Ratings based on 124 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom lansing, michigan

Friendly staff

Posted Jan 19, 2015
The staff that worked during our stay were absolutely great! We had a baby with us and they allowed us to move one of our rooms and even placed us in connecting rooms. The original room was next to a barking dog, which is not a big deal except we had a baby with us. We got free breakfast in the morning and the two ladies working there were sooo nice to us. My niece didn't eat much because she wanted pancakes, one of the ladies overheard and went out of her way to make my niece some pancakes. Thought that was really nice. The only issue with this hotel was the overload of children and the running around unsupervised. It is not the hotels fault but the things they did have control over, they didn't really put their foot down about. I was with the children in my party of 7 kids the entire time down by the pool. There were kids running around unsupervised and overflowed in the hot tub. I know there must be a limit to how many people and the age of those people who can be in that hot tub. It was crazy. Another bad thing I felt was the early closing of the atrium area. I'm understand the pool closes at 10 but they have billards tables in the atrium that we wanted to use and hangout around but we were told to finish our game because it closed at 10pm.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Honolulu, HI

Good location, reasonable rates, great bed.

Posted Jan 3, 2015
The staff was friendly and provided freshly baked cookies in the evening. Indoor pool, fitness center, and sauna in center atrium makes hotel noisy. Fixtures and furnishings show signs of wear, but the room was clean and well proportioned. The bed, however, was amazingly comfortable. Snuggle down under soft coverings with fluffy pillows. There wasn't a breakfast included, but a complementary coffee bar was available. Close to Laurel Park Mall and movie theaters, across the street from Red Robin and Buffalo Wild Wings. Nice.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 19, 2015 by Randall, Hotel Management
Dear Janet, Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel after your recent stay. Looks like you had a good time! I hope you will come back and stay with us again.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom dorchester

Glad I did not pay a lot

Posted Dec 28, 2014
Pros: Pool area
Cons: Place was empty. Put people in a good room to give them a great experience. Customer service 101.
The hotel was virtually empty . We asked for a good room and was put in room 128 which is right across from the laundry room. The room had no windows , was very dated . Not impressed. We usually stay at the Marriot down the road. I know better for next time. Pool area was nice. Only bright spot of the stay
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 31, 2014 by Randall, Hotel Management
Dear Wayne, Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay at our hotel. We are sorry that the accommodations did not live up to your expectations and apologize that you were not happy with your stay. If you decide to stay with us again please ask for an outside room as all of our inside rooms do not have an outside window. Hoping you will give us another chance! Staff & management Holiday Inn Livonia
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 15, 2014
Quick trip to Detroit area for 2 days. Not a lot of time spent at the hotel. Mainly just a point to sleep.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 3, 2014 by Randall, Hotel Management
Thank you for reviewing our hotel. Short stay but at least you were able to get a good nights sleep.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel, a little old

Posted Nov 10, 2014
Nice hotel, not a great neighborhood - few restaurants it gas close by. Pool in the courtyard makes interior rooms rather noisy. Price is appropriate for the age of hotel, neighborhood, etc.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Maryfrom Portage, mi

Good stay but noisy

Posted Oct 28, 2014 on Hotels.com
Would have liked complimentarybrealfast. Pretty noisy at noght
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by Patfrom Baltimore

Pool Side is not Poolside

Posted Oct 15, 2014 on Hotels.com
Place overall was nice. Booked a pool side room which ended up just facing the area where the pool was, not actually pool side. Other than the late night noise in the hallways, it was comfortable. It is notable that breakfast is at a cost unlike many other HI.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Ontario Canada

Great Night

Posted Oct 14, 2014
Had a great night and if I have to go to Detroit again I would stay.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Would not reccomend

Posted Oct 13, 2014
The Carpet dirty and old. The Bathroom was updated and clean. Very noisy
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 21, 2014 by Randall, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. While I wish that your experience was much better, it is feedback such as this that helps us to grow and improve. Please know that your comments have been passed along to the appropriate parties so that we can improve in the areas that we fell short during your stay. Regards, Randall Richmond General Manager
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 13, 2014 on Hotels.com