Ratings based on 211 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Vonnie from Auburn Hills, MI

Posted Jun 17, 2014
Cons: They should have microwave ovens in the rooms.
Good experience. Staff was exceptional. He gave us good directions to our destination on Friday, June 13.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Ken from Shrewsbury, MA

Great Value, Great Location

Posted Jun 9, 2014
Pros: Very clean property, with a great little bar/restaurant. Cant beat the value.
Cons: The health club facilities are rather small.
Location: The hotel is right off of Opdyke Ave which provides easy access to the retail and food along its length and on the crossroads such as University Dr.
I've stayed at this Courtyard many times since it was redone. The location is close to Chrysler's campus and all major routes. The in-house restaurant, "The Bistro" has a great variety of choices and lots of smiles. Prices are really reasonable. Consistently clean, comfortable and with excellent service, staying here is always my first choice in the area.
2 out of 5
by Rob

Weeklong business stay

Posted May 27, 2014
Pros: People were very nice
Cons: Food and coffee options - No lines for a cup of coffee.
Location: Wass there on Business and did not get out other than to eat once in a while in the evening
First off the people were fantastic and this includes front desk, food service and Housekeeping. I stayed in room 112 and there was no screen on the patio so couldnt very well open the door and enjoy fresh air. My biggest peeve was the new food court setup. No free coffee AND I had to wait in line sometimes 10 minutes just to get a cup of coffee. Completely unacceptable. I dont know if Star Bucks owns Marriot or the other way around but not having coffee available in an alternate area because it has to be Star Bucks is crap. That business deal may benefit Marriot and Star Bucks but it doe not benefit the customer. There should be some type of free continental breakfast in the morning. I did not know this place was set up the way it was or I would have stayed someone that offers a simple free breakfast and a no wait coffee station. This was a big dissappoinment and I will not stay there in the future. There are many other competing Hotels in the area that offer everything I would want for the same price. And that is my honest review of the CourtYard Marriot in Auburn Hills - Detroit
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very nice.

Posted Apr 28, 2014
It was very nice. I would stay here again. It was comfortable and clean. The food in the cafe was quite expensive.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Stay!

Posted Apr 14, 2014
Other than the expensive beverages this hotel was perfect!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Beachlover from Grand Rapids, MI

Nice hotel, good security, decent price.

Posted Mar 30, 2014
Pros: Very quiet. No particular noise from the hallway or outside. Drapes that block out ALL light. Very friendly/helpful staff.
Cons: Less bleach used in the laundry. Installing low-flow toilets would save fresh water supplies.
Location: Count the boarded up crack houses and abandoned foreclosures, or count the potholes in the roads (there are tons). Pontiac is going down the toilet.
The room was small, but extremely clean. We didn't mind, though, because we only needed a room for the night. The toilet must have used 12 gallons of water to flush because it took forever - wasteful! I recommend bringing your own pillow, because although they look comfy, the pillows in the room were very hard once you put your head down. Also, the cleaning people put WAYYYY too much bleach in the laundry when they wash the sheets. My only other complaint was that the price of the food in the bistro was high. But then, all of the restaurants in the vicinity are crap food, so you're paying for the convenience of decent food. Oh, and the ac/heat was probably the quietest one I've ever seen in a hotel. You couldn't tell it was on unless you stuck your ear right up to it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

The big move- moving from the Detroit Area

Posted Mar 30, 2014
Selected this hotel from expedia choices, outstanding experience, wished we could have stayed longer. When traveling back to visit the kids - WE WILL STAY AT THIS LOCATION Thanks
3 out of 5
by brandi from f

Not too happy

Posted Mar 9, 2014
Was happy with the hotel room itself. Was very unhappy when we were told after the fact we had to pay extra due to using out debit card. That's not right you don't notify customers before making the reservations. It's not right going with the understanding of paying one amount and then get there and being told a different amount.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 30, 2014
Dear Brandi, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. I am very sorry for the miscommunication and/or the lack of communication at check in. We want each guest to be notified of exactly what will be authorized on your credit / debit card at check in. The additional amount over the room and tax amount, is exactly that, an authorization. That additional authorization will put a temporary hold on your card, but is not an actual charge. I have shared your comments with our Front Desk team to ensure the proper communication is taking place every time, without fail. Thank you for helping us improve our overall operation. Sincerely, Ron Sunde General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Kerry from Gaylord

Close to concert.

Posted Mar 3, 2014
Pros: Convenient. Well priced.
Cons: Nothing. Would stay again.
Location: Royal Oak Music Theatre. Detroit Zoo.
Desk staff on checking in flustered because 3 separate people checking in at once.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to shopping

Posted Feb 25, 2014
Pros: Rooms were decent size
Cons: Bathrooms need upgrading
Location: Close to a few different malls and right beside a tim hortons
The first room we stayed in smelt like smoke even though it is a non-smoking hotel. The attendant quickly found us a new room and was very apologetic. Minus that the hotel was nice and the staff was great.