so away.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by Susan from southern Iowa

Conveniently located to end destination

Posted Apr 29, 2014 on Hotels.com
While the hotel room was clean, it was not the size and comfort level I anticipated for the nightly rate charged. I booked a "Deluxe" room and it was quite small in size. My husband and I just returned last month, in March, from a 8 states in 6 days vacation tour of the Southern and central states, booking accomodations in 5 separate hotels. The Des Moines Marriott was outshined by 3 of those hotels, and was by far the most expensive. My next overnight stay in Des Moines will be at the Embassy. I anticipate the rate to be comparable to the Marriott, but I have heard from firends that the accomodations are much more pleasant and spacious.