Ratings based on 121 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom IA

2 day stay

Posted Mar 22, 2015
Good price for the amenities. Good location off the interstate.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 26, 2015 by Orlando G., Hotel Management
Thank you for your review Wife & Mother! We are excited that you enjoyed your experience with us and hope you join us again in the near future. As you stated, we are fairly easy to spot off the interstate! Thank you again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified travelerfrom Iowa

Amenities and Location

Posted Mar 22, 2015
Pros: The full kitchen compensates for the bad breakfast. The bed is comfortable, workspace well-designed in the King rooms. Nice pool/fitness center.
Cons: There should be rooms/wings designated for pets. The idea of having pets throughout is not good for smells or sounds. Breakfast sucks-all carbs.
Location: It's close to a number of places, including restaurants, movie theater, and the freeway (but most importantly, Starbucks).
This was my second time staying at this property. The first time was for a family gathering and we had a 2-bedroom suite. This time was just me in a king-room. I was there for six nights to get work done, so needed access to a relatively quiet space with wifi, and comfortable workspace. For the most part, I got what I needed. The housekeeping staff is friendly and helpful, but overworked (one day I was there, there were only 2 housekeepers working for all 4 floors, so I wasn't able to get my room cleaned--which I really just wanted trash picked up and vacuumed--until 4:30). The front desk staff are not very friendly, and the few times I communicated with them, I felt almost like I was a burden for asking questions. The room above me had a dog that barked all day for several days. There was a pet odor near the bed. It was faint, but enough that I was aware of it. I imagine that the pad under the carpet is probably holding some previous guest's pet's urine. I think that this place could do much better by making pet/non-pet rooms--this was the primary reason I gave a 3 instead of a 4 rating.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 26, 2015 by Orlando G., Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to review your experience with us Asil. I am glad you chose to stay with us for a second time but I was dissapointed that it wasn't the most memorable of experiences. We have taken steps to improve our housekeeping staffing and we do have a pet policy where the room is deep cleaned after the guest's stay. We are working with our housekeeping team to identify any rooms may have had pets we were unaware of. Again, I want to thank you for taking the time to review your stay and we hope you join us again in the near future.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Iowa

Quiet location, lots to do

Posted Mar 16, 2015
Location: Great restaurants nearby
The hotel was very nice and our room was perfect. We stayed in the 2 queen with kitchen. The breakfast with waffles was great.. I would suggest keeping a better eye on the pool area; it was quite busy with young children screaming and splashing water all over the pool deck. I would also suggest keeping a better eye on the front desk. I stood there waiting to ask a question for 5 minutes before anyone noticed I was there(however, this was later at night) Overall I would say this is a very nice hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 19, 2015 by Orlando Gonzalez, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review kenzie! I am glad you enjoyed your recent experience with us and hope to see you return in the near future. I have taken your comments about the pool area and communicated them to the appropraite hotel team. I also wanted to apologize for the wait you experienced at the front desk. Sometimes our staff does need to step away at certain times but we should communicate this better to our guests. Thank you again!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified travelerfrom Chicago area

Wrestling tournament in Des Moines, IA

Posted Mar 5, 2015
Pros: See above
Cons: See above
Location: No idea....we were there for wrestling Nationals. :)
I stayed here with my wife and daughter 2 nights. The beds were definitely the highlight....VERY comfortable. The staff, while not unpleasant sure didn't go out of their way to BE pleasant. No biggie to me, really. Wife and daughter were less impressed. Overall, it was well worth it and we all agreed we'd stay there again. I like the size and convenience of having the full kitchen. Bathroom was tiny and the door swung open into the area in front of the sink/mirror, which made it difficult for 2 people to get ready at the same time.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 19, 2015 by Orlando G., Hotel Management
Thank you for your review Warner! I wanted to thank you for taking the time to review your recent experience with us. I also wanted to apologize for our staff not going above and beyond to make your experience with us a memorable one. I hope you will join us again in the near future. Thank you again for your review.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Chicago

Very Noisy Heater

Posted Jan 8, 2015
Pros: Location; right off the interstate.
Cons: Perform regular walk thru's to ensure everything is in functioning and operational.
Location: N/A
The hotel was clean, the room a good size, microwave, burner, coffee pot, plates etc. However, the heater was SO LOUD that I couldn't conduct a phone call. We were in town for a funeral and stayed only one night. We were so exhausted, we didn't have the energy to change rooms. It woke me up all night long whenever it kicked on! I brought it to the attention of the mgmt. at checkout and, while they apologized, they didn't offer any compensation.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 19, 2015 by Orlando, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel E. As we pride ourselves on delivering a memorable hotel experience during your travels, we have unfortunately fallen short of our goal during your recent stay. Please accept our sincere apology for loud heater during your stay. We have shared your feedback with the appropriate hotel team to ensure that this was an isolated issue that is corrected moving forward.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Johnston

TownePlace Suites by Marriott, Johnston

Posted Jan 7, 2015
Pros: The only concern were the noisy seemingly hard to control HVAC units, everything else was great Thank you
Cons: Unit heaters
Location: We took the grandkids to a Jumping Facility (bounce house), Indoor go-cart track and Indoor Ice skating facility, each located within 5 miles.
We stayed at this location, had reservations for 3 rooms for 2 nights. The interior surfaces were clean, recently remodeled and found the pool area, linens, towels and rooms to all be in "Good" condition. We found the price to be reasonable, the staff was helpful, polite and attentive. I highly recommend this Hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 19, 2015 by Orlando, Hotel Management
Thank you for sharing your experience and reviewing our hotel Lynn! As a valued customer we appreciate your feedback and are delighted to hear that you had a great stay. With a spirit to serve, we take great pride in not only meeting, but exceeding your expectations. Your feedback is integral to our ability to continue to improve our service. Thank you again for your time and come visit us again soon!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Jeannefrom Mt. Vernon

Great value!

Posted Dec 8, 2014 on Hotels.com
It was great! Clean rooms, great staff and conveniently located to the freeway!
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 28, 2015 by Orlando, Hotel Management
Thank you for review Jeanne! I am glad you enjoyed your recent experience with us and we hope to see you again when your travels bring you to the Des Moines area.
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by tomfrom Rockford il

screwed

Posted Dec 7, 2014 on Hotels.com
our stay was good
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Iowa

Very impressed

Posted Dec 5, 2014
Pros: Appearance, cleanliness, size of room, room amenities - everything really.
Cons: The toilet/shower area was very small. I really felt a little claustrophobic in there, and I am not a large person. It was clean, though!
Location: Just off of the interstate although you have to drive back away from the main road, which was a little confusing at first. Lots to do nearby.
We were just in town for an overnight stay and wished we could have stayed longer. The hotel was clean and tidy. It seems quite new. The room was large and had a full mini-kitchen, complete with dishes and dishwasher, as well as stove top burners and a large refrigerator. The bathroom was small, but sink was separate, which is always an added bonus. We were very impressed with this hotel and hope to stay there again for more than an overnight!
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 27, 2014 by Orlando, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for your review MJ! We are glad you enjoyed your experience with us and hope we can be a part of your next visit to the Des Moines area. Thank you again!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Mathiasfrom Switzerland

Extension of a business trip

Posted Nov 24, 2014 on Hotels.com
Stayed there for one night after a business trip before my return flight to Europe. I was positively suprised about everything. Service upon check-in was very friendly. I was asked what kind of room I would prefer. I personally liked the interiour, kind of modern and different from most of the other hotels I stayed. The restaurants in the neighborhood were rather busy, but this is normally a good sign. A good price for what I got and I would stay there again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 7, 2015 by Tim, Hotel Management
I am trhilled to share your comments with the team. WE take great pride in providing outstanding customer service and it is great to hear the positive feedback!