Ratings based on 287 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.1 out of 5
72% of guests recommend
3.4 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
2.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom river falls, wi

Overnight on a road trip

Posted Feb 21, 2015
The room was clean, the bed was very comfortable. Breakfast in the morning had a good variety of choices.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Quincy IL

Great price for a room in Des Moines IA

Posted Feb 10, 2015
Pros: Very easy access to Highways and places to eat, clean, friendly staff
Cons: Update the bathrooms and televisions (old fashioned tube types)
Hotel was clean and pleasant looking. Hard to find as it is located behind a Baymont Inn (they share a parking lot). First room I was given had a non-functional tv, but the staff quickly moved me to a new room and were very nice! My only real compaint is the bathroom mirror and shower head are very short. I am six foot and had to bend over to see my face in the mirror
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 21, 2015
Pros: It was convenient for the purpose of my trip
The hotel was located in the rear of another hotel and behind the Travelodge was a trucking parking storage. Needed updating.Breakfast bar was fairly sparse.No donuts no Danish no rolls.Hard biscuits hard English muffins . The first day they were out of coffee and the waffle m.ix dispenser was broken
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 18, 2015
We just needed a place to sleep. We arrived at 11:00 pm and left at 7:00 am. Lack of breakfast selections is my biggest complaint.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 1, 2014 on Hotels.com
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Deborah Lfrom princeton

needs a little work

Posted Oct 16, 2014 on Hotels.com
the room was not very clean, my friend, requested cleaning products,
1 out of 5
Recommended
by Lydiafrom CA

Questionable stay

Posted Oct 10, 2014 on Hotels.com
After informing front desk manager I had made an online reservation, she informed it hadn't shown up on her computer. Ok,that was fine. She then answered the phone & was answering a potential customer's call when her personal phone rings. She answered it & proceeded to have a non work related conversation. The customer hung up. She was not at all professional! The stairwells were so gross & dirty! The room was better but it smelled bad & was dirty behind the beds. The wi- fi didn't work & the front desk manager offered little help beyond her repeating the password! Then an hour into out stay, there's a knock at the door. They wouldn't go away so I finally got up to answer & it was a pan handler! Not the best experience!!!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Ian Cfrom Dallas, TX

Clean linen. Good location. Basic

Posted Oct 8, 2014 on Hotels.com
Bed was clean and comfortable. First room I was given smelt like cigarette smoke so I was moved to another without any issue. Very basic and a little run down and in need of some maintenance and updating.
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Michelefrom Iowa City, IA

Say What?

Posted Oct 5, 2014 on Hotels.com
My friend and I stayed for two nights, if I could have gotten a refund we would not have stayed at all. The first room had a line of ants walking across the wall and onto my bed. When we let the desk attendent know she informed us that it was not their fault, its the AC, in a tone that made it obvious that she thought it was our problem. She did not apologize but she switched our room, to the second floor because she said all the lower ones would have ants. ??? The second night we returned to the hotel room at ten to find our keys did not work. When we got to the front desk we had to wait for the night attendent finish yelling at her kids to get service. She did nothing, not even make eye contact, so we started the conversation. She said nothing to us except, "what room?" Then reprogrammed the keys - without even verifying I was the proper guest. I then let her know the big sticky spill we walked through on our way out that afternoon was still left at the top of the stairs only now spread out as people had been walking through it for 6 hours, she said "so?" I looked at her and explained i was tired  of walking through it, she handed me a mop! SAY WHAT?!? The next morning we explained everything to the day attendent who also did not apologize but told me to write it down so they could have proof cause "we've been trying to fire her." When we left at eleven that AM the spill and mop both remained where I left them. I only suggest this hotel if you want to pay to do their jobs for them.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

good place to stay--just not great

Posted Sep 29, 2014
Pros: the staff was very friendly
Cons: make a better breakfast buffet. more fruit choices, some yogurts...
Location: We stayed there because it was close by the Hyvee Event Center.
This is a good place to stay if you want a reasonable rate. Don't count on the breakfast though--Its a lot of bread and really nothing more. Breads, donuts, bagels, oatmeal, cereal, biscuits (with gravy if you want it) oatmeal, hard boiled eggs and waffles. Those are your choices. I forgot apples too. The staff is friendly and quick about whatever you need. The rooms are clean and the water gets HOT. The mattresses are hard and the beds on risers. Mine was a little "wiggly" when I got on it and rolled over during the night. For the price, it is a good value.