Ratings based on 1,141 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Heart of downtown

Posted Dec 17, 2014
Clean BIG rooms, the price was amazing for the location in the center of town. Across the street from Greektown and a strip club. All walking distance.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Norfolk, VA

Great visit to the Motor City

Posted Dec 15, 2014
Pros: Location was great. Easy access to Ford Field and shuttle service to Joe Louis Arena.
Location: Ford Field, Comerica Park, Loe Louis Arena. All sporting stadiums in easy reach, and right in the heart of Greek Town with lots of great restaurants.
Great stay in detroit from a Detroiter who now lives in Virginia. Home to see the Red ings and the Lions play, and we like to stay at the Atheneum when we visit because it is a great hotel in a great location.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Linwood, MI

Atheneum Hotel Meets Expectations

Posted Dec 14, 2014
Pros: Great valet/lobby staff. Always there to open doors and greet us.
Cons: I found the in-room coffee maker full of cloudy water when I tried to use it in the morning. I think someone forgot to empty/clean it.
Location: Close to site of party we attended: Niki's Pizza. Also across street from Greektown Casino. Dining at Fishbones is indoor access.
This hotel was recommended by friends who live in mid-MI. They had stayed for first time on Thanksgiving week-end. They said,"The Atheneum is now our favorite place to stay in Detroit." We appreciated the great location, wonderful staff and clean, comfortable room. The spacious two-room suite and well-appointed bathroom were most appreciated.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Northern IN

Fantastic Value

Posted Dec 9, 2014
Pros: Nice big rooms, good value, close to restaurants.
Cons: Give us a normal mini fridge to use for our own items.
Location: Walking distance to the stadiums and only 5 mins. off of 75.
Great experience across the board. All staff extremely polite and helpful. Checked in early with no problems or complaints, $20 parking via valet well worth it for me. Hotel is beautiful, clean, and close to what we traveled for. Rooms are large and fantastic, only complaint might be that the temp in the upper portion of the room stays quite a bit warmer than the bed area where the thermostat is. No big deal. ALSO, the mini fridge is stocked, and the items are on sensors. DO NOT REMOVE ANYTHING or they will try to charge you even if you put it back. I will add they removed all charges with no complaints when I told them I didn't consume anything I was simply poking around looking at what was available.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Algonac

Nice Suite! Close to all the HOT spots!

Posted Dec 8, 2014
Location: Casino Dinner Dancing
GREAT BIRTHDAY WEEKEND... WE ENJOYED OUR STAY! WE WERE WALKING DISTANCE TO ALL OF OUR FAVORITE VENUES.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to everything

Posted Dec 8, 2014
Good value. Shuttle & valet service fast and efficient.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom garden city, MI

Perfect all around!

Posted Dec 2, 2014
Staff were awesome and rooms were beautiful. Location was nice also for nightlife, dining and the casino!
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom w

Cheap. You get what you pay for

Posted Nov 28, 2014
It was ok. The furnace sounded like a semi truck starting up and was hot all night even with it on 60. The door to the room was so thin that you could hear crickets in the hallway. Anyone walking by you could hear. The shower handle fell off. Over the room needed some tlc. The staff were very friendly and helped out whenever we needed. The location is great. Next to the casino, greektwon and walking distance to campus martius.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very nice hotel around the corner from Greektown.

Posted Nov 20, 2014
Location: Very handy to Greektown. Easy access from the tunnel.
Surprisingly large, comfortable suite. A nice alternative from the more expensive name brand hotels in Greektown.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Bad Axe, Michigan

Nice Greektown hotel

Posted Nov 15, 2014
We always come to the area for the football game. Every time we try to stay here. The hotel is beautiful. It's located in Greektown, right across from the casino. Right next to a huge selection of restaurants and within walking distance of the football field. The staff is so friendly, it's almost like being at home!