Ratings based on 13 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
69% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

all right for the price, which was reasonable,

Posted Aug 13, 2014
Hard to find, sign was past the driveway into the motel
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ankeny, IA

Disappointing

Posted Aug 10, 2014
I thought the hotel was overpriced (First day of the Iowa State Fair) so prices were jacked up. We were not going to the State Fair, so just looking for a nice clean quiet place to spend the night. It was anything but quiet. The refrigerator didn't work, and sounded like a motor boat or a Harley. The food we put in the refrigerator had to be tossed out. The AC was old and noisy. No grab bars in the shower, and tub was slick. Shower head could not be adjusted, so didn't work for me. Their computer was out of service, so couldn't check my email. I would never stay there again.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Late Night Deal

Posted Jan 4, 2014
Check in was nice, which we werent expecting. Room had black stains on carpet and the blue duvet had white smears. Hard to relax when you think that you are sleeping in filf. We were the last peopke of the day to check out, and the experience was very nice too. Probably wont stay there again, unless we are desperate for a deal.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 9, 2013
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by steve from chicago

Nice stay but outside needs work

Posted Oct 28, 2013
Cons: Fix the sign that is falling down, landscaping and more lighting at night.
Was happy with the hotel stay. The staff was nice and accommodating. The outside of the place needs lots of work. If there were other places with rooms available, I would have probably canceled and webnt somewhere else based on the outside. Bt since the room and the staff is what is important, I was pleasantly surprised by the rest of the hotel.
2 out of 5
by Rog from Iowa

OK Hotel in a nice area

Posted Jun 24, 2013
Pros: Room was clean. Pool area was nice.
I had to wait 40 minutes past check-in time to get our room. I then found out that a room I had reserved with a king bed and sofa bed had been changed to one bed only. The staff provided a roll away at no charge since the hotel was completely booked; better than nothing but not what I booked. The room I was given had a kitchen area which I didn't need for a one night stay and no closet for hanging clothes which I did need. After getting our room key, I was told that maintenance was changing out our a/c unit. So the room was hot (90 degrees plus outside), but at least the replacement unit worked reasonably well. Many other guests were complaining in the morning in the breakfast area about the a/c or lack thereof. I would not stay in this hotel again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great place for a $109 Hotel

Posted Jun 24, 2013
Pros: Updated rooms, location from Speedway and I-80, places to eat near the hotel, mall at the exit before.
Cons: Nothing really.
Location: Lots of dining places, and a mall not that far down the street.
We needed a place to stay for the Indycar Race. Everything in Newton is always booked. I've stayed at the Super 8 in Newton on another trip during a non-race weekend and it was gross. Wanted something on the East side of Des Moines. Almost everything was booked 1 month before the race weekend. Decided to look in Ankeny. Was very happy with my choice. This hotel is around lots of places to eat. Ending up eating at the Mexican place across the street. It's about 40 mins from the Speedway, and is very easy to jump back on I-80. Room was updated with newer dressers, nightstand, lighting, window AC which was very cold, bathroom had granite sink, tile floor, and wasn't gross like many hotel rooms. Hotel also had a small weight room, and indoor pool. I was a little surprised by noise from the hallway and the person above us, but it was minor, and went away by the time I fell asleep. They even had free breakfast with Belgian waffles (but we got up to late to partake), ended up across the street at the Village Inn which was a nightmare on Sunday morning post church.
3 out of 5
by Pamela from Colorado Springs, CO, USA

Internet issues

Posted Jun 2, 2013
Pros: The location.
Cons: The INTERNET service!!!!
Location: you end up passing it and have to turn around at the lights, unless you know to turn at the storage place. ( driving on SE Delaware)
I had problems with the internet the whole time I was there....(7 nights at over a 100 bucks a night) I was being told that it was my devices at first.....strange, seeing as I had 2 Iphones and a laptop with me...I have NEVER had this problem in any of my other travels.... I finally ended up with hit and miss internet service. To be fair there was some pretty bad thunder storms at the time of my stay ...however, it does not excuse the poor internet quality. ( the staff did try to help)....also,... I was all stuffed up and sneezing after one night and it continued until I left....the first night I stayed at a different place, I was just fine...have had no problems since, so I have to think something in that room was having a negative effect on me.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

New decor

Posted May 14, 2013
THe decor is new and nice, the staff is bare bones. Breakfast was poor but the rate was right and we would stay again. WE asked for coffee that didn't come, had coffee pot in the room but no coffee. Good location, a little hard to find the drive way but no big deal. didn't use the pool or exercise room.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

a

Posted Oct 15, 2012
Only complaint is that there was no one at the front desk when we checked out. Everything else was great