Ratings based on 184 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by Sunny from Troy MI

Cold showers, ants, lazy manager, LOUD xpressway

Posted May 30, 2014
Pros: The oven and soap.
Cons: I just said ^ above
Location: Find a store to buy a good set of ear plugs for the highway noises, and also a good pair of rubber bots in case it rains.
If you like your shower to turn ice cold after 5 mins, this is the place for you. Upon getting into the bathroom, the door would not shut. Door too big for door frame. VERY uncomfortable nt being able to have privacy while in bathroom. After getting into bed, I thought a terrible thunder storm was coming through, only to find out it was the trucks on the expressway 20 yards from our room. 24/7. I called front desk, no other rooms available. No sleep for the 1st two nights. Room had an awkward set up. T.V, was far away from bed, s that you had to sit on the sofa if you wanted to watch before sleep. Getting ready to leave, taking my luggage out to car, to find the parking lot in more than a foot of water, due to rain. I had to walk through it to move my car to higher ground, which was difficult t find. My shoes and half of my pant leg was soaked. Had to dog thru my bag to get a change of clothes. VERY Poor parking lot design, Had low spots, plus HUGE pot holes. The first night I hit one and scraped the spoiler on my car:/ Checking out, complained to front desk, I saw the manager in her office, listening to my complaints, and not once came out to address them. Just sat on her bottom, looked over at me, then looked away. So professional. Had t wait 15 mins for my $100.00 'deposit' ( front desk said a mandatory fee in case I break something) I've been t 5 star hotels, and 40 buck a night hotels and never had a 'deposit'. They have my credit card on file, so I didn't get this.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

No AC, no return

Posted May 27, 2014
Cons: Overall room and building maintenance (stairs to upper level appear to be near the end of their life).
Location: Great location, no doubt about that.
I chose this location for proximity and positive reviews on Expedia. I left angry due to an ineffective AC - room temperature got up to 84 degrees at 9pm with AC running. Very disappointing,not much else to make up for this.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Just okay

Posted May 26, 2014
We checked in on a Friday night and the first room they gave us looked as though someone else was staying there. They switched our room but when we returned our room keys didn't work. Breakfast was a disaster. They ran out of everything before the end of breakfast. Tables were very dirty and there was only one person on duty. Would not stay again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cleveland

Hotel experience

Posted May 26, 2014
Good hotel for the price. . Stayed in building 12 it was quiet.
2 out of 5
by Noreen from wyandotte, mi

Stay at hawthorn at syndrome troy

Posted May 12, 2014
Pros: How close it was located to the function we were going to attend. It had handicapped rooms available.
Cons: Hmmm...I would have to think hard
Location: It was close to the competition and there were many restaurants to eat meals.l
The advertisement for the hotel said that it had a swimming pool and hot tub but didn't mention that it was outdoor and not open until memorial day. Since I had grandchildren and that point was a deciding factor in staying there it was very disappointing. Then the girls wanted to have a tub bath and the stopper that was part of the tub wouldn't stay down. The hotel was notified of this and said they would send maintenance who never showed up. I asked for a wake up call for 5 a.m. and they didn't call till 6:30 a.m. which would have made us late for my granddaughters dance competition. We needed to be ready for breakfast by 7 a.m. and have our car packed and ready to go. We went for breakfast for 7 which was late and the food was awful. Overall I was very disappointed in my stay and with expedia and this was my first time to use the site. I would never stay at this establishment again. When I arrived I was asked to pay another $100.00 for incidentals? This was on top of the money paid for the room.
3 out of 5
by Robert from California

Nice hotel next to noisy freeway

Posted May 7, 2014
This is a 4 star experience ruined by the loud noises from the adjacent freeway. What good is a hotel if you can't sleep due loud, empty trucks rolling down the highway all night?!
3 out of 5
by Mandi from St. Johns, MI

Not what I expected

Posted Apr 24, 2014
Pros: The kitchen area was decent.
Cons: Accurate advertising, condition of bathroom.
Location: We stayed here after a Pistons game.
The hotel should not advertise there is a fireplace in the room if you are not allowed to use it. Paint on the bathroom walls was bubbled, chipped, and peeling. There was too much outside noise for me to be able to sleep.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Cecilia from Louisville, KY

Very cozy hotel - close to office meeting in Troy.

Posted Mar 20, 2014
Pros: The comfort and coziness of the bed and kitchenette.
Cons: Larger TV - hard to see from bed, but nice if sitting on the couch.
Location: Troy, MI - close to tons of shopping and restaurants.
I wasn't sure what to expect when I arrived. The hotel looked more like condos. But as I walked in and turned on some lights, I was pleasantly surprised. It was neat, clean and cozy. The buildings are older, but comfortable - especially if you have stay a couple of nights or more.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel and close to great shopping

Posted Mar 18, 2014
Pros: Convenient location
Cons: Would like on site work out room
Our first visit but we'll be back. Nice spacious room, friendly staff and great hot breakfast
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice Hotel, very clean..

Posted Mar 9, 2014
Pros: Everything! Very comfortable. Lots of space and a great sitting area as well as dining area!
Cons: Pillows were the only thing I had a problem with.. To soft for me!!
Location: Very nice location, close to shopping and restaurants!
Had a great stay at the Hawthorn Suites... Room was very up to date and clean. Wonderful place to stay for a night or a few days. The kitchenette was a plus. And the room was perfect in every way. Very spacious, lots of closet space..