Ratings based on 559 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Nice Hotel for Southfield

Posted Aug 8, 2014
Comfortable rooms and good standard of food in Grill
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Detroit

Nice hotel and affordable

Posted Aug 4, 2014
Pros: Room comfort and cleanliness
Cons: Try just a little harder to filter out non-qualified hospitality personnel.
Location: Location is near a freeway, but the road it's actually on is horribly bumpy. There isn't anything to do within walking distance.
The hotel was perfect in many aspects. It is clean and well maintained. The TV remote even worked. The bed was some type of memory foam and extremely comfortable. The only issue was a somewhat cocky girl at the front desk. Since I'm always well mannered and kind I get annoyed by those that are not and she definitely was not. Everyone else was ok though.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Houston

Convenient location to Telegraph Road

Posted Jul 26, 2014
Pros: Location, hotel staff
Cons: Restaurant
Location: Not much to do within walking distance but there are many nearby restaurants only a few minutes away by car
Stayed on the concierge level where the service and the hotel personnel were excellent
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from South Bend IN

Nice place, bad timing

Posted Jul 21, 2014
Pros: Our room was very nice. We had a problem with internet service and had a very helpful technician lead us through the solution.
Cons: Well, it would be nice to isolate individual guests from these large party groups, or at the very least, someone could have warned us.
Location: The hotel is farther than you would expect off the interstate, and the road had terrible potholes. Still, you can get downtown in a matter of minutes.
We started a three-day stay on a Thursday while we were visiting family nearby. Everything was fine the first night. On Friday night, after being with our family all day, we returned about 11 p.m. and found the lobby jam-packed with people. There were two huge family reunions scheduled. Since these were all-ages events, a lot of unsupervised children were running through the halls long after bedtime. Also, a lot of adults were socializing in the hallways in loud voices. I understand that most hotels need to book large groups to be profitable. I just didn't expect it at an upscale hotel like this one. One of the things you pay for at a Marriott is the expectation of better behavior from fellow guests.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from st. louis, mo

Posted Jul 14, 2014
Pros: very kid friendly
Location: The hotel was very helpful in giving me a list of restaurants and shipping malls in the area.
My room was clean, the hotel staff was very friendly and helpful. The pool was in great condition, they had plenty of towels and chairs for all.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by Rodney U Bellamy

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 30, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 28, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Dominique from Memphis, tn

Would have stayed longer

Posted May 28, 2014 on Hotels.com
The bed was everything. I wish I could stayed longer. Was in town for a bachelorette party.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Wilson

Posted May 23, 2014 on Hotels.com
Breakfast coupon is only 2 per room and one day room service forgot to clean the room when we back in evening.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 9, 2014 by Nancy, Hotel Management
Thank you for choosing the Detroit Marriott Southfield for your most recent stay. I have received your comments, and on behalf of the Marriott Detroit Southfield team, I apologize that your stay here was not up to Marriott standards you have come to expect. I have carefully read over your concerns and have discussed your comments with the approriate departments. We are always looking for ways to improve our facility and feedback is extremely important to our team. I hope you will try our facility next time you may be in the Southfield area. We look forward to creating your Marriott experience the next time you are in the area.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Quiet stay

Posted May 20, 2014 on Hotels.com
I had no problems at this hotel. It was quiet, clean, and everything worked well except for hit-and-miss wifi. I connected to the lobby wifi and those problems went away. I'd stay here again.