Ratings based on 430 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 25, 2015
Pros: Location for my needs. It's near the COBO Center.
Cons: The little beverage and snack store has a limited selection.
Location: Not very familiar with the area, but the only option for a drink and food is Sweetwater Tavern. Everything else seems to be 5 blocks north.
Typical hotel experience. Limited bar/restaurant options within walking distance.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Gladstone, MI

Being close to the People Mover was great!

Posted Jan 20, 2015
Pros: Close to People Mover.
Great stay for a hockey game and the car show! Having the People Mover right in the building was very convenient. The staff was very friendly. Very happy with our stay!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 20, 2015
Pros: close to everything
Cons: rooms are clean but dated
We had a great time the Hotel is close to everything and ton the tram.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 20, 2015
Very nice hotel for the price. Clean, nice staff, and spacious rooms. the ony slight drawbacks were the constant hum of the People Mover (which was right outside my window) and the fact that they charge for parking. If you're a guest, parking should be free.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 27, 2014
Enjoyed my sty. It was close to where I neded to be.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Brooklyn, Michigan

Exceeded our Expectations!!!!

Posted Dec 23, 2014
Pros: Everything!!!!
Cons: Nothing
Location: Maritime Sailors Cathedral Church across the street. Too many locations to name here, if you want it -its there!!!! Greek Town is a must!!!!!
Wow. So Glad we chose to stay here!!! We visit Detroit quite a bit and have stayed at all of the Big Hotels downtown. This was our first time here at the Courtyard Marriott and I have to say we were super impressed. There were 5 adults in our party and all of us felt the same way. The staff is SUPER FRIENDLY and VERY PROFESSIONAL. We felt the service was comparable with our stays at high- end Las Vegas Hotels. We also recommend the Restaurant in the hotel for an excellent steak dinner. The morning breakfast buffet is plentiful and excellent also. We stayed on the 10th floor and it was quiet and peaceful, and there were guests staying all around us. The rooms were clean and I have to say the beds were some of the most comfortable we have had. Bathrooms are big and the wall window for viewing is spectacular at night. Also, the People Mover stops right inside the hotel so access to downtown is right there. I also highly recommend the shuttle service the hotel refers, the guys name is Tim and I believe the business is called Anytime Shuttle Service- the hotel will know. He took us to and from the Fox Theater for a show. He had Christmas Music Playing and drove us for a flat fee there and back . He took us by all of the Christmas Lights downtown, including the outdoor ice rink and some of the most Beautiful Holiday Lights and decorations downtown, with the music playing - it was Perfect and he was super Nice and Professional. Thank You to all of you!!!!!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Detroit MI

Summer in December.

Posted Dec 20, 2014
Room temperature would not go below 71 degrees. Very uncomfortable room temperature. Couch was stained.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Weekend Trip for Hockey and Football

Posted Dec 17, 2014
Pros: Convenience of location
Cons: never could figure out how to operate the thermostat to the room...the automatic temp settings were too hot and drying to my passages
Location: Redwings Hockey, Lions Football, only few blocks from theater district. The building where Motown Records got its start (but you need a car for that)
Chose this hotel because we were going to Detroit in December to see the Redwings and Lions play. Wasn't sure what the weather would be like so I chose this hotel since it has a stop inside the building by the Detroit People Mover monorail that circles downtown Detroit. This is very convenient if the weather is really cold or you are from Fla. and not entirely used to what a real winter can bring. The room was very spacious, very clean, and had a wonderfully hot shower with great water pressure. There is also a covered bridge/walkway from the hotel to the GM reneassance center. The staff were very friendly (as were all the Detroiters we came in contact with) and was very close to all the attractions one might want to go to while in Detroit.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom White Lake, MI

No complaints other than the room temp.

Posted Dec 9, 2014
Pros: Overall shape and location
Cons: Heating and cooling system
Location: Close to Redwings and Lions
The room was very clean an in nice shape including a very nice digital thermostat. The bad thing was the nice thermostat did nothing for us. The room was 77 degrees when we arrived so we turned the thermostat to 66 degrees as we like it cooler. The temp did not move from 77 degrees the entire stay. When I checked out I asked the clerk at the front desk what I was doing wrong. The response was that the system is old and is set for heat for the entire building so there is no cooling down the rooms at this time of year. Not the answer I was expecting. At a minimum, we should have been informed of this at check-in and they should offer fans or some way to cool down rooms for people that don,t like 77 as a temp.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not the best

Posted Nov 25, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: Bed, new bed cover, shower without bathtub, no bed skirt, clean sofa.
Location: Visit Guardian building. Cliff Bells for live music
While the location was good - next to the tunnel and on a people mover station the hotel is a bit worn. The bed appeared to have a dent in the middle which made it difficult to sleep and the sofa was stained.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 29, 2014 by Jon, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback, and the compliment on our location. Our guest room renovation starting in February 2015, will include all new mattresses. We hope to see you again and would be happy to recommend a few more architectural gems to check out downtown Detroit.. Jon C - General Manager