Ratings based on 555 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Nice Hotel for Southfield

Posted Aug 8, 2014
Comfortable rooms and good standard of food in Grill
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Detroit

Nice hotel and affordable

Posted Aug 4, 2014
Pros: Room comfort and cleanliness
Cons: Try just a little harder to filter out non-qualified hospitality personnel.
Location: Location is near a freeway, but the road it's actually on is horribly bumpy. There isn't anything to do within walking distance.
The hotel was perfect in many aspects. It is clean and well maintained. The TV remote even worked. The bed was some type of memory foam and extremely comfortable. The only issue was a somewhat cocky girl at the front desk. Since I'm always well mannered and kind I get annoyed by those that are not and she definitely was not. Everyone else was ok though.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Houston

Convenient location to Telegraph Road

Posted Jul 26, 2014
Pros: Location, hotel staff
Cons: Restaurant
Location: Not much to do within walking distance but there are many nearby restaurants only a few minutes away by car
Stayed on the concierge level where the service and the hotel personnel were excellent
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from South Bend IN

Nice place, bad timing

Posted Jul 21, 2014
Pros: Our room was very nice. We had a problem with internet service and had a very helpful technician lead us through the solution.
Cons: Well, it would be nice to isolate individual guests from these large party groups, or at the very least, someone could have warned us.
Location: The hotel is farther than you would expect off the interstate, and the road had terrible potholes. Still, you can get downtown in a matter of minutes.
We started a three-day stay on a Thursday while we were visiting family nearby. Everything was fine the first night. On Friday night, after being with our family all day, we returned about 11 p.m. and found the lobby jam-packed with people. There were two huge family reunions scheduled. Since these were all-ages events, a lot of unsupervised children were running through the halls long after bedtime. Also, a lot of adults were socializing in the hallways in loud voices. I understand that most hotels need to book large groups to be profitable. I just didn't expect it at an upscale hotel like this one. One of the things you pay for at a Marriott is the expectation of better behavior from fellow guests.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from st. louis, mo

Posted Jul 14, 2014
Pros: very kid friendly
Location: The hotel was very helpful in giving me a list of restaurants and shipping malls in the area.
My room was clean, the hotel staff was very friendly and helpful. The pool was in great condition, they had plenty of towels and chairs for all.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Quiet stay

Posted May 20, 2014 on Hotels.com
I had no problems at this hotel. It was quiet, clean, and everything worked well except for hit-and-miss wifi. I connected to the lobby wifi and those problems went away. I'd stay here again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Tom from Tiffin!, OH

One night in May 2014

Posted May 19, 2014 on Hotels.com
Southfield Marriott was as expected; clean and decent enough for a one night stay. My wife had a seminar in the hotel. Room was clean and quiet . I took in the workout room and pool. Both were clean and well maintained. Front desk staff was kind, esp. Sharon who checked us in. There are decent restaurants within five minutes....hotel itself is located at the far end of a service drive.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Don from Salem, OR

Posted May 18, 2014 on Hotels.com
Terrible road to get there, classic Marriott comfort inside. Nice restaurant. Old, kind of dirty carpet in the hallways.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 18, 2014 on Hotels.com
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Southfield, MI

Relaxing for the weekend

Posted May 7, 2014 on Hotels.com
The best part: the whirlpool, me and better half was able to unwind and relax from the week. The 2nd best part: the room was clean and nice, although one of our pillows had sum stain so we asked for new pillows. The service: Not too good. There was free breakfast included with our stay. But when we went for breakfast the waiter gave us a check for $27 & sum change. It was corrected but avoidable if some way the people who work for that department will know that sum guests will have breakfast incl. with their stay. We found this hotel at a good rate for the weekend that was one of the specific reasons why we booked this hotel. Sometimes there are sum issues when a room is booked with a convenient rate. Also, there is a holding deposit with a credit card to stay at this chain of Marroitt that was another hang up that we were not aware of from booking this hotel. So, the free breakfast included making sure the guest does not have to go to the front desk to make sure there's no charge. The holding deposit for hotels that have one should be visual and known to the people booking within the reservation notes for any hotel booking. Overall, nice but avoidable irritation.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 9, 2014 by Nancy, Hotel Management
Thank you for choosing the Detroit Marriott Southfield for your most recent stay. I have received your comments, and on behalf of the Marriott Detroit Southfield team, I apologize that your stay here was not up to Marriott standards you have come to expect. I have carefully read over your concerns and have discussed your comments with the approriate departments. We are always looking for ways to improve our facility and feedback is extremely important to our team. I hope you will try our facility next time you may be in the Southfield area. We look forward to creating your Marriott experience the next time you are in the area.