Ratings based on 959 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Green Bay WI

What's Up With That!

Posted Jul 2, 2015
Pros: Good Location, mini fridge and microwave were useful. Everyone likes a bedroom with a door.
Cons: The linens need fabric softener, towels also. Get the sports channel that covers your Detroit teams.
Location: Comerica park is just a few blocks away. The nicest stadium I've been in. It even has the coolest carousel with a tiger for every rider.
Every time I lowered the temperature it kept going back up. The Room cable does not have the sports channel that covers its very own Detroit Tigers. Really! So why? You think we'll go down and buy your over priced beer to watch the game. No thanks. By the way, the so-called happy hour prices are a joke. The linens really need some fabric softener. The staff were very nice, the policies is what's wrong.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from chicago

Excellent service

Posted Jun 23, 2015
Pros: everything you need is on site or nearby.
Location: Excellent location, quick access to attraction, sporting venues and the airport.
The rooms were clean and well maintained. The service staff was professional and friendly.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Arlington, TX

Great Hotel Close to Everything

Posted Jun 22, 2015
This is a very nice hotel. Great, attentive staff. When we first pulled into town, we went straight to the hotel and upon pulling up out front, asked the valet if we could check in early. (We had driven in from Cincinnati and were tired.) He replied I'm sure you can. Then, when we asked where could we get something to eat, he directed us to a restaurant a few blocks away and gave us the name of another valet (at the hotel beside the restaurant) and told us to ask for him and he would take care of us. We did and he handled parking our car and whisking our starving party into the restaurant. That was great service. After lunch, we returned to the hotel and checked in, whereupon we were given warm cookies. (The kids really enjoyed that.) The rooms were clean and well laid out. The restaurant onsite (which I think is only open for breakfast and lunch) was reasonably priced and the food was excellent. There is a bar onsite. The manager there works really hard to get the bar upbeat, and on Thursday night there was a vocalist performing. The drinks were great and the atmosphere encouraged mingling with others at the bar. I think on one of the days in our stay our room wasn't cleaned, and upon sharing this information with the front desk, we were given coupons for a complimentary breakfast. That was a good gesture seeing that our room wasn't cleaned upon our return that evening. All is all a hotel that I would definitely recommend when visiting Detroit.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Grand Rapids, MI

One night stay.

Posted Jun 20, 2015
The staff was very welcoming and informative. There is shuttle for guests which was a nice surprise. Everything was great.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Walking distance to most

Posted Jun 18, 2015
My only complaint is that valet took my garage door opener thinking it was theirs and I didn't realize this until I was pulling in to my house 2 hours later. It also took valet a really long time to bring my vehicle around for a much as you are charged for it. Other than that, hotel itself is nice, and beds are very comfy
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from MARION,OHIO

NICE HOTEL. CLOSE TO COMERICA PARK.

Posted Jun 18, 2015
Pros: NICE LOCATION. HAS SHUTTLE SERVICE.
Location: NICE LOCATION. CLOSE TO FORD FIELD,COMERICA PARK,CASINOS AND RESTAURANTS.
NICE HOTEL CLOSE TO BALLPARKS. CLOSE TO THE PEOPLE MOVER AND IT ALSO HAS A SHUTTLE SERVICE.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from perth Amboy, NJ

Excellent value

Posted Jun 15, 2015
Pros: The fact that the accommodations were suites and close to the people mover.
Cons: The air conditioning and the valet staff
Location: Pretty good. The hotel offered free shuttle service for downtown and only a block away from people mover stop
The suites were spacious, the cookies hot, and the rooms equipped with refrigerators, microwaves and coffee makers. The staff was courteous, friendly, and very responsive to my requests. The only down side was the 2 hour checking because Expedia took my payment but never made the reservation at the hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kalamazoo, MI

Good hotel easy walking distance

Posted Jun 14, 2015
Pros: Very welcoming staff.
Location: Was easy walking distance to the athletic arenas , which was my reason fro being there.
Could walk everywhere I wanted to go and the hotel was comfortable and accommodating.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Genuine staff

Posted Jun 8, 2015
The hotel was very comfortable with large rooms, clean bathrooms and an excellent fitness facility compared to other hotels. We were there for an entire week while at a conference and the extra living space made a huge difference. The hotel felt safe and had a small cafe downstairs where guests could get a morning coffee and grab some breakfast to go. What really made this hotel stand out was how friendly and nice every hotel employee was. They went above and beyond to make sure that you had what you needed and did what ever they could to make something right if you had a concern. One staff member even excused himself from what he was doing to grab the hotel shuttle and drive me personally to the bus station when I asked if he could call me a cab. With a warm cookie to great us and a personal drive to the bus station when we were leaving, it was a very good experience from start to finish. I would definitely choose doubletree as my hotel of choice for next time.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Jackson, MI

We were amazed at the restoration of this hotel.

Posted May 24, 2015
Pros: Comfort, convenience and the food and restaurant options on site.
Location: We were going to the DSO- easy to get there- next day also an easy drive to the DIA.
Staff friendly and welcoming. Having watched this building decline in the years we lived in downtown Detroit, it was exciting to see what a renaissance it has had!