Ratings based on 135 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by James from Monroe

Old hotel in a nice area

Posted Mar 20, 2015 on Hotels
A little overpriced... But a nice area
Comment from Hotel Management
May 30, 2015 by Randall, Hotel Management
Dear James, Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay at our hotel. We do have an older hotel but we have the best staff in town!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from canton mi

Ratchet hotel

Posted Mar 17, 2015
Loud kids and adults running throughout the halls. Unattended kids in all flours The swimming pool area was overcrowded and unruly. I wanted and threatened to call police. The front desk staff acted as if we were bothering them
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 24, 2015 by GM, Hotel Management
Dear ruth, Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay at our hotel. I am very sorry that some unruly kids ruined your stay. Our weekends do get busy and we have staff on to help quit the kids down but too many unattended kids creates problems for everyone! I hope you will give us another chance on a slower weekend so you can enjoy yourself. Sincerely, Randall Richmond General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel and price

Posted Mar 10, 2015
We were very pleased with our stay. The only thing that would have made the stay perfect is the staff making sure the pool and hot tub facilities were equipped with parental guidance. There were way too many kids running around the pool/hot tub areas unsupervised. We weren't able to use those facilities, which was very disappointing.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Florida

Definitely needs updating

Posted Mar 5, 2015
Couldn't control heat/air. Air vent in bathroom was a joke, and only turned on when light was on. Floor was dirty outside of tub. Room smelled old. Breakfast buffet was fine, the server was wonderful. Lobby staff was helpful too. For the price, very disappointed in the hotel; won't go back.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 6, 2015 by Randall, Hotel Management
Dear Kathleen, I am very sorry your stay was anything less than enjoyable. I have discussed your comments with our team & we will work to make the needed changes so other guests don't encounter the same issues. Randall Richmond General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Multi- Family 'staycation'

Posted Feb 19, 2015 on Hotels
We stayed with 7 other families for one night while the kids were on a school break. The hotel was great overall. The rooms are a little shabby (climate control way out of date) and some outlets didn't work. Every single staff member we met from maintenance to front desk to wait staff was extremely friendly and helpful.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Marcus from Indianapolis

the staff is nice but the building needs work

Posted Feb 19, 2015 on Hotels
The hotel was nice but needs a lot of maintenance there was more than 7 major parts of my room broken. There is also no external vents for the bathroom just an air filter system. The room was very warm and since it was an internal room there was no way to cool it down even after shutting the heat off. Systems are old and outdated. The staff was very helpful and very friendly and did an excellent job. The pool area in common area we're also very clean and nice.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 2, 2015 by Randall, Hotel Management
Dear Marcus, Thank you for staying with us & taking the time to write a review. I apologize that you encountered some room issues but it was great to hear how nice our staff treated you. Hope you will stay with us again. Randall Richmond General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from lansing, michigan

Friendly staff

Posted Jan 19, 2015
The staff that worked during our stay were absolutely great! We had a baby with us and they allowed us to move one of our rooms and even placed us in connecting rooms. The original room was next to a barking dog, which is not a big deal except we had a baby with us. We got free breakfast in the morning and the two ladies working there were sooo nice to us. My niece didn't eat much because she wanted pancakes, one of the ladies overheard and went out of her way to make my niece some pancakes. Thought that was really nice. The only issue with this hotel was the overload of children and the running around unsupervised. It is not the hotels fault but the things they did have control over, they didn't really put their foot down about. I was with the children in my party of 7 kids the entire time down by the pool. There were kids running around unsupervised and overflowed in the hot tub. I know there must be a limit to how many people and the age of those people who can be in that hot tub. It was crazy. Another bad thing I felt was the early closing of the atrium area. I'm understand the pool closes at 10 but they have billards tables in the atrium that we wanted to use and hangout around but we were told to finish our game because it closed at 10pm.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Cheri from Lapeer, MI

Clean, good area.

Posted Jan 15, 2015 on Hotels
It was comfortable. The hotel is old, and the heater quite noisy. However it was fine for our one night stay.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 4, 2015 by Randall, Hotel Management
Dear Cheri, Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay at our hotel. I apologize that your room heater was noisy hopefully it did not keep you awake!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Karen from Livonia

The freezing pool

Posted Jan 5, 2015 on Hotels
The pool was freezing and even after other guests asked to have the pool temp raised it sure didn't feel like it
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 21, 2015 by Randall, Hotel Management
Dear Karen, Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to write a review. I apologize that the pool area was cold during your stay, we are making the necessary adjustments to keep the pool area warmer during the winter months.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Honolulu, HI

Good location, reasonable rates, great bed.

Posted Jan 3, 2015
The staff was friendly and provided freshly baked cookies in the evening. Indoor pool, fitness center, and sauna in center atrium makes hotel noisy. Fixtures and furnishings show signs of wear, but the room was clean and well proportioned. The bed, however, was amazingly comfortable. Snuggle down under soft coverings with fluffy pillows. There wasn't a breakfast included, but a complementary coffee bar was available. Close to Laurel Park Mall and movie theaters, across the street from Red Robin and Buffalo Wild Wings. Nice.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 19, 2015 by Randall, Hotel Management
Dear Janet, Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel after your recent stay. Looks like you had a good time! I hope you will come back and stay with us again.