Ratings based on 70 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2.7 out of 5
56% of guests recommend
2.9 Room cleanliness
3.0 Service & staff
2.9 Room comfort
2.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Franklin Grove, IL

Posted Aug 19, 2014
Pros: Staff
Location: It is close to shopping and right off the interstate!
Staff was exceptionally impressive. Very professional and very accommodating. Rooms did smell musty! Happened to be in an accessible room and was not impressed with the shower. Wooden bench didn't seem good. Was impressed with the cleanliness of the breakfast area and how the staff kept it clean.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not what they said

Posted Jul 29, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: Honesty
We booked a room with a king bed. I had already seen the not so great ratings but there were no other hotels available. It was not a king, we got a queen bed and a chair. I would not recommend this hotel...for the money you can stay at better places.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from iowa

Dirty, musty, moldy smelling room.

Posted Jul 14, 2014
Relative of Mgr. Was vacuuming right up to my feet while I was trying to check in. Room was moldy smelling, a dirty cleaning rag was left on the nightstand. When we went to eat breakfast, the bread was moldy, and the waffle mix was sour. Worst place ever!!!!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Eastern Iowa

You wouldn't think.....

Posted Jun 28, 2014
that a national chain would let their brand and reputation be destroyed. This Super 8 is a place to stay away from. The room smelled musty and the toilet was leaking. The toilet seat was loose and you had to sit perfectly still to keep from sliding off onto the floor . The light switch at the door didn't work so you had to search the room for a switch at the light fixture itself. I have stayed at Super 8 motels for years and haven 't had any problems. I won't go back to this one. It is too run down, dingy, and uncomfortable . The owner is simply "bleeding it" for all he can get at the expense of the traveling public and the reputation of a respected national chain.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Claremore, OK

Poor Representative of the Brand

Posted Jun 23, 2014
Pros: Free breakfast
Cons: Cleaning and housekeeping procedures.
Location: Living History Farms and National Balloon Museum.
I've used super 8s before, but this one was uniquely bad. When we arrived in the room, we tried to get our curtains to close in order to change, we couldn't as the blackout curtains were (as we later found out) dried in a dryer, and thus melted. They couldn't replace the curtains since several of their curtains were washed in that manner. Kids were bummed that the pool was under construction. Shower was cracked and moldy, and got some weird brown poop smelling stuff on my leg from the carpet. Though I didn't see bugs, I woke up extremely itchy from the beds. The breakfast was fine and the staff was extremely apologetic and polite. My guess is that housekeeping had some serious issues that week. Seeing another hotel (that family was staying in at the same time and was similarly priced) made me really regret the choice. We were SO grossed out.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not worth the price

Posted Jun 15, 2014
Was disappointed with this hotel. The bed was comfortable and sheets clean but the bathroom was lacking! The bath tub did not look clean, very stained, the toilet had to be flushed twice, and the sink dripped! The security lock was broken, the coffee pot and micro wave were old and did not work correctly and the lamps needed attention! Breakfast was suppose to be available at 7 and when we left shortly after 7 nothing was available. With some attention to detail this could be a nice place.
3 out of 5
by jim from sheboygan wi.

Posted Jun 1, 2014
Pros: we were merely looking for a place to rest and sleep.
Cons: definitely the continental breakfast and a swim pool that could be used.
Location: motel was close to the road that we were using but we were just passing through.
the staff was friendly and helpful even offered to help with the luggage.
2 out of 5
by J. from Missouri

Needs a good cleaning and some repair.

Posted Jun 1, 2014
Pros: Good location.
Cons: Needs a good cleaning and some remodeling/repairs.
Location: Located very close to I-35 and many restaurants.
The pool was closed. The bathroom was not very clean. The sheets and bedding were not very clean. The bedding had a cigarette burn on it.
2 out of 5
by Faye from Des Moines

Place to stay when nothing else is available

Posted May 19, 2014
Pros: free continental breakfast
Cons: update the rooms a little better.
Location: there were resturants nearby.
It was ok. The first room they put me in looked like it had been used already, trash was full, soap used, lights was on and window open when i came in. I told the guy at front desk and he said sorry and switched me to a new room that was cleaned. It was not worth the rate paid. other online deals have been made and better hotels were stayed in.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Michael from Ankeny Iowa

Super 8

Posted May 13, 2014 on Hotels.com
Very nice service!!! Was a little upset that the pool was under maintenance.