Ratings based on 395 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 29, 2014
The hotel staff were terribly rude and of no help when voicing concerns over checking in. The woman checking us in told us that our bank account would have a hold on it because they use an "old system" and laughed when I addressed the issue. The other woman up front seemed to also think that the situation was laughable when it obviously was not. I would not recommend this hotel or any of the hotels in this chain.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 4, 2014 by Jon, Hotel Management
Please accept my apology for the poor reception you received checking in to our hotel. Although I'm not aware of your specific circumstances, the age of a bank processing system is not a factor when reserving credit with a debit card. We recommend using cash when a hold on your debit card account is a concern as any remaining deposit is returned to you at check-out. Your bank is responsible for releasing the hold, and the number of days will depend on your banks policy. I do hope you will reconsider our hotel again when visiting downtown Detroit. Sincerely, Jon C – General Manager
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Old and funky

Posted Sep 24, 2014
The air conditioner was noisy - on and off constantly. The room smelled of bleach. Breakfast ended at 9:30 and no other food available in hotel until 4.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Comfortable stay close to stadiums

Posted Sep 21, 2014
We stayed here for a tigers game and enjoyed the stay. The room was clean and comfortable. It's also within walking distance of the football and baseball stadiums which was nice. The area was safe and I would stay here again if in the area.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Paw Paw, MI

Awesome hotel!

Posted Sep 15, 2014
Pros: Friendly staff. Clean! People Mover located in hotel. Spacious, comfy room. Super friendly, helpful staff!!
Cons: Beds were too soft.
Location: Conveniently located close to several things to do, but the People Mover being in the hotel was a quick and inexpensive way to get to other sites.
The hotel staff were friendly and accommodating. The hotel is beautiful, clean and had awesome amenities. The pool and fitness area were very nice. There was always several people around to answer our questions or assist us. We had two queen beds in a very spacious room with two teenagers and we were given a rollaway for no extra charge. Hotel is located close to several things to do in the city. Love, love, love the convenience of the People Mover located right in the hotel. We were in town or a Tigers game and took the People mover for .75 to within 2 blocks of the stadium. Awesome hotel!
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Rochester Hills, MI

Good location but worse service

Posted Sep 7, 2014
Pros: The location
Cons: Every thing needs the improvement
Location: very close to the Cobo Hall convention center.
The room did not had occupancy for 5th person, although we booked for 5 people. House keeping was terrible, ice box was not even cleaned & lined after previous user. Room was not vacuumed the second day we stayed there. They did not provide extra comforter even on asking. The room air conditioning stopped working in the middle of night & could not get fixed till 11:00 am. Hair dryer was not working in the bathroom. We were over charged in the cafe/ breakfast room. The staff were rude & not friendly. The bill was over charged by mistake and even after complaining to the manager & billing department my credit card has not been credited yet.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 23, 2014 by Jon, Hotel Management
Dear Fran, Thank you for taking the time to share feedback concerning your stay. Although it would be difficult to address each of your concerns without additional information, I do apologize for the inconvenience you experienced. We appreciate your business and hope to have another opportunity to regain your confidence. Jon C – General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom canada ont

Amazing view

Posted Aug 31, 2014
A very relaxed stay friendly staff easy to talk to I'll always look for a marriott.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 26, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Dallas

Perfect location in downtown Detroit!!

Posted Aug 26, 2014
Pros: Everything.
Cons: Nothing
Location: Greek casino near by. I loved going to the GMC Renissance building. View of Canada across the Detroit River was beautiful.
Staff was professional and friendly. Room had a beautiful view from the 20th floor. Easy check in and check out. Sliders for dinner were perfectly made with carmalized onions. We will definitely stay here again
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom KY

Not worth the high $$$ room rate

Posted Aug 25, 2014
Pros: Convenience to People Mover
Cons: Room maintenance must be a priority. You can have the best staff but if your rooms are not maintained, you will not have repeat business.
Location: Close to the Renaissance Center & has a public transportation hub right in the hotel which was a big plus.
The only saving grace for this hotel was the comfortable bed. Our room had a water damaged ceiling, light switches and appliances that didn't work but the biggest disappointment was the air wasn't working. Had to call Maintenance 2 times and finally we got a box fan to provide a small bit of relief. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful but the overall stay was not worth the money.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 27, 2014 by Jon, Hotel Management
I'm sorry to hear you did not enjoy your stay with us. We recently completed an extensive heating/air conditioning rejuvination project, and will look in to your circumstances further. Thank you for your feedback.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Visconde55from Boston

Excellent hotel!

Posted Aug 25, 2014 on Hotels.com
Just another very excellent Courtyard by Marriott! Quiet, clean and convenient, with an extremely friendly staff!