Ratings based on 1,316 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 15, 2014
Cons: Smells of smoke terribly.
Location: Gambled at the casino.
Nice get away weekend. The little shops nearby are great.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Michigan

First time experience

Posted Oct 9, 2014
Pros: Close to all of the action that is within walking distance.
I thought the price was a bit much, but with casinos on the weekend, I suppose that it cannot be avoided. The room was nice, but a bit smaller than I had anticipated. The one thing that bothered me was that there were not ANY washclothes, anywhere! Plus, there were only about 2 kleenex tissues in the kleenex holder, but not an extra box to refill with. I had an out-of-town guest with me, and I don't think they were overly impressed.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 13, 2014 by Betsy, Hotel Management
Thank you for sharing your review with us. We are very grateful to have had you and your out of town guest, stay with us. We are very sorry to hear that you were without a washcloth and tissue. We do hope that our housekeeping team was as to provide these to you. We are working on making many great improvements to the overall property and we hope that we will have the pleasure of serving you again soon!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from MI

Nice hotel close to Ford Field

Posted Oct 7, 2014
When I called before my stay to get some questions answered, the lady at the front desk that I spoke to was extremely rude. She barely listened to my questions before cutting me off, and every answer was short. If I didn't need that hotel for the Lions game, I would have switched hotels. When we arrived, that lady was the complete opposite and very helpful. Later, we found that we couldn't take outside/unopened alcoholic beverages up to the room which would have been nice to be made aware of before. The staff was rude at that point as well which was very frustrating. The quality of the hotel is very nice, but the attitudes of the staff need some work.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 13, 2014 by Betsy, Hotel Management
Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. We will be sure to inform our team of your review and correct any inappropriate behavior. We are very sorry for your experience during your stay. We are also sorry that you were not well informed about our outside beverage policy. Unfortunately, we do not all any beverages to enter and exit our property. We do hope that you will be back to see us again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Other
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 4, 2014
Pros: Clean. Great view. Loved the free valet parking
Cons: Way to people mover inside for those under 21
I was there (female) with my 19y.o. daughter. We were there to see a concert at the Filmore. When we went to go on the people mover, we were not allowed to walk through the casino because she was not 21. We were told to return to the lobby and walk outside. Of course it was raining. The concert didn't get over until 11pm. Once in Greektown, we ate and then had to make our way back to the hotel where we were approached by two homeless men begging for money. Then we had to proceed past the then empty parking lot and across to the hotel. It was a very uncomfortable and slightly scary experience. One of the reasons we chose this hotel was because I knew the people mover had a stop there. Not being able to access through the safety of the hotel, will keep me from returning. This is very unfortunate as we always visit Greektown during our stay in Detroit, and staying at the hotel was so convenient. The rest of our stay was great, so it is sad we will not be able to stay there again. We have stayed at two other hotels downtown, both of which do have indoor access, and this is where we will have to stay in the future.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 14, 2014 by Betsy, Hotel Management
Thank you for sharing your review with us. We are very sorry to hear that you were not directed properly to the People Mover station. In the future, please know that you can access the People Mover Station via Trappers Alley. If you simply enter Trappers Alley from Monroe Street and walk to the stairwell near Five Guys, you can access the entrance. We hope this helps! We are very unhappy to hear that this trouble has caused you to not wish to return to the hotel. We do hope that with this information, you will now feel comfortable returning. Thank you for choosing Greektown as your hotel accommodations during your visit to Detroit.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Winnipeg

Stay and Play

Posted Oct 3, 2014
Pros: Great location near sports venues and great restaurants.Friendly and helpful staff.
Cons: Larger non smoking area in the Casino
Location: Great restaurants and Bars within walking distance.Even a strip bar in the guise of a Greek sports bar.
Nice clean room.Nice view of derelict property waiting for development. Need more hotels in the area to draw people to downtown.Hopefully new Wings rink will provide impetus for this.Will definitely return and recommend to others. Lost a few bucks at the casino,but had fun doing it.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 14, 2014 by Betsy, Hotel Management
We are so happy to have had you come to stay with us all the way from Winnipeg! Our location in Detroit makes it easy to find great places to dine and enjoy. We hope that you will be back to see us again soon!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from sarnia ontario

Excellent hotel. Easy walking to Ford Field and Co

Posted Sep 29, 2014
Had a great time with the family kids and grandkids went to a Lions game very safe. close to Greektown restaurants.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 4, 2014 by Betsy, Hotel Management
Thank you for sharing your review with us. We are so happy that you and your family were able to enjoy a stay with us during the football game. Our location is the best in the city for walkability. We hope to have you back to see us again soon!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel scary casino

Posted Sep 24, 2014
The hotel was nice but the casino was scary. The bottom floor of the casino is near the street and bums come in and ask for money while your playing machines. I would not recommend staying here.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 26, 2014 by Betsy, Hotel Management
Thank you for sharing your review with us! We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Our location can’t be beat! We are definitely the best in the city. We hope that we will be able to serve you again very soon!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Michigan

Nice Casino Hotel

Posted Sep 21, 2014
Pros: The hotel was clean, had a nice view from a higher level room.
Cons: Would be nice if the hotel bathroom had a double sink, kind of small for 2 people getting ready at the same time.
Location: Lots of things to do nearby, Comerica Park, restaurants, etc.
Stayed at Greek Town Casino Hotel one night stay. Nice hotel, clean, staff was friendly. Enjoyed the non-smoking gaming area!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto, ontario

Nice and clean....

Posted Sep 14, 2014
My wife and I stayed one night in this hotel and the experience was great. The rooms were clean and modern. The location can't be beat. You pay a little more for this hotel but it is worth it....
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 23, 2014 by Betsy, Hotel Management
We are so pleased that you were able to travel down from Toronto to stay with us! Our prime location provides our guest with easy access to many of Detroit’s best attractions. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your room as well. We can’t wait to see you back soon!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Mexico-city

Totally overpriced

Posted Aug 28, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: This hotel should cost maximum US$ 180,-- and hace 3 stars.
Location: Nice greek restaurants in the area
Totally overpriced hotel / the hotel staff, specialy at the front desk are not kind / I do not understand why so many travellers rated this hotel positively. The restaurants are just expensive / poor food quality. Never again