Ratings based on 293 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Busy weekend there

Posted Aug 25, 2014
Pros: The view, location and amenities were nice.
Our room was upgraded due to the wait at check in - waited almost 2 hours due to an event downtown, which was a benefit. At 3 in the morning an evacuation alarm went off that was a false alarm so my sleep was disturbed. No apology was given.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Battle Creek, MI

Big price poor quality and service

Posted Aug 19, 2014
This hotel was not a good value. For the price, I definitely expect more and I'm not usually one to complain. The furniture was filthy. The bathroom was tiny. Hotel staff was unfriendly and uninformed about their own services. The final straw was the location. This hotel is NOT walking distance to Comerica Park or Ford Field nor are their any restaurants within safe walking distance during the day or night. Had I known I would have paid more for a different hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 24, 2014 by Hugh, Hotel Management
Dear Laura, Thank you for taking the time to providing feedback on your recent stay. I wanted to apologize about the issues you experienced. We are consistently providing training to our staff to ensure they understand what our hotel has to offer and to be more familiar with our surrounding area. I hope you allow us another chance in the future to prove to you that we can meet and exceed your expectations. Thank you
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Way to go Crowne Plaza staff!

Posted Aug 19, 2014
Pros: The staff was genuinely friendly and concerned that we had a good stay.
Cons: Better signs directing us to the valet parking.
Location: We were there specifically to attend a concert at Ford Field and did not have time to explore or enjoy other amenities in the area.
Any minor inconveniences we experienced were more than made up for by the exceptionally pleasant and friendly staff. We booked two double beds but when we reached our room found we had received one king. I called and they immediately sent someone up with keys for our new room. We were very pleasantly surprised to find out they had upgraded us to a suite! The view of the Detroit River was fantastic. The room was comfortable and clean. We enjoyed our stay and would stay there again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from ontario, canada

Hotel close to comerica park

Posted Jul 27, 2014
Stayed 1 night to watch the tigers. The hotel staff are friendly and the streets feel safe outside the hotel during daytime. Nice hotel but it is dated. Carpets and furniture are worn but it is clean.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Late night lounge closed too so. Everything was fi

Posted Jul 22, 2014
Pros: Helpful staff
Cons: Late night lounge, breakfast menu on Sunday's.
Location: Fine
Only late night lounge closed when we got back from Tigers game.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from b

Convenience to venues

Posted Jul 22, 2014
It was ok. Restaurant s and bars closed too earlier $25 per day to park was ridiculous
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kitchener, ON

Clean, nice, empty hotel

Posted Jul 12, 2014
Cons: Taxi Service, lower price
Location: Do not depend on taxis. I've taken taxis in Mexico, Cuba and Columbia and the service in all those countries is better than you can get in Detroit.
Everything was fine but it was pretty expensive (for Detroit). The hotel staff was super nice. It has a small pool/hot tub area but since there was practically no one else at the hotel we had it all to ourselves. The rooms had a super tiny shower though.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Fireworks on monday night

Posted Jun 26, 2014
Pros: Location.
Cons: Carptets
Location: Good ones.
Good location, old hotel but it is nice. On monday 23th there were fireworks on the river between Canada and USA. The hotel was so crowded but it was a nice show.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Detroit Business Trip

Posted Jun 25, 2014
Pros: Staff, location was pretty good.
Cons: some updating of decor - more expanded restaurant menu
Location: I was pretty busy with business, but I did walk the River Walk one evening and that was very nice.
Nice hotel- a little dated. The room wasn't large, but I had a queen suite and it was very nice. The bathroom was kind of tiny. Staff was great- pleasant & acommodating. The restaurant has a very limited menu and service was not great one evening. I think they were over-whelmed. However, the waiter comped a breakfast one morning because we had to wait. I had a car and I was told when I went to pick-up the car that I needed to go back up to the check-in dek to have my ticket stamped before I could get my car. That should have been handled when I checked-in.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not a lot of bang for the buck.

Posted Jun 3, 2014
Expedia said valet wasn't included, but it didn't state it was a mandatory $25 extra per night. I can park at Greektown Casino and take the people mover over for way cheaper. The rooms were fine. The bathrooms had no draw fan or even passive air removal which caused it to be a sauna in there most of the day. It also caused the TP and tissues to be like disintegrating wet wipes. The view was nice. Location was good. The hallways felt clostrophobic at the ends.