Ratings based on 782 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Grand Rapids, MI

Wife B-Day Weekend!

Posted Sep 8, 2014
Pros: I'm finally able to find my way around:) Extremely nice views being on the water!
Cons: Not much! I like the updated rooms...
Location: What can you not do in downtown Detroit! Love the place with year around activities!
Overall I liked the hotel. We usually stay here once or twice a year. On this stay we were put in the updated room which was in fact very comfortable. My reason for a 4 star review is that we only had one towel, no (Caffeinated) coffee, and two tea bag choices one of which was decaffeinated... Yes, I need my caffeine in the morning. We of course did not see these issues until the next morning as we like to get out and see the town. Overall though I always enjoy the stay and like the improvements!
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 14, 2014 by Ami, Hotel Management
Hello and thank you for posting. We definitely appreciate the four stars and your positive feedback. That being said, please know that we are terribly sorry for the housekeeping issues you noted regarding your towels, etc. Once again we do appreciate you staying, and hope to see you again soon.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from michigan

Nice hotel close to comerica park.

Posted Sep 8, 2014
Nice hotel. Not very kid friendly. Our room was a double bed and was tight with a pack and play. Not many kid friendly food options in the complex.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Great weekend.

Posted Sep 8, 2014
My wife and on stayed for two nights and had a wonderful time. The staff was very friendly and helpful. We were upgraded to a room on the 64th floor with a spectacular view.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 13, 2014 by Ami, Hotel Management
Hello and thank you for visiting. We love seeing glowing five star reviews from guests such as yourself! We appreciate the feedback and look forward to seeing you again soon.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not prepared but great location

Posted Sep 2, 2014
Went for an eminem concert so the hotel was sold out but they were not organized. Waited in like for over two hours to check in, only for them to say the room wasn't ready and this was at 530 pm..... check in started at 3. Ridiculous that I had to wait that long and then not have a room right away.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 8, 2014 by Ami, Hotel Management
Hello and thank you very much not only for visiting, but also for posting your review. We are terribly sorry for the issues you experienced at check-in the weekend of Eminem. Please know that we have passed your comments to our general manager for her review. We truly are very sorry and hope that you will in fact visit again in the future.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lansing MI

Detroit Renaissance Center

Posted Aug 31, 2014
The hotel itself is quite luxurious and comfortable. However, we had a less than perfect experience while staying there. We had requested a King-sized room with a rollaway bed, and we had requested a refrigerator. We stayed there for a concert in downtown Detroit. I confirmed the rollaway bed and refrigerator at check-in, but just before we left for the concert, neither had arrived in our room. I called the front desk, reminding them that we hadn't received the bed or refrigerator yet. They told us that they were still being delivered. However, when we returned from the concert, there was still no extra bed and no fridge. I tried calling the front desk several times and no one answered. In the end, I shared the King bed with my two teen girls, and my cold food spoiled. The hotel did give me a discount at MY request (i.e. they didn't offer it, I had to ask.) The options for food at the hotel were sub-par. The giant food court on the lower level only opened 2 or 3 restaurants at one time. Most of other restaurants in the hotel were closed as well. For a hotel with over 1000 rooms, that is unacceptable. We found the prices for breakfast in the Volt restaurant to be prohibitive for a simple breakfast buffet, so we opted for McDonalds in the food court. That was a disaster, repeatedly incorrect orders waiting in line for over 1/2 an hour! It seems that there simply wasn't enough staff on hand to handle the hotel's needs for an otherwise enjoyable weekend.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 4, 2014 by Ami, Hotel Management
Hello Jen and thank you for taking the time to post. On behalf of our entire team here in Detroit, we are truly sorry for the issues you experienced while visiting last week for the concert. We truly are sorry for the inconveniences and have passed all comments directly to our general manager for her review. Thank you for taking the time to post and we do hope to see you again soon.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hamilton, on Can.

Nice hotel easy acces to highay and downtown event

Posted Aug 26, 2014
hotel was closes to downtown and a good place to plan any activety
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 31, 2014 by Ami, Hotel Management
Hello Frank and thank you for the glowing five stars! We appreciate you visiting and taking the time to post. Thank you again and safe travels.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 25, 2014
It took 2.5 hours to check in. We waited in a chaotic line for 2.5 hours! It was unorganized. I have never seen anything like it in my entire life. We only got a $30 hotel credit, probably because we were actually polite and didn't put up a huge fuss like many others did. It was honestly very disappointing as we didn't even have time for dinner before we had to be at the event we were in town for. I would never go back here after that experience.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 30, 2014 by Ami, Hotel Management
Hello and thank you for taking the time to post. We are truly sorry for any and all issues you experienced while visiting, particularly with check-in. Please know that we do appreciate your feedback and we have passed your comments to our general manager for her review. Thank you and once again, we apologize.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from cleveland, ohio

Terrible terrible stay

Posted Aug 25, 2014
Pros: nothing
Cons: costumer service; guest organizatoin; towels in room were wet and cold
I have never been more in disappointed in a hotel stay. Upon arriving at the Detroit Marriott, my guest and I were confronted with a never ending line to check in. After watiing 20 or so minutes, we were told by a member of the staff that the linen had not arrived at the hotel yet, so that there was no way to clean the dirty rooms in order to check in new guests. We were told that if we left and came back at a later date, our room would be ready and we would recieve 75 dollars off our bill. We were told that if we continued to wait in the check-in line, it could be over a 2 hour wait. My guest and I were attending a concert that evening, so we decided to get ready in the bathroom hotel, which many other people were doing, and then go to the concert. We arrived back at the Detroit Marriott around 12:30 AM, and there was still a line to check in. Eventually I was able to speak with an employee at the front desk. As she was checking me in, I reminded her of the 75 dollar compensation we were to receive due to not being able to check into our room hours ago. She began to tell me that she could not take the money directly off my bill, but said she could give me 75 dollars in hotel credit. I commenced to tell her that this would not be appropriate and that I was originally told the 75 dollars would be taken directly off the bill. She was rude and completely unreasonable; she said that because i booked through Expedia there was nothing she could do.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 30, 2014 by Ami, Hotel Management
Hello HMB and thank you for taking the time to post such an extensive review of your stay. We have passed your comments to our general manager and while we do apologize, we also understand how terribly frustrating the situation was for our guests. Thank you once again and please travel safely.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from ohio

Long wait to check in!

Posted Aug 25, 2014
Arrived at hotel at approx. 3:20pm it was just after 6:00pm when we got through the check in line. There were lots of people and there was a wedding going on. When someone from the wedding showed up they got to go to the front if the Line.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 31, 2014 by Ami, Hotel Management
David, thank you for visiting and for taking the time to post. We have forwarded your review and comments to our general manager for her review. We're terribly sorry for the issues you experienced last weekend at check-in. We truly are sorry and we hope that you will return again in the future.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from ohio

3 hour wait to check in to the room

Posted Aug 25, 2014
Hotel was so ill-prepared and unwilling to help, anyone who had a room on this day ended up waiting in a 3 hour line that wrapped around the building. I ended up being downgraded rooms but still charged the same. NEVER AGAIN.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 31, 2014 by Ami, Hotel Management
Hello Adam and thank you for posting. We have passed your comments directly to our general manager for her review. On behalf of our entire team, please know that we are terribly sorry for the issues you experienced last weekend while trying to check-in. We hope that you will visit again and experience our Detroit icon in a more positive way.